No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fountain House Hotel

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
116-118 CHURCH ROAD , HAYES, UB3 2LW
The Fountain House Hotel provides a warm and friendly atmosphere within a period building, Formerly the home and workplace of the writer George Orwell the building is listed as historically significant.

We provide free wifi, a full breakfast,and all taxes and services are always included in our price also we have a small car park at the rear of the Hotel and there is ample off street free parking.
We accept all credit and debit cards and are here to greet you on your travels to London.
We provide a continental breakfast from 5.30 am and then a cooked breakfast from 7 am.

From M4 turn off at A312 towards Harrow, pass first roundabout, at second roundabout, turn left on A4020 towards Uxbridge. Then when you see Adam and Eve pub on your right you turn left into Church Road, which is directly opposite pub. We are numbers 116-118 Church Road.

There is easy access by road, rail and bus links from all parts of the UK. The Hotel has ample car parking facilities.
Picture of Fountain House Hotel, HAYES at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quirky place. With lovely features
Loved the quirkiness of this hotel. Food was lovely. Greeted very nicely. Room is a little dated but fits well with hotel. The only negative was our room was boiling. Could of done with a fan

Reviewed by
t fletcher

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
Poor parking room. Not very clean. Owner and staff friendly, but overall condition of hotel needs updating and facilities improving. Overall - OK.

Reviewed by
Stuart B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

l enjoye my stay at the fountain hotel staff very friendly hope to go back soon loved the building grounds were lovely

Reviewed by
sharon h

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very bad
The parking for your car was good apart from that a disaster, the room sheet was clean but old blankets over sheets, the complimentary bottles of water out of date, Shower was inadequate due to lack off pressure, there was a smell of smoke in the corridor, the wifi was so slow a gave up after 5 minutes and used my phone instead, The breakfast in the morning was a joke, not a stranded Hotel breakfast that was paid for, one mushroom shared between two people and the eggs looked disgusting. I stay and a lot of hotels due to my job but this is one I am going to give a miss to.

Reviewed by
michael s

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality budget hotel
comfortable clean good for the price

Reviewed by
Nigel R

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value and very friendly
Last minute booking and wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was perfectly acceptable. In the morning a friendly greeting and relaxed atmosphere and a very good breakfast all in all very pleased.

Reviewed by
Kevin H

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed my stay at the hotel and found the hotel staff very obliging and courteous and the accommodation was very satisfactory. The private car park at no extra cost was also much appreciated.

Reviewed by
P Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fountain Stay
A very friendly place, with staff who are extremely friendly and do their best to meet any reasonable request.

Reviewed by
John Kimberley

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
Budget hotel - prepare expectations accordingly. The room smelt pretty badly, and the shower added was a cubicle added into the corner of the room. The ironing board had mould growing on it, so I had to sacrifice my hand towel as protection so I could iron my shirt. The toilet was cold and damp with nothing to use to dry your hands, and to finish it off, on the day I checked out, I was given sullen customer service by someone who really didn't want to be there (despite arranging the night before that I'd be looking for a simple continental breakfast). When I asked for toast, I was offered 3 day old mini croissants from a box (I'd see these as part of the breakfast on the day I checked in) and was told it was the same thing. No tea or coffee was offered, so after getting a yoghurt and some fruit I just left.

Reviewed by
Daniel B

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean room, questionable guests
I booked this as a last minute decision as it was as close as I could get to Legoland for myself, my wife and my two children (four and five).
Ample parking (if you dont mind blocking in strangers with no way of knowing if you will casue them a problem or you getting blocked in and not knowing who to ask to move)
When arriving we had to ring a bell to be let in which raised a question since the sign said the door was locked from 9pm (it was 7pm). When booking in (the whole downstairs still smells strongly of curries etc) we were told that instead of the family room we had booked they only had available two doubles but that they would be "very near to close together" Not happy with this since I had only booked the day before I said it wasnt really acceptable and suddenly he was able to change our room and as other guests were yet to arrive then we could have a family room after all.
The room was clean and tidy which after reading other reviews I was worried about, sheets etc seemed new but still using woolen blankets etc!
We needed some bits and bobs so I left wife and kids in room and set out to the local shops. On my way down the (very) narrow corridors I came across a gentleman three sheets to the wind, takeaway in hand that smelt like he hadn't washed in a while. I can only assume that they take in people with housing issues which I dont mind however would really of had me worried had we have been in seperate rooms rather than the family one.
Fast forward to 3am and there were people running up and down corridors, kncking on doors and making noise for about half an hour. To be fair this is not the hotels fault but given the guest I encountered earlier I didn't feel inclinded to open the door and ask for the noise to be kept down and with no phone in the room there was no way I was going to go and find a staff member. I was just glad the children stayed asleep.
We already decided to skip breakfast however in the morning we were greeted at the bottom of the stairs with a lady putting her moisteriser on when we handed the key back.
I wouldnt stay as a family, if I was on my own I may risk it but would only go straight to my room and then leave on the morning.

Reviewed by
A Skelton

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next