No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wombwell Arms

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Wombwell Arms , York, YO61 4BE
The historic Wombwell Arms Wass is an unwrecked English country inn with stone flagged floors, beamed ceilings, log fire, real ales and real food. It has a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and is a lively blend of pub, restaurant and rooms. No music, no mobile phones, gaming machines or fast food.

Popular with locals, walkers, cyclists, families and visitors to nearby Ampleforth College. Beautifully situated in the rolling hills and woodland of this quiet corner of the North York Moors National park. The romantic ruins of Byland Abbey are on the outskirts of the village.

We are a Free house. Our hand-pulled Yorkshire ales include Timothy Taylor’s Landlord, Black Sheep Bitter and a rotating guest ale, usually from local micro breweries. We also serve more than 35 wines, with a selection of 9 by the glass.

Our 3 en-suite letting rooms have all been refurbished to a high standard.

We recently featured in THE TIMES as one of the top 50 places in which to eat in the British countryside. Our menu is traditional British with a South African twist.
Picture of Wombwell Arms, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mk

Reviewed by
M keany

From preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous and friendly
Small room - it is a very old building in fabulous pub in the very pretty hamlet of Wass. I have stopped here for a meal and drink before but never stayed. The whole experience was great. The owners are so so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really superb. The room was exceptionally clean and just what I needed no more and no less. I know from previous visits as I said so I can honestly say the quality of the dinner and the beer is excellent. Best advice - go there and stay for yourself !!

Reviewed by
T Davie

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation, worth every penny
The wombwell arms was worth every penny, lovely setting, clean rooms with everything you needed. We had a wram welcome and were looed after throughout our stay. The breakfast was also a highlight for me, fresh and tasty.
Would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
S Dyson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit
Stayed for a couple of nights 2nd 3rd April 14. A really friendly pub with good beers excellent food and spotless accommodation. would not hesitate to recommend to anyone,

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay at the Wombwell Arms.
We arrived at the Wombwell Arms earlier than anticipated but we were welcomed by our host who showed us to our room. The room was small but perfectly comfortable. The bathroom was very small and I actually had my knees and forehead touching the wall when sat on the loo.
We decided to have lunch in the pub before heading out for the day. We sat down in front of the roaring open fire in the bar area where we were joined by the friendly resident cat. The food was excellent, I had a South African curry and my girlfriend opted for the Paella. Both dishes were cooked
beautifully and enjoyed with a very nice pint of real ale.
After spending a lovely day walking in the stunning surrounding area we ate at a pub in a nearby village before returning for some drinks at the Wombwell before we retired for the night.
We sat once again in front of the open fire in the bar area where we chatted with one of the local gentleman and our hosts who were making the best of the quiet evening in the pub.
The following morning we enjoyed one of the best cooked breakfasts I have had the pleasure of devouring. Feeling suitably fed and watered we departed the Wombwell feeling we had enjoyed a short but wonderful trip away. Although the bathroom was a little cramped in our room we would not hesitate to visit again, the food ,ale and hospitality were excellent.

Reviewed by
W Basnett

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home away from home
The Wombwell Arms is simply wonderful, upon arrival we were taken up to a nice cosy room with an ensuite, and we booked ourselves a table for an evening meal. I will admit that I was a little worried that we were staying at a country pub/ inn however, we never heard any noise from below, which was great.
The food there is amazing, the full English breakfast is delectable, and you can specify how you want your food, so no compromising. The best thing is that it is not greasy as can be the case with some places. In the evening food is done at the pub where there is an open fire creating a warm and inviting atmosphere. There are pub classics such as sausage and mash, or you can try one of the speciality dishes, based on South African cooking, either of which, like all food here is done to a high standard.
The room is quite large with a comfortable double bed, and a chair bed for our child who was with us. He thought this was fantastic as he has on occasion rolled out of bed and hurt himself.
The ensuite was clean and had a bath in it, which was a pleasing touch as we had the option of a shower or bath. However for the wife and I the shower won, this was a deluge of continual hot water that erased any and all aches, lovely after a day of travelling to see the sights.
The village where the Wombwell Arms is situated is around half an hour in the car from York, and has several historical sites near to it, Byland Abbey a ruined monastery is a mere half a mile away and is simply stunning to drive past. You can visit the place as well if you there at the right time giving you a nice day out for both adults and children.
All said and done this a lovely place to stay, where the owners are friendly and welcome you, it is set in a lovely countryside setting while still being close to York, giving you a serene stay away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful, friendly stay with excellent food
We only stayed for one night at the Wombwell Arms but it was very relaxing and good value for money. The bar was cosy with flagstone floors and a real country feel, it also served some great real ales including guest beers. We dined in the restaurant and the food was excellent with some dishes incorporating a South African twist! For breakfast we were served a full English which you couldn't falter, superb!

Reviewed by
Helen M

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic weekend break
Excellent friendly family run pub with overnight accommodation facilities. Breakfast and Evening meal both very high quality.

Reviewed by
J Caffrey

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wombwell arms is an attractive and characterful property. We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. The room was pleasant but the bed had a very sagging mattress. Probably needs replacing.
Dinner was disappointing and I would not recommend eating there. Overpriced and bland.
We were looking to stay in that area so that is why I booked it. The room was good value for money.

Reviewed by
elaine h

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Country Retreat
Quality family-friendly accommodation in lovely country pub with choice of well kept real ales and excellent food at an affordable price. Would definitely recommend but note no high chairs for toddlers. I

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Beeston, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next