Reviews - Wombwell Arms


Wombwell Arms, York, YO61 4BE

Price From 253.93 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Alan B

  • June 2015

Great Yorkshire break

Good hotel,good food,beer spot on but the best part was the welcome and hospitallity of Ian and his wife Eunice,would certainaly return.The locals in the pub welcomed us and treated us like freinds.

  • a godfrey

  • October 2014

Another great stay !

The second time I have stayed at the Wombwell Arms - totally recommended - great hosts / great beer / great food & comfy room .

I will be back ….

  • ANNE S

  • August 2014

On a positive note the welcome was efficient & helpful.

The room was a small double with a very tiny En - Suite shower room, which needed updating. There was insufficient space to store any toiletries, one small glass shelf in a precarious place above the toilet. Breakfast was good, service very friendly.

The hotel was noisy until the early hours. I felt on the whole it was poor value for £120 night.

  • M keany

  • August 2014


  • T Davie

  • August 2014

Fabulous and friendly

Small room - it is a very old building in fabulous pub in the very pretty hamlet of Wass.

I have stopped here for a meal and drink before but never stayed. The whole experience was great. The owners are so so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really superb. The room was exceptionally clean and just what I needed no more and no less. I know from previous visits as I said so I can honestly say the quality of the dinner and the beer is excellent. Best advice - go there and stay for yourself !!

  • S Dyson

  • April 2014

Excellent accomodation, worth every penny

The wombwell arms was worth every penny, lovely setting, clean rooms with everything you needed.

We had a wram welcome and were looed after throughout our stay. The breakfast was also a highlight for me, fresh and tasty. Would definately stay again.

  • Alan B

  • April 2014

Well worth a visit

Stayed for a couple of nights 2nd 3rd April 14.

A really friendly pub with good beers excellent food and spotless accommodation. would not hesitate to recommend to anyone,

  • W Basnett

  • March 2014

Lovely stay at the Wombwell Arms.

We arrived at the Wombwell Arms earlier than anticipated but we were welcomed by our host who showed us to our room.

The room was small but perfectly comfortable. The bathroom was very small and I actually had my knees and forehead touching the wall when sat on the loo. We decided to have lunch in the pub before heading out for the day. We sat down in front of the roaring open fire in the bar area where we were joined by the friendly resident cat. The food was excellent, I had a South African curry and my girlfriend opted for the Paella. Both dishes were cooked

beautifully and enjoyed with a very nice pint of real ale.

After spending a lovely day walking in the stunning surrounding area we ate at a pub in a nearby village before returning for some drinks at the Wombwell before we retired for the night. We sat once again in front of the open fire in the bar area where we chatted with one of the local gentleman and our hosts who were making the best of the quiet evening in the pub.

The following morning we enjoyed one of the best cooked breakfasts I have had the pleasure of devouring. Feeling suitably fed and watered we departed the Wombwell feeling we had enjoyed a short but wonderful trip away. Although the bathroom was a little cramped in our room we would not hesitate to visit again, the food ,ale and hospitality were excellent.

  • Paul M

  • February 2014

Home away from home

The Wombwell Arms is simply wonderful, upon arrival we were taken up to a nice cosy room with an ensuite, and we booked ourselves a table for an evening meal.

I will admit that I was a little worried that we were staying at a country pub/ inn however, we never heard any noise from below, which was great.

The food there is amazing, the full English breakfast is delectable, and you can specify how you want your food, so no compromising. The best thing is that it is not greasy as can be the case with some places. In the evening food is done at the pub where there is an open fire creating a warm and inviting atmosphere. There are pub classics such as sausage and mash, or you can try one of the speciality dishes, based on South African cooking, either of which, like all food here is done to a high standard. The room is quite large with a comfortable double bed, and a chair bed for our child who was with us. He thought this was fantastic as he has on occasion rolled out of bed and hurt himself.

The ensuite was clean and had a bath in it, which was a pleasing touch as we had the option of a shower or bath. However for the wife and I the shower won, this was a deluge of continual hot water that erased any and all aches, lovely after a day of travelling to see the sights.

The village where the Wombwell Arms is situated is around half an hour in the car from York, and has several historical sites near to it, Byland Abbey a ruined monastery is a mere half a mile away and is simply stunning to drive past. You can visit the place as well if you there at the right time giving you a nice day out for both adults and children.

All said and done this a lovely place to stay, where the owners are friendly and welcome you, it is set in a lovely countryside setting while still being close to York, giving you a serene stay away from the hustle and bustle of the city.