Reviews - Wheldale Hotel

3

Wheldon Road, ,, Castleford, WF10 2SD

Price From 104.72 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (50)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Louisa H

  • July 2015

Lovely room, had a great stay.

  • Elizabeth H

  • July 2015

Great place, but not easy to find!

The hotel is advertised as The Wheldale Hotel but the signage is The Boot Room.

You automatically assume it's a pub and not a pub/hotel. We stopped and asked for directions at The Boot Room to be told that we were actually at the hotel. That said, the accommodation was lovely and the staff (and pub customers) were all really friendly. It's not somewhere you'd go unless you were going to a game at Castleford Tigers (the ground is directly opposite) or you were using it as a base to go somewhere.

  • stephen m

  • June 2015

large room with a wow factor...

Lovely supersize bathroom, and modern bedroom, which comes as a surprise as you enter through a very ordinary pub, and then an external fire escape type metal staircase

  • Donovan Brabrook

  • May 2015

Loved It A Great Place To Stay

This has to be the most friendly place I have ever stayed in the UK.

The Hotel and Bar staff were amazing and could not do enough for us. The Locals that drank in the Bar invited us to play pool and treated us like we were their best mates. The Rooms are great and very clean. Yorkshire Hospitality at its very best. Love the Place.

  • Tom B

  • April 2015

Great value and service

Wheldale was always good value but it has really improved in the last 6 months.

I really enjoyed my recent stay - everything was of a high standard and the team are really interested helping you to enjoy your stay. Recommended.

  • Stephen Mitchell

  • March 2015

Friendly Welcome

Second Friday in a row stayed here for Rugby.

Recognised by all staff and genuinely made to feel like a regular. Room was clean and comfortable. Only thing missing was a television, but had been spoilt previous week because I'd been upgraded to an ensuite twin room.

  • Kieran Perkins

  • March 2015

Very nice accommodation.

room was large with great en suite.

  • Stephen Mitchell

  • March 2015

Excellent Value for Money. Hosts and Staff cannot do enough for guests

Stayed Friday Night due to Rugby Match and was treated well from the minute I walked in.

Even when I couldn't work out how to get the shower working, I was dealt with politely and courteously at all times. Will definitely stay again, Hosts are trying to improve the Accomadation, but if you can see past that is a very good Budget Hotel. Serve a decent pint as well.

  • M Danby

  • March 2015

Great value.

This is a great hotel to stay in if your going to watch the rugby or visiting surrounding areas.

Friendly owners, clean and tidy room. Had breakfast but not a cooked one but looked good so will be having one next time i visit. Thanks again to Paul and Donna.

  • Peter Walford

  • March 2015

Wheldale Hotel/The Boot Room

Stayed for 2 nights due to being on a 2 day course at Castleford Tigers ground (directly opposite) so couldn't have been in a better position.

Welcome was good, and the room we were in was a new extension - twin room. The room itself had a neutral but attractive decor. A spacious en-suite room with shower (overhead shower and a removeable head) was connected and a large wall mounted TV plus tea/coffe facilities. The room was positioned above the bar so the speakers for the TV's were able to be heard but not sufficiently to cause problems falling alseep. Basic cold breakfast (selection of cereals/toast/fruit juice/tea or coffee) was included in the room's price although if ordered a cooked breakfast is available. The price paid (approx £24 per night per person) is a steal and the twin room should be charged higher. The location of the pub is away from the towen centre and Xscape (plenty of restaurants at the Ski slope) is only a 10 minute taxi ride (approx £4).