No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wheldale Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Wheldon Road, , , Castleford, WF10 2SD
The Wheldale Hotel is a cosy family run hotel with a warm and friendly public bar and lounge, Paul and Donna are committed to giving our customers the best customer service available in the local hotel industry, we believe this makes us stand out from the large hotel chains and other independent hotels. Our facilities are basic but functional, we have invested £50.000 improving the 180 year old premises. Our Beds are voted the best by our customers. We offer FREE Wi Fi for all our customers. We include a basic complementry breakfast within the room rate (Cereal, Toast, Orange Juice, Tea or Coffee, or Beans or Scrambled Eggs on Toast). An upgrade to a Full English Breakfast (2 Bacon, large sausage, hash brown, tomatoes, beans, egg and unlimited toast tea or coffee) is available for £5 and is served from 7.30am till 8.30am Mon to Fri, or from 8.30am till 9.30am at weekends. The bar / lounge is cosy and friendly through the week however some Saturdays are noisy so please check this when booking on Saturday nights. Being located opposite the Castleford Tigers Stadium we are a great location for an overnight stay on matchdays. Locally we are 5 mins from Castleford Town Centre, and a £4 taxi ride to XSCAPE and the Junction 32 shopping outlet. Other local attractions are Diggerland and the local nature reserve at Fairburn Ings, were the visitor centre and nature walks are well worth a visit. Leeds offers the Royal Armories and Wakefields has the Hepworth Centre both within 8 miles of the Hotel, easily accessible by public transport. York is also another attraction close via Car. ALL ROOMS HAVE BEEN REFURBISHED IN LAST 24 MONTHS. Our current programme of improvements is nearing completion, with our new Twin bed ensuite room now available. If travelling by public transport please contact us to book your collection from local bus and rail links. We look forward to welcoming you soon !! Paul and Donna Taylo
Picture of Wheldale Hotel, Castleford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was put into a family room even though I booked a single and it was amazing. It is much bigger than the single rooms and even though the main road is near I was able to close the windows so it didn't disturb me.
The hosts are a friendly couple and I felt at home, it was nice to sit in the pub with them and watch the tv, have a drink and talk to other guests.

Reviewed by
Mike C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very clean and the bedding had the nicest smell.
It is near a main road so if you are a light sleeper it may not suit, the windows in my room were too high up for me to reach but as a medium sleeper I was fine and when I was woke up by the traffic in the morning it was 10 minutes before my alarm was set so I was fine.
Breakfast is basic but included in the price and I was asked if I wanted more toast, there is an upgrade to a Full English which I didn't have but nice to have the option.

Reviewed by
Mike C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely people that run the hotel. Nice clean room, good affordable accommodation

Reviewed by
Jon T

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellant work in progress
Spotless, friendly, comfortable, light and airy, attractive, helpful staff and owners and the fact I didn't give room quality 6 was simply because owing to it being a work in progress the teles hadn't arrived and the bathroom fitments were not complete so I didn't have a mirror but that is nit picking! Considering renovation work is underway, the accommodation was first class and when it is all finished in a few week's time.it will be excellent and value for money. I shall certainly stay there again and any one staying at the night of a Castleford Tigers' match I am sure will have a night to remember. Note slim chance didn't win again but she ran very well considering draw and weight carried. Hope to be back soon.

Reviewed by
Barbara H

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
For an inexpensive overnight stop it was OK. No frills, no TV in room, no mirror in room, no meals, coffee making in corridor. Just a room at a pub. Bed comfortable. Traffic noise as close to road. Still undergoing refurbishment. Two showers/toilets at end of corridor - very clean/new.

Reviewed by
John Tiernan

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wheldale Hotel Castleford
On Arrival with little time before we had to be elsewhere we met the owner a very pleasant helpful person who explained that the room wasnt ready and infact the hotel was being totally renovated the room offered to us was next to major work going on leaving it very difficult to reach our room with apologies from both the owner & his Wife ,The whole arrangement was highly unsuitable .
we understood from the owner he had not been informed by you 'Late rooms' of our Arrival so
After considerable thought we felt in the circumstances we had to make other last minute arrangements causing ourselved considerable inconvience, with respect we feel some one if not yourselves is responsable for this inconvience and with hindsight will have to consider wether we would book through you again .Sincerly Mr & Mrs E Horwell

Reviewed by
E Horwell

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely spot on!!
I booked 1 night as a stop gap on a long journey. All I needed was comfy bed and a hot shower in the morning. They delivered on both counts. Really friendly atmosphere and very helpful owners. I really have nothing but praise for this bnb. They get the basics absolutely right which is more than enough for me. Very clean too.

Reviewed by
David A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly owner n made to feel welcome

Reviewed by
S whitfield

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Break
Stayed here for one night while we were going to Pontefract Races. Room was very clean, breakfast was excellent. Host and Hostess very attentive, likeable people, couldn't do enough for you. Some improvements were being carried at but this didn't cause any problems - we both slept really well.
Couldn't fault at all and for the price paid was excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
richard hallam

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation in need of a Health and Safety review.
This hotel when finished will no doubt be fit for purpose. However, in its current state it is not suitable for children and the elderly, or individuals with any form of dust allergy (due to the work being undertaken). Suffice to say, the room in itself was very clean, modern and well presented. Unfortunately, one of the landings had a big hole in the floor and the ceiling ( a real problem for sleep walkers!). A real pity because the proprietors were friendly, helpful and professional.

Reviewed by
Karen S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next