Wheldale Hotel

3

Wheldon Road, ,, Castleford, WF10 2SD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (55)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Donovan Brabrook

  • May 2015

Loved It A Great Place To Stay

This has to be the most friendly place I have ever stayed in the UK.

The Hotel and Bar staff were amazing and could not do enough for us. The Locals that drank in the Bar invited us to play pool and treated us like we were their best mates. The Rooms are great and very clean. Yorkshire Hospitality at its very best. Love the Place.

  • Tom B

  • April 2015

Great value and service

Wheldale was always good value but it has really improved in the last 6 months.

I really enjoyed my recent stay - everything was of a high standard and the team are really interested helping you to enjoy your stay. Recommended.

  • Stephen Mitchell

  • March 2015

Friendly Welcome

Second Friday in a row stayed here for Rugby.

Recognised by all staff and genuinely made to feel like a regular. Room was clean and comfortable. Only thing missing was a television, but had been spoilt previous week because I'd been upgraded to an ensuite twin room.

  • Kieran Perkins

  • March 2015

Very nice accommodation.

room was large with great en suite.

  • Stephen Mitchell

  • March 2015

Excellent Value for Money. Hosts and Staff cannot do enough for guests

Stayed Friday Night due to Rugby Match and was treated well from the minute I walked in.

Even when I couldn't work out how to get the shower working, I was dealt with politely and courteously at all times. Will definitely stay again, Hosts are trying to improve the Accomadation, but if you can see past that is a very good Budget Hotel. Serve a decent pint as well.

  • M Danby

  • March 2015

Great value.

This is a great hotel to stay in if your going to watch the rugby or visiting surrounding areas.

Friendly owners, clean and tidy room. Had breakfast but not a cooked one but looked good so will be having one next time i visit. Thanks again to Paul and Donna.

  • Peter Walford

  • March 2015

Wheldale Hotel/The Boot Room

Stayed for 2 nights due to being on a 2 day course at Castleford Tigers ground (directly opposite) so couldn't have been in a better position.

Welcome was good, and the room we were in was a new extension - twin room. The room itself had a neutral but attractive decor. A spacious en-suite room with shower (overhead shower and a removeable head) was connected and a large wall mounted TV plus tea/coffe facilities. The room was positioned above the bar so the speakers for the TV's were able to be heard but not sufficiently to cause problems falling alseep. Basic cold breakfast (selection of cereals/toast/fruit juice/tea or coffee) was included in the room's price although if ordered a cooked breakfast is available. The price paid (approx £24 per night per person) is a steal and the twin room should be charged higher. The location of the pub is away from the towen centre and Xscape (plenty of restaurants at the Ski slope) is only a 10 minute taxi ride (approx £4).

  • maria Anderson

  • February 2015

Great stay

Was a friendly place to stay and room was newly modernised and very tasteful well worth the money.

  • M H

  • February 2015

Wheldale/Boot room

I arrived to this hotel at night.

Driving along my satnav said I had arrived, but the only building in sight, had a sign saying "The Boot Room' so I thought I was at the wrong place, so I continued along the road. When it became apparent that I was heading out into an unbuilt area, with my satnav saying "turn around when possible", I did so, and the building had a sign on the other side saying "The Boot Room". Therefore I decided to go in and ask where the Wheldale was. I then discovered that it was "The Wheldale. I then booked in, and asked what time breakfast was, as the Laterooms entry said "Breakfast included" The woman said, "Breakfast is not included in the price" As it was late and I was tired, I didn't pursue this.I was then showed out the back of the hotel, where I had to walk past a sea of cigarette ends, to go up the fire escape, to my room.The tiny room, was perfectly clean, with attractive fittings, but it had a radiator that I couldn't turn off, and the opening part of the window would have evaded a 7' giant.The walls were very thin and I could hear the people next door talking until late.Tea making facilities were on the landing right outside my door, with the kettle plugged into an extension lead, which came under the door and was plugged in my room.The cost was very cheap, and all areas are to be commended for cleanliness

  • S Clare

  • January 2015

Amazingly good value at a very reasonable price

When we took on board the reasonable price of this accommodation compared to any other hotel I've stayed I can't find any fault with the value.

First off the landlord was one of the most pleasant people I've ever met in the hospitality industry. Very genuine and nothing was too much trouble. He showed us to our room which was of a very good size and well decorated. It was clear that the room was recently renovated.

There was a very comfy double bed, work desk, tea and coffee making facilities, a large wide screen TV and the coolest bedroom lamp I've ever seen. I was amazed count 8 electrical sockets in the bedroom. That has to be the most I've ever come across and I've stayed in a lot of hotels. Both my wife and I could login to the wifi with no problem on our mobile phones. For some reason it would not work on my macbook or my wife's iPad yet we did try after we'd logged in with our phones. The bathroom was very nicely decorated and had a fabulous shower. Before we even noticed the landlord pointed out a touch of damp on the bathroom wall. He explained this was a recent issue he was aware of and steps were in process to resolve this. For our price of less than £50 for the night we were also entitled to a light breakfast (cereal, toast and a hot drink). For £5 more we could have a hot breakfast plate too. When you compare this to the cost of staying in such as a Premier Inn c.£90/night down the road before you pay for a breakfast then this is excellent value at The Wheldale Hotel. The only downside I had which is a minor point was the appearance to the back yard which was also the stairs to our room. This was clear evidence that we were staying in a pub due to all the old boxes etc stored at the back. To be honest we were indeed staying at a pub so I know they have to put these somewhere and on balance it was not a problem for us. Without even mentioning this point the landlord explained how all the back area was due for renovation too. The area would be transformed and new stairways put in. After taking account of the clear evidence of the changes already made I can only say this place will get better and better. We had a very memorable experience in a lovely hotel room. The landlord and landlady were very friendly and left us with an impression that we'd love to stay there again one day.