No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wheldale Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Wheldon Road, , , Castleford, WF10 2SD
The Wheldale Hotel is a cosy family run hotel with a warm and friendly public bar and lounge, Paul and Donna are committed to giving our customers the best customer service available in the local hotel industry, we believe this makes us stand out from the large hotel chains and other independent hotels. Our facilities are basic but functional, we have invested £50.000 improving the 180 year old premises. Our Beds are voted the best by our customers. We offer FREE Wi Fi for all our customers. We include a basic complementry breakfast within the room rate (Cereal, Toast, Orange Juice, Tea or Coffee, or Beans or Scrambled Eggs on Toast). An upgrade to a Full English Breakfast (2 Bacon, large sausage, hash brown, tomatoes, beans, egg and unlimited toast tea or coffee) is available for £5 and is served from 7.30am till 8.30am Mon to Fri, or from 8.30am till 9.30am at weekends. The bar / lounge is cosy and friendly through the week however some Saturdays are noisy so please check this when booking on Saturday nights. Being located opposite the Castleford Tigers Stadium we are a great location for an overnight stay on matchdays. Locally we are 5 mins from Castleford Town Centre, and a £4 taxi ride to XSCAPE and the Junction 32 shopping outlet. Other local attractions are Diggerland and the local nature reserve at Fairburn Ings, were the visitor centre and nature walks are well worth a visit. Leeds offers the Royal Armories and Wakefields has the Hepworth Centre both within 8 miles of the Hotel, easily accessible by public transport. York is also another attraction close via Car. ALL ROOMS HAVE BEEN REFURBISHED IN LAST 24 MONTHS. Our current programme of improvements is nearing completion, with our new Twin bed ensuite room now available. If travelling by public transport please contact us to book your collection from local bus and rail links. We look forward to welcoming you soon !! Paul and Donna Taylo
Picture of Wheldale Hotel, Castleford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Was a friendly place to stay and room was newly modernised and very tasteful well worth the money!

Reviewed by
maria Anderson

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wheldale/Boot room
I arrived to this hotel at night. Driving along my satnav said I had arrived, but the only building in sight, had a sign saying "The Boot Room' so I thought I was at the wrong place, so I continued along the road. When it became apparent that I was heading out into an unbuilt area, with my satnav saying "turn around when possible", I did so, and the building had a sign on the other side saying "The Boot Room". Therefore I decided to go in and ask where the Wheldale was. I then discovered that it was "The Wheldale. I then booked in, and asked what time breakfast was, as the Laterooms entry said "Breakfast included" The woman said, "Breakfast is not included in the price" As it was late and I was tired, I didn't pursue this.I was then showed out the back of the hotel, where I had to walk past a sea of cigarette ends, to go up the fire escape, to my room.The tiny room, was perfectly clean, with attractive fittings, but it had a radiator that I couldn't turn off, and the opening part of the window would have evaded a 7' giant.The walls were very thin and I could hear the people next door talking until late.Tea making facilities were on the landing right outside my door, with the kettle plugged into an extension lead, which came under the door and was plugged in my room.The cost was very cheap, and all areas are to be commended for cleanliness

Reviewed by
M H

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazingly good value at a very reasonable price
When we took on board the reasonable price of this accommodation compared to any other hotel I've stayed I can't find any fault with the value.
First off the landlord was one of the most pleasant people I've ever met in the hospitality industry. Very genuine and nothing was too much trouble.
He showed us to our room which was of a very good size and well decorated. It was clear that the room was recently renovated.
There was a very comfy double bed, work desk, tea and coffee making facilities, a large wide screen TV and the coolest bedroom lamp I've ever seen.
I was amazed count 8 electrical sockets in the bedroom. That has to be the most I've ever come across and I've stayed in a lot of hotels.
Both my wife and I could login to the wifi with no problem on our mobile phones. For some reason it would not work on my macbook or my wife's iPad yet we did try after we'd logged in with our phones.
The bathroom was very nicely decorated and had a fabulous shower.
Before we even noticed the landlord pointed out a touch of damp on the bathroom wall. He explained this was a recent issue he was aware of and steps were in process to resolve this.
For our price of less than £50 for the night we were also entitled to a light breakfast (cereal, toast and a hot drink). For £5 more we could have a hot breakfast plate too. When you compare this to the cost of staying in such as a Premier Inn c.£90/night down the road before you pay for a breakfast then this is excellent value at The Wheldale Hotel.
The only downside I had which is a minor point was the appearance to the back yard which was also the stairs to our room. This was clear evidence that we were staying in a pub due to all the old boxes etc stored at the back. To be honest we were indeed staying at a pub so I know they have to put these somewhere and on balance it was not a problem for us. Without even mentioning this point the landlord explained how all the back area was due for renovation too. The area would be transformed and new stairways put in.
After taking account of the clear evidence of the changes already made I can only say this place will get better and better.
We had a very memorable experience in a lovely hotel room. The landlord and landlady were very friendly and left us with an impression that we'd love to stay there again one day.

Reviewed by
S Clare

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay
This is a pub for locals which has been recently renovated and is very reasonable, well situated to stay in while visiting family in Leeds. The owner could not have made us more welcome. The room was newly and beautifully furnished and decorated but accessed via the fire escape, not perfect but not a problem either although we gather intention is to have access from inside eventually. Bed was the most comfortable we have stayed in. Continental breakfast basic but fine. My husband and son stayed previously, suggestion is pool cues too long and need shorter ones??

Reviewed by
C Carder

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable
Friendly welcome by the landlord. Room access separate from the pub. Room was freshly decorated,clean and warm with ensuite shower. Good breakfast for modest extra charge, freshly cooked. Evening meals not provided.

Reviewed by
John S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, sociable and helpfull.
Very clean and modern decor. Good sized room.

Reviewed by
Susan P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An oasis in Castleford
You can imagine our concerns when we arrived at a "drinking mans" pub opposite the Rugby League ground. We expected the place to be a little rough and ready. BUT the room was spotless, the beds comfortable and the owner, Paul, a really nice interesting man. We had come to Castleford from Suffolk to visit my mother in a nursing home. My wife was using crutches because she had broken her leg and Paul was very concerned and helped us settle in.
Breakfast was promptly served and was just what we ordered.
We intend to stay at the same B&B when we visit again and would recommend the place to anyone needing to stay at Castleford. Do not expect the outside to be anything other than a fairly rough area but as Paul is currently in the process of refurbishing the inside be pleasantly suprised at the interior.

Reviewed by
Derek W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wheldale Hotel Castleford
Great accommodation newly refurbished to a high standard. Bed was really comfortable and the bathroom had a lovely shower. Room was spotless and the owner was really friendly. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order but the portions were huge so didn't really do it justice so early in the day. Would recommend friends to stay here as really excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Sue Getty

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An unexpected oasis of peace
We stayed in the new en-suite room and were really pleased with the high quality of the bed, the fittings and excellent shower! This was in contrast to not being able to find the hotel as there is a large "The Boot Room" sign outside in addition to the hotel name. The owners were very friendly and breakfast was satisfactory. The area is run down industrial and not exciting!
Do ask for the upgrade to the en suite room, I cannot comment on the others. Check for disabled access. Overall a very pleasant surprise.

Reviewed by
Jim D

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay better than expected
the hotel looks a bit tired from the outside but don't let that put you off when you get inside you are in for a treat the lounge bar gives you a clue as to the high standards that awaits you when you see the rooms we stayed in a twin room. the room was very clean and comfort was way above we expected for the price the host and locals were very friendly and helpful we will stop again when we are in the area

Reviewed by
Dave G

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next