No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wheldale Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Wheldon Road, , , Castleford, WF10 2SD
The Wheldale Hotel is a cosy family run hotel with a warm and friendly public bar and lounge, Paul and Donna are committed to giving our customers the best customer service available in the local hotel industry, we believe this makes us stand out from the large hotel chains and other independent hotels. Our facilities are basic but functional, we have invested £50.000 improving the 180 year old premises. Our Beds are voted the best by our customers. We offer FREE Wi Fi for all our customers. We include a basic complementry breakfast within the room rate (Cereal, Toast, Orange Juice, Tea or Coffee, or Beans or Scrambled Eggs on Toast). An upgrade to a Full English Breakfast (2 Bacon, large sausage, hash brown, tomatoes, beans, egg and unlimited toast tea or coffee) is available for £5 and is served from 7.30am till 8.30am Mon to Fri, or from 8.30am till 9.30am at weekends. The bar / lounge is cosy and friendly through the week however some Saturdays are noisy so please check this when booking on Saturday nights. Being located opposite the Castleford Tigers Stadium we are a great location for an overnight stay on matchdays. Locally we are 5 mins from Castleford Town Centre, and a £4 taxi ride to XSCAPE and the Junction 32 shopping outlet. Other local attractions are Diggerland and the local nature reserve at Fairburn Ings, were the visitor centre and nature walks are well worth a visit. Leeds offers the Royal Armories and Wakefields has the Hepworth Centre both within 8 miles of the Hotel, easily accessible by public transport. York is also another attraction close via Car. ALL ROOMS HAVE BEEN REFURBISHED IN LAST 24 MONTHS. Our current programme of improvements is nearing completion, with our new Twin bed ensuite room now available. If travelling by public transport please contact us to book your collection from local bus and rail links. We look forward to welcoming you soon !! Paul and Donna Taylo
Picture of Wheldale Hotel, Castleford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, sociable and helpfull.
Very clean and modern decor. Good sized room.

Reviewed by
Susan P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An oasis in Castleford
You can imagine our concerns when we arrived at a "drinking mans" pub opposite the Rugby League ground. We expected the place to be a little rough and ready. BUT the room was spotless, the beds comfortable and the owner, Paul, a really nice interesting man. We had come to Castleford from Suffolk to visit my mother in a nursing home. My wife was using crutches because she had broken her leg and Paul was very concerned and helped us settle in.
Breakfast was promptly served and was just what we ordered.
We intend to stay at the same B&B when we visit again and would recommend the place to anyone needing to stay at Castleford. Do not expect the outside to be anything other than a fairly rough area but as Paul is currently in the process of refurbishing the inside be pleasantly suprised at the interior.

Reviewed by
Derek W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wheldale Hotel Castleford
Great accommodation newly refurbished to a high standard. Bed was really comfortable and the bathroom had a lovely shower. Room was spotless and the owner was really friendly. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order but the portions were huge so didn't really do it justice so early in the day. Would recommend friends to stay here as really excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Sue Getty

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An unexpected oasis of peace
We stayed in the new en-suite room and were really pleased with the high quality of the bed, the fittings and excellent shower! This was in contrast to not being able to find the hotel as there is a large "The Boot Room" sign outside in addition to the hotel name. The owners were very friendly and breakfast was satisfactory. The area is run down industrial and not exciting!
Do ask for the upgrade to the en suite room, I cannot comment on the others. Check for disabled access. Overall a very pleasant surprise.

Reviewed by
Jim D

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay better than expected
the hotel looks a bit tired from the outside but don't let that put you off when you get inside you are in for a treat the lounge bar gives you a clue as to the high standards that awaits you when you see the rooms we stayed in a twin room. the room was very clean and comfort was way above we expected for the price the host and locals were very friendly and helpful we will stop again when we are in the area

Reviewed by
Dave G

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a
a

Reviewed by
Michael R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Had to go to castleford for work, booked a room with late rooms, when I arrived to be honest I did wonder what I had done, but when I walked in the owner meet me and was very friendly and helpful, he took me to my room and to be honest it was very clean and tidy. You can see the hotel is being renovated and to be fair the owners making a nice job of it. Had a fill English breakfast in the morning great food , great thanks

Reviewed by
gary g

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
When we arrived we were warmly greeted and shown to our room which had quite obviously been recently refurbished. You couldn't ask for a cleaner room everything was perfect, smelt clean and fresh.

Reviewed by
p sexton

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was put into a family room even though I booked a single and it was amazing. It is much bigger than the single rooms and even though the main road is near I was able to close the windows so it didn't disturb me.
The hosts are a friendly couple and I felt at home, it was nice to sit in the pub with them and watch the tv, have a drink and talk to other guests.

Reviewed by
Mike C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very clean and the bedding had the nicest smell.
It is near a main road so if you are a light sleeper it may not suit, the windows in my room were too high up for me to reach but as a medium sleeper I was fine and when I was woke up by the traffic in the morning it was 10 minutes before my alarm was set so I was fine.
Breakfast is basic but included in the price and I was asked if I wanted more toast, there is an upgrade to a Full English which I didn't have but nice to have the option.

Reviewed by
Mike C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next