No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hay Meadow Farm

4Self Classified Farmhouse Ratings explained
Ashwater, , , Beaworthy, EX21 5DJ
Hay Meadow Farm is a 12th century thatched manor house with origins dating even further back. Mentioned in the Doomsday Book the farm is steeped in history with its inglenook fireplaces and exposed wooden beams the cottage is brimming with character. We have 4 beautifully decorated rooms, all en-suite and with organic mattresses (except clover room, that is a luxury mattresses just not organic), hemp curtains, wool carpets, 100% natural towles, sheets & duvets. The rooms are cosy and centraly heated with materials that are all natural, clean and fresh. The cottage is surrounded by it's own land, always peaceful the noisesd thing for miles arround are the owls. We hope that your dining experience at Hay Meadow Farm will be as enjoyable as your peaceful nights sleep. Our food is organic, local and fair trade wherever it is possible. We aim for the majority of the food we serve to be produced within 20 miles and in the case of herbs, fruit and vegetables on the farm itself. We are as passionate about the service as we are the food, so enjoy a tasty home cooked meal in the comfort of the dining room, with it's 800 year old fireplace, exposed beams and even a creamery where they would have once made the traditional Devonshire clotted cream. From a single nights bed and breakfast to a wedding, we assure you of the highest standards of service. Hay Meadow Farm is an ideal venue for: B&B Evening Meals Meetings Workshops Weddings Ceremonies Retreats We are also able to supply outside structures such as marquees and yurts and all you may need for your event, from dj's and bands to catering. We would always be happy to discuss your requirements. From a film shoot location to dietary requirements we welcome all enquiries.
Picture of Hay Meadow Farm, Beaworthy at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful accommodation and lovely location!
Myself and partner had a recent short stay at Hay Meadow and were delighted with our choice! Truly a beautiful place with lovely staff and owners. Breakfast and evening meals we had were delicious with allot of the produce being organic and grown at Hay Meadow.
I would recommend anyone looking for a quiet break to pay a visit.

Reviewed by
A Lawrence

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Hay Meadow Farm was in an idylic location. Owners friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Will defiantly be going back....

Reviewed by
M Alder

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Escape to another world
If you want to travel back in time to a period of gentleness, politeness and complete comfort then this is the place for you. Individual care and consideration is the obvious value of everyone at this home from home. I have complex dietary needs and yet my every whim and necessity was listened to and taken care of and the food provided was expertly cooked with new flavours and plentiful abundance. Make sure you have dinner there - you will find nowhere better.The house and situation really feels as though you have stepped back in time and yet taken all modern comforts with you. A brilliant weekend. Thank you

Reviewed by
lynda bentley

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing place
Very friendly family run establishment. Excellent service and the food was amazing. The room we got (daisy) was small but cosy and tastefully decorated.

Reviewed by
K Jacob

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic B&B, Very welcoming, will defiantly stay again.
I was down in Devon on a business trip, however I will with out question look to stay at Hay Meadow Farm again. This is a fantastic bed and breakfast, the bed was amazing and with the log burner going most of the night it made for a great nights sleep. As for the Breakfast once again this was an amazing feast to start the day. I can not recommend Hay Meadow Farm enough. 5* all the way.

Reviewed by
Tom A

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely host, exceptionally luxurious room and very impressive breakfast!

Reviewed by
C West

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simplt Stunning!!
When you turn into the drive way and gasp in awe as this beautiful property slides into view, you just KNOW you are in for a treat. The pictures and previous reviews left us in no doubt that this would be a great choice for our wedding anniversary getaway. However I do not think we were prepared for the reality of the experience.
Duncan and Jane are the most welcoming hosts. Jane (and little Rubyn) greeted us on arrival and immediately offered us tea and scones, which we enjoyed in the garden. This gave us time to soak up the image of the house itself and the surrounding area and also meet fellow guests. It is so beautiful and peaceful on site. Many have commented to us that it looks like Hobbiton (which for us as Lord Of The Rings fans went down well!) The manor house is simply stunning inside and out. It is full of character and decorated/furnished to an extremely high standard, keeping the feel of the rustic whilst enjoying modern home comforts. I recommend popping outside on a clear night to star gaze. With some of the darkest skies in the UK it really is a special treat to see the stars in all their glory. I stood outside for quite a while staring up in awe.
We stayed in the Orchid Room, which was large, with an extremely comfortable king sized Louis XV bed with an organic mattress. The room has a TV and DVD player with a range of DVD’s to choose from, plus tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. The en suite is modern and pristine with a powerful shower – towels were also provided.
Our dining experiences were exceptional. On the first night we ordered from the room service menu. We ordered a ‘simple’ cheese toastie with chips. This was presented beautifully with a fresh side salad, it looked anything but simple! Breakfast on both mornings was plentiful, very tasty and as we are both vegetarian we were catered for well. We chose to dine in the dining room on our final night as it was our wedding anniversary. We were the only guests to dine in the dining room on this particular night and what was a quaint little dining room by day became our personal restaurant for the evening with candle light. It was the perfect setting for a romantic meal together. I highly recommend that anyone who stays at Hay Meadow Farm dines in the evenings and samples Duncan’s phenomenal culinary skills! It is obvious that a great deal of attention and care goes into the preparation and presentation of the food. As everything is either home grown or sourced locally there is a real sense of speciality about the food. Duncan will go out of his way to adapt a meal to your personal taste. When I enquired about the ‘special’ desert which will change depending on what is fresh and available at the time of your stay, he offered to make a rhubarb crumble which was served with custard AND organic ice cream as per his recommendation. I can honestly say it was the biggest and best I have ever tasted.
All in all we found this to be an exceptional getaway. Warm, friendly hosts who obviously take pride in their role as hosts and will do everything they can to ensure your comfort and pleasure, stunning scenery, a beautiful manor house...just perfect. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer.
Emma (and Ross) Teagle Poole, UK

Reviewed by
Emma Teagle

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice quiet hotel to relax and excellent customer service
Upon arrival i was met warmly by Duncan. The hotel is set in a nice peacful area and the rooms are very spacious. Would highly recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues.

Reviewed by
Danny B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An amazing weekend away
My partner and I couldn't recommend staying at the Hay Meadow Farm enough! We had a lovely time, the B&B has so much charm and character. Duncan and Jane made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The food was also gorgeous - couldnt find any fault!! Looking forward to visiting again in the future.

Reviewed by
R Savage

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class B&B. Lovely surroundings, rooms absolutely delightful as were the owners. Nothing was too much trouble. Would certainly stay there again .

Reviewed by
Linda Green

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.