No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Elim Bank Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Lake Road, , , Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 2JJ
We are a small family-run Bed and Breakfast Hotel with seven comfortably furnished bedrooms, all with ensuite facilities. Priding ourselves on a friendly atmosphere and excellent home cooking we can cater for most tastes and needs. Welcoming families, we can also arrange sleeping accommodation to satisfy. If you have any special requirements just let us know and we'll be happy to do all we can. The upper age limit for accepting children is 15. Children of 16 years and over are charged as an Adult. We do not charge for accepting Children up to the age of 2 years, so when booking on-line you should not register numbers of children of this age range, but please add a note of these children when making your booking with any requirements such as use of a travel cot. We are fortunate in having a car park behind the hotel. Visitors can sample the unusually varied and magnificent landscapes both in and around Lakeland or the many places of historical or local interest including famous houses, beautiful gardens or sites of antiquity. The Lake District holds a wealth of interest for the tourist whether on foot or with transport. Bikes and Cars can be readily hired and the local bus services are extensive and regular and of course, as Bowness is centred half way along the Lake, you are able to take advantage of the lake ferries which can take you down to Lakeside at the foot of the Lake where you can visit the superb "Aquarium of the Lakes" and take a journey on the Haverthwaite Steam Railway. Alternatively, you can take a cruise to Ambleside at the head of the Lake, which is another of the beautiful villages in the Windermere area.
Picture of Elim Bank Hotel, Bowness-on-Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B in a great location
Really lovely B&B just 1 minute out of Bowness. Lots of restaurants within 5 mins walk. The couple who run it couldn't be nicer and made everyone there feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Dan M

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly people
arrived early and ask if we could use ther carpark until checkin they were great and said yes.
room was nice and clean bathroom could do with updating abit but thats just my opinion the owners were really friendly and welcoming breakfast was really nice would recommend to everyone price was £100 for a twin for 1 night about average for round there windermere is just so over priced tho £4.30 for a pint of fosters

Reviewed by
G Seath

From Southport , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The couple that runs this b&b are so nice, extremely friendly too. This is my 3rd visit and it won't be my last. The best breakfast ever 100% yummy

Reviewed by
J Ingram

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant location, homely b&b...
Brilliant location to walk down to the lake. Lovely homely b&b, very comfortable & great service! Great value for money, all three guests where very pleased!

Reviewed by
Emily P

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely couple. Would hate to lose them but they deserve a happy, healthy long time retirement. They looked after us so well despite only being a few months younger than us.

Reviewed by
J Evans

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Great location,hospitality excellent. Brian and Margaret could not do enough for us to make our stay comfortable. We will definitely be returning.
Will be recommending this hotel.

Reviewed by
K Standen

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary weekend
What a lovely couple Brian and Margaret are, they couldn't do enough for you. You were made to feel very welcome. The breakfast was lovely and they continually told us that if we needed anything to just ask. Would definitely go again.

Reviewed by
R Graydon

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great 4 day break at Elim Bank Hotel
HCourteous friendly hosts with a great sense of humour. Most enjoyable..

Reviewed by
Jayne T

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best placed for Lake stay
Fabulous ! Brian and Margaret were friendly and helpful, brilliant sense of humour!
Elim House was the best placed accommodation for a quick walk down to the Lakes with super views combined with great places to eat in the evening.
The break was with my teenage son, during the day we returned to Elim House without feeling that we shouldn't be in during the day (other places this has been the case).
The house was everything I was looking for, it wasn't super modern - but I didn't want that. The owners have left the original features in the house and it looks great. The accommodation slots well with the surrounding area, peaceful and relaxing.
Elim House was a great place to use as a base, we spent two hours one evening driving right round the Lake - views are stunning!
Before you go - definitely look at some of the attractions and plan your visit, On day one we took the boat to Lakeside and then got the Steam Train to Haverthwaite this was followed by a 10 minute walk to the Motor Museum- all this for £21.50 for each adult (of course return too).
We looked at an OS map and walked up Red Screes - and glad we planned ahead as the descent was steep! - although Kirkstone Pass Inn was a welcome site in the distance. We parked in Ambleside car park- but be aware Ambleside is busy.
All in all great stay and would very much recommend Elim House with its charm.

Reviewed by
K Seale

From Aylesford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elim Bank Hotel
Lovely, small hotel in excellent location. The owners, Brian & Margaret are wonderful, friendly hosts with nothing being too much trouble. The breakfast was first class with virtually everything available to order to your taste.

Reviewed by
Malcolm G

From Cullompton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next