No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Merriedale Guest House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
21 Garfield Road, , , Paignton, TQ4 6AX
Merriedale is a small friendly Guest House which is conveniently located in a quiet area adjacent to Victoria Park only 250 yards from the Seafront and a short level walk to the Town Centre and all its amenities. Paignton Coach and Railway Stations are 5 minutes walk from Merriedale Guest House. You can drive to Torquay and Brixham in about 10 minutes. Merriedale offers free private on-site parking available for guests. Merriedale offers 6 comfortable centrally heated rooms. All our Bedrooms are en-suite with the exception of the single room which has its own private facilities. You will find a complimentary Bottle of Spring Water and Chocolates to welcome you and a hospitality tray replenished daily with Coffee/Tea/Chocolate and Biscuits. Each room has a Radio/Alarm Clock and Flat Screen Television with Freeview. Free WIFI Access There is a Hairdryer in each room and Ironing Facilities are available. Enjoy a Full English Breakfast with quality locally sourced ingredients in our Modern Dining Room overlooking Victoria Park before heading out for a day of exploring the area or chilling out on the Beach. Merriedale is well located for Visiting Paignton Zoo about 5 minutes drive or Babbacombe Model Village and Bygones 4 miles Drive. Cockington Country Park 3 Miles Drive. Paignton & Dartmouth Steam Railway is 5 minutes walk, take a trip out on the Steam Train to Dartmouth with a short Cruise on the River Dart and then a bus ride back to Paignton.
Picture of Merriedale Guest House, Paignton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No moans!
I enjoyed my two night's stay and was made very welcome by mine host and hostess. My room was spotless and comfortable and well equipped. The Merrievale's location is very good.

Reviewed by
oliver minto

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed in 2 other B & B's and they could not compare to Merriedale
The Hosts were the most professional people I'd met. They knew exactly how to make their Guest House into a Five Star accommodation. From the tea and coffee and shampoo etc in the room. All those little details were really appreciated. The breakfast was perfect. They kept me company until it was time for my cab arrive. I cannot say enough about my experience there. If I return to the area this would be the place for me.

Reviewed by
Anna Alcott

From Mesa, USA
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing short break
The hotel was clean and comfortable with hosts very helpful and all amenities close. Food very good and parking options superior to most others in adjacent roads. A few minutes walk from the sea and just opposite a park; it is very peaceful despite it's central location. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
P Wimbleton

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent guest house
We have just returned from a 2 night break at Merriedale Guest House. We cannot fault any aspect of our stay. The room was well equipped with coffee, tea and hot chocolate, the bed was very comfortable, and the owners were very helpful. The breakfast was very satisfying, and there was plenty of choice. The location was ideal.

Reviewed by
E Butcher

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good, friendly welcome, would definitely stay again nd reccommend to others.

Reviewed by
John W

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast break
The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the seafront and an easy 10 minutes to both the railway and bus stations. The owners are a friendly couple who go out of their way to make sure guests enjoy their stay. Everyone agreed that the breakfasts were first class and I can thoroughly recommend the hotel for a comfortable and friendly stay in Paignton.

Reviewed by
William H

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy
Great quiet location, sea front is a short walk away. Very comfy and large double bed in room 1 (family room).

Reviewed by
Keith R

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
very friendly couple.nice quiet location but near to sea front.breakfast lovely and fresh.would stay again!

Reviewed by
s haywood

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well worth it
excellent b&b spacious room lovely shower and great breakfast. Perfect location for everything. Sandra and Mark very friendly hosts.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline B

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sunny
sunny light bright room,lovely view

Reviewed by
kim taviner

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next