No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown and Sceptre

4Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
34, Holland Road , London, W14 8BA
We offer stylish boutique rooms in the heart of the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea. All rooms are light and spacious with high ceilings, free wi-fi, nespresso and tea making facilities, king size beds, en-suite bathrooms and flat screen TV's. We offer a continental breakfast in the morning which is included in the room price.

A short distance from Kensington Olympia, High Street Kensington and Shepherd's Bush stations giving you direct access to all areas of London.

Popular destinations within walking distance include High Street Kensington, Olympia Exhibition Centre, Royal Albert Hall, Holland Park, Kensington Palace and Westfield shopping centre.

Picture of The Crown and Sceptre, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 144 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok, for central london and decent price but it's a walk to get to.
Stayed here based on reviews. Customer service great when arrived, though trouble finding the place and it being a walk from nearest tube. Room was good size and clean and nice bathroom. However as found out in evening, very noisy road with traffic, you can hear people especially at kick out time and could hear the music all night through the floor of the room, disappointing when asked for quiet room. Horrific service in the morning. Little uht milks we had in room were gone off and tried getting fresh milk downstairs but couldn't get into pub, door locked ......no need for me to go on, and then breakfast disappointing so left early. Wouldn't stay again.

Reviewed by
Amy C

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Numan weekend
Enjoyed our stay at the Crown and Sceptre. Will definitely return if in that part of London again. Highly recommend

Reviewed by
Melanie T

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
Disappointed to check in at 2.30 p.m. and find that the pub kitchen had stopped serving lunch. Really - a pub on a Saturday lunch time?? So we had to go out - in the rain. When we returned to the pub after an evening out, around 11.15 p.m.it was very empty, without any atmosphere. Our room faced the front, which is obviously noisier than when we have stayed in a side room. Unfortunately, we also experienced a lot of noise with other guests coming up and down the stairs, constantly banging doors, past midnight, whilst they were waiting for a cab to take them out. We had to go downstairs to ask them to be a little more considerate. They returned at 5.30 a,m. but did make an effort to be quieter.Breakfast at this pub isn't up to much, with no choice as to what you are given and nothing cooked.Very friendly staff but a disappointing stay.

Reviewed by
C Watson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Crown and Sceptre
Good hotel. Will stay again.

Reviewed by
Charles R

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good Value
I stayed in a superior double room for £120 which represented extremely good value. dinner was also of a very high quality.

Reviewed by
Jo B

From Warminster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room and service
Nearly a disaster

Reviewed by
Rosemary R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, great area nice atmosphere
We had a lovely stay here, double bed in the room we had a really good nights sleep the quality of the duvet and the pillows were best we've had compared to other hotel stays (I know that sounds random but it was notable!) really friendly welcoming staff and the meal we had here and drinks, tasted great and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was continental, only critisism was the yogurt wasn't great but as the rest of our stay was so good I think we could forgive that! Even though the pub was still open when we went to be we didn't hear a sound from downstairs. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Claire B

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
Accommodation lovely, staff were so helpful and welcoming. In a busy past of Kensington with easy access to bus and tube routes. Bar downstairs has wonderful atmosphere, very relaxed. Would recommend and would return again.

Reviewed by
E Smith

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City hotel.chic and accessible
Perfect rom

Reviewed by
MICHAEL G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and quaint
Was a little concerned when I realised it was in fact above a pub but the room was lovely and quaint. Private entrance to rooms. No noise from the pub and in the lovely and quite area of Kensington. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
James B

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next