No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown and Sceptre

4Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
34, Holland Road , London, W14 8BA
We offer stylish boutique rooms in the heart of the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea. All rooms are light and spacious with high ceilings, free wi-fi, nespresso and tea making facilities, king size beds, en-suite bathrooms and flat screen TV's. We offer a continental breakfast in the morning which is included in the room price.

A short distance from Kensington Olympia, High Street Kensington and Shepherd's Bush stations giving you direct access to all areas of London.

Popular destinations within walking distance include High Street Kensington, Olympia Exhibition Centre, Royal Albert Hall, Holland Park, Kensington Palace and Westfield shopping centre.

Picture of The Crown and Sceptre, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 123 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab hotel / b&b
from the moment we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff, the accommodation was spot on and couldn't be faulted, the room was clean, airy and spacious, the shower room was more than adequate with complimentary toiletries- which were lovely, our continental breakfast was delicious and very fresh, we would definately be staying here again as we were at a function at the olympia, which could be seen from our room window, was only a matter of minutes away, as was the olympia train station, our room was above the main bar of the pub below we could only just hear the music from the bar, the noise from the busy main road outside was very minimal too,

Reviewed by
joyce lewis

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best London hotel I've ever stayed in ... and I've stayed in quite a few!
I always tend to shy away from rooms over pubs because of the potential for noise and aggravation, but on this occasion I booked because we were attending a late night event so would be back after closing time. I needn't have worried because midweek at least, this was more like a restaurant atmosphere with chilled out folks enjoying a glass of wine and really quite excellent and well-priced food.
On arrival we walked up to the bar and we were greeted with a smile. We were shown to our room and had all of the main FAQs answered on the way without any prompting, such as how to gain access after hours, what time for breakfast etc.
The room was a good size (for London) and was clean. Nice bathroom. A little tatty in places eg. bedside lamps wonky, but really I'm nitpicking here. It was absolutely fine for an overnighter and would have been just as fine for a longer stay. Large comfy bed, decent TV, dresser, hanging space, tea and coffee.
We ate dinner in the bar before heading out and found the menu to be an unusual mix of styles but mainly influenced by Italian and American dishes. The quality of the food was excellent and it is well priced. Service was attentive and swift. A great range of beers and lagers, wines and spirits are on offer at the traditional bar. Overall very impressed.
Having read previous reviews about experiences at breakfast, we didn't expect much. We figured we'd check it out and then find a cafe if it was as expected. How wrong were we! We walked into the bar area to be greeted with a smile and within a minute we were presented with hot drinks, then a few minutes later by individual 'continental' platters of freshly-prepared muesli (proper high quality ingredients, none of this factory-made "swiss style" dust), freshly-chopped fruit salad with yogurt, a warm croissant, jam, butter and a glass of high quality orange juice. Now I love a fryup, but this was absolutely delicious and quite possibly the best continental breakfast I've ever eaten anywhere in the world.
An absolute bargain and a real find, literally a 2 minute walk from Olympia overground station - 1 stop from an underground interchange and 3 stops from Clapham Junction so perfect for anywhere in central or west London. We'll definitely be back.

Reviewed by
M Harris

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The perfect balance
Large, tastefully decorated room, plush bathroom, great food and delightful staff.
Superb value (room rate includes breakfast) and right on a main bus route (Number 9) - 20 mins of people watching from the top deck and you're in town.
A real revelation in city accommodation - you get twice the product for half the price of an equivalent city centre hotel. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Jason G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay
Good service and lovely room
Could have done with air con as it was a very got couple of nights

Reviewed by
T Tyrrell

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous boutique hotel
We had a great 2 night stay. The staff were very friendly, the rooms were nicely presented and the continental breakfast was perfect for what we needed. The only downside was that due to the heatwave, the room was too hot at night. There was no air con or fans available. Either of these would have made the stay perfect

Reviewed by
caroline w

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room for an excellent price!
This small hotel has few rooms, which is great! We heard no noises from others guest.. we slept until 9:30!! The rooms are wonderfully furnished and very large. Our stylish bathroom was huge and everything was super clean!
I especially loved the very comfy bed!!! The Pub is fun and they offered us a lovely breakfast with fresh fruits/müsli and excellent croissants! A real insider tip! I would recommend it for younger couples. I will definitly come back next time in London!
My daughter and I say thanks to the very friendly staff!

Reviewed by
Tatjana H

From Germany
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for a night for the comicon conference, good location and local area is nice. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room looked nice but needed air con as it was very hot. If we tried to open the Windows the noise outside was incredible, and there was no means of keeping window open, they slide down. Room is above a bar and restaurant so music through floor quite loud. Nice rooms but needed a clean - old coffee stains on furniture and old sanitary towel wrapper in the drawers. Also bed quite small but I am 6ft 4". Dinner was nice I had steak, however we also ordered starters which didn't arrive. Our main meals came instead. Shame as I was looking forward to the baked camembert to kick off! Then the drinks order was wrong, then the bill was also wrong. The waiter gave me the card machine with someone else's card still in it. Food very nice but the service needs better organising. There were only 2 other tables eating at the time so I'd be worried if busier. The lass who served us breakfast was very nice, but breakfast was disappointing - a croissant and a yoghurt. All in all the trip served its purpose but wouldn't be my first choice next time.

Reviewed by
Mark H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic place to stay, fab staff and food. clean all round excellence

Reviewed by
a harris

From Dover, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay, friendly staff, good location
Really great place to stay with good bus links. The rooms are decorated beautifully and really clean. Staff really friendly and helpful and breakfast was lovely. The only slight downside was that the rooms were very warm and you couldn't have the window open at night due to noise - a fan in the room would be a welcome addition, but apart from that I would highly recommend it. Great value for money would stay again.

Reviewed by
H Vinas-Bennett

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a little dissappionted that the hotel had stopped cooking a full breakfast. However the continental breakfast served was very tasty and healthy. I was very impressed with ALL the staff, who at all times were friendly, helpful, and really went that extra mile. Looking forward to our next stay with them. The room was spacious, the bed comfy, and overall very clean.

Reviewed by
A Howells

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next