No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Buttery Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
11-12 Broad Street, , Oxford, OX1 3AP
Set on the pedestrianised part of historic Broad Street, The Buttery is one of Oxford’s most central accommodation providers. All 16 rooms are en-suite, some with original fireplaces and are decorated in a neutral style with light colours. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of double, twin, single or family rooms. Deluxe rooms have views overlooking Broad Street and Balliol College and standard rooms look out onto Ship Street buildings. All rooms offer free broadband internet access, flat screen televisions, direct dial telephones, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryers and electric shaver points. Rates include breakfast, which is served downstairs in the Oxford Campus Buttery. Being centrally located we are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs offering a wide range of evening meal eating options. Links to public transport are easy, with the train station fifteen minutes walk or a short taxi ride away and the coach station even closer, five minutes walk at the most. Park and Ride bus stops are also only a few minutes walk from the door. Access is gained through the red door between Oxford Campus Stores and The Oxford Campus Butteery, after 6pm the door is shut and access is gained via an intercom on the left handside of the front door, our night porter ensures access is available throughout the night. Public parking facilities with payment meters are available nearby, however parking in the centre of Oxford is limited and expensive, we therefore recommend making use of the five Park and Ride sites that surround the city.
Picture of The Buttery Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location.
Amazingly perfect location on Broad Street overlooking Balliol College. If you want to be in the centre of things then this is it..

Reviewed by
G Smith

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buttery Hotel
Fine, a little expensive and can be noisy as it is on Broad St, but very nice room.
The entrance is up some winding steep stairs, so could be a problem for anyone with mobility issues.
Overall good though

Reviewed by
L Kirk

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Great central location. Perfectly adequate for a night though room a bit like student accommodation. Tiny ensuite but clean.

Reviewed by
R Wright

From Enniskillen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great staff, great position
very good staff, especially Vicky, who was on reception the day I departed.
Will stay again.

Reviewed by
william b

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location is excellent (although a bit hard to find after dark). Room very comfortable. Room overlooking Balliol College frontage; Noisy due to numbers of young people enjoying the space on a warm September evening. Not the Buttery's making, but worth considering if you want a quiet night. Breakfast choice apparently constrained by listed building status, but perfectly adequate.

Reviewed by
Mark F

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful service
Everything is superb at the Buttery. All the staff are attentive, helpful, and very friendly and standard of cleanliness superb.
I would give this experience the top rating but for the fact I stayed in a noisy room. It was at the top of the stairs into the hotel and near the public toilet and also where the staff assemble in the morning. The housemaid was talking outside my room to other staff early on Saturday morning. I could also at times hear every word spoken form the reception staff answering the phone, or speaking to customers.
I would stay here again and recommend it to you but avoid the room at the top of the stairs.

Reviewed by
F Dolan

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City break for graduation
Lovely stay, in the centre of town. Close to everything you need in the centre of town. Breakfast was lovely, fresh and prompt service. Lots of steep stairs though so may not but suitable if mobility is a problem

Reviewed by
Clare B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Buttery, Oxford
We were allocated the room right by reception. The bins were not emptied from the previous occupants and they money was taken upfront and we realised why after the nights stay. The room, which was noisy to say the least. We could hear every conversation taking place. After 7pm the doorball had to be rung to gain entry, so every single person whatever hour was heard coming through the door. In the morning when staff arrived, we heard the door alarm going off twice.
For breakfast we opted for scrambled eggs on toast. The eggs were cooked in the microwave and were the whitest, most cheapest eggs you have ever seen, along with the cheapest, none flavoursome toast. Quite dissapointed. Thankfully it was only one night. Won't be recommending to anybody.

Reviewed by
Debbie Fallon

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A guesthouse with a good location
I felt the accommodation was simple and it was adequate for a very short stay. It is in an extremely convenient location, which was the main reason for selecting the hotel. Due to the nature of the building, the hotel does not have a lift and the stairs are quite steep and narrow. The entrance involves climbing a flight of stairs to reach reception along with carrying luggage. Staff were courteous and offered assistance with luggage once I had checked in. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a hair dryer. There was not a full length mirror in the room and the over bath shower was a bit temperamental. I was traveling on work related activity and the desk space was limited, cramped and with no desk light or adjustable chair.
During my stay it was very hot weather and the room extremely hot. The old building seemed to generate and retain heat! I certainly did not need the thick duvet!The room air conditioning was a mobile free standing unit with a hose venting out of a window. It was not very effective as the window had to be left open to vent it! Unfortunately at the time of my stay there was scaffolding erected outside my room window. Therefore I was not comfortable leaving the window open or on a flimsy latch. Although the Oxford streets were extremely busy, my room was located to the rear of the hotel and was very quiet.
The breakfast was served in the back room of the cafe and was fairly standard and adequate. I was pleased to see porridge on the menu!

Reviewed by
Anne W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good central location and friendly staff
The location in Oxford was brilliant (although it did take some finding the first time) and the staff were all very friendly. The room was adequate, large and very clean. I was on the third floor and the lack of lifts meant maneuvering my luggage up there was a bit difficult however the staff did offer to carry it for me. The cooked breakfast was a bit ropey (although edible) but the fresh croissants and pain au chocolats were delicious. Overall a lovely hotel for the price and I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
R White

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next