Reviews - The Buttery Hotel


11 Broad Street, ,, Oxford, OX1 3AP

Price From 177.56 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (63)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • S Davies

  • September 2015

The loo was dirty.

I had to clean it myself using the toilet brush. The loo did clean up so it wasn't stained. The bathroom in general wasn't clean with dirty surfaces and a used cotton bud had been left on a shelf.

  • D Norton

  • September 2015

Location Location Location

This is an amazing little Guest House for anyone who wants to explore the various museums, colleges and shops of central Oxford.

All of these things are within easy and level walking distance from The Buttery. It was very clean and room 305 had fantastic views of Balliol and was good for people watching. The breakfast was a fairly bland experience as the room used is tiny and is part of the café at the front, but it served a purpose and it is easy to see how staff are limited in what they can achieve within the space available. As others have pointed out, the stairs to the rooms are narrow and steep, so would pose problems for people with mobility problems. Similarly, there is little here for very young children and the steps would be difficult for them to climb and a pushchair would never reach the summit. However, if you are fit and have children over 8 years old, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Gordon M

  • August 2015

Mind the stairs!

All the members staff here were VERY friendly & helpful.

Breakfast is served in the attached cafe and was of good quality but limited choice. Rooms comfortable with good view over a historic part of Oxford, slightly tired furnishings and small TV but with tea/coffee making facilities, hair drier and free shampoo etc. This is an old building and climbing stairs is a necessary part of staying here which is the reason I would not stay here again.

  • Matthew D

  • July 2015

A generally lovely stay

The Buttery is very well located.

Inside there are lots of stairs, here there and everywhere, which makes it quirky. The welcome was warm and friendly, and the service remained this way throughout my stay. I should say that if you like boutique modern hotels, this isn't for you. It's a classic independent hotel. Comfy, clean, and perfectly fit for purpose but a little tired here and there. The hotel is expensive, but that is par for the course with Oxford. I would say it was money well spent.

Breakfast was great, even if lacking a standard hot option, it was tasty nonetheless. The cake sold in the cafe downstairs is amazing.

  • Paul D

  • May 2015

Quirky and right in the city

I really enjoyed staying at the Buttery, it sits in the centre of the city and has charm and character.

If you like chain hotels this probably isn't for you, it reminded me of Parisian hotels, with many stairs. But the room was comfortable and clean. the bathroom was good and everything worked. The welcome was great and I felt that my custom was valued. Breakfast was included downstairs in the cafe, and the continental breakfast was really good - warm croissants from the oven. I shall be staying again.

  • S Orme

  • April 2015

The Buttery Hotel

The good bits about this hotel: very convenient location, nice rooms in a lovely period building and very friendly staff.

Areas for improvement: bit overpriced, particularly for single occupancy, and can be a bit noisy at a weekend late at night overlooking a main thoroughfare. Breakfast was rather disappointing given the price in that it was only a continental breakfast, not hot option being offered. On balance still a good stay though.

  • Sandra B

  • April 2015


The bedroom was excellent.

Everything you needed. No bar at the hotel and the breakfast was served in the café that was open to the public at 9am when our breakfast time ended. The breakfast was a minimalist continental one and a cooked breakfast was charged for as an extra. the café was also minimalist. However, the staff were very helpful. Considering the cost of the room for two £115, we thought paying extra for a cooked breakfast was a bit much. Having said that the hotel was very central, opposite Trinity College, a short walk from the theatre and opposite the walking tours.

  • C Coppin

  • April 2015

Easter break

I had a very enjoyable stay at the Buttery.

Staff were extremely helpful and the room was better than I had anticipated. The en suite contained a full sized bath as well as a shower. Cleanliness was excellent. Would definitely recommend

  • James S

  • April 2015

Great place in the centre of Oxford

In town for a lang weekend over Easter.

Staff were excellent and very helpful. Happy to look after our luggage all day between check out and our train home. Rooms a good size and had all you need. Ours faced out onto Broad Street and wasn't even noisy on a Saturday night. Only slight thing is that you have to remember to lock the room doors yourself (they don'y autolock like many hotel rooms). This caused a problem when someone else in the hotel opened our door thinking it was their room, but they were probably an idiot anyway. All in all, a good place to stay and reasonable value in a town that can be incredibly expensive to stay in.

  • S Humphrey

  • April 2015

Sanity break

We decided whilst my teenage children were home, to take a couple of days away and see Oxford.

My partner who has health problems cannot walk long distances so a central and affordable (!) location was important.

This little hotel was ideal. The service was friendly and helpful. There was breakfast included (unusual in the hotels I looked at) in the ground floor Buttery coffee shop, but they stopped serving hotel guests officially at 9am even though the Restaurant served breakfast much later.

The rooms were basic but adequate with a warm comfy bed and decent shower etc. There was a lot of stair climbing up narrow staircases so not ideal if you have a lot of luggage. The location of the hotel is perfect. There is minimal traffic outside the hotel so hardly any traffic noise thankfully. All-in-all a great place to stay for a trip to Oxford.