No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queens Head Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Lower Green, , Askham, Penrith, CA10 2PF
'The Queen's' as it is affectionately known by the locals, was taken over by long time local couple John & Eileen in August 2012, and has always been the community pub where you will still find colourful local characters. It boasts four open fires two of which are in the main bar area making it a wonderful place to relax and stay warm even on the coldest of nights. Home made fresh and seasonal food is served everyday from 12 noon until 9pm. (Hours may vary in winter, please call to check). A good selection of our menu is gluten free, without compromise on quality or flavour, we also cater for dairy free and vegetarians. We have four letting rooms at the Queens which are all en suite and have free view television. 'The Lowther Suite' which consists of 2 double beds in 2 rooms, one of the doubles having a single bed above, this can sleep 2 adults and 3 children up to the age of 16yrs. The 3 remaining rooms are doubles, two of which can be converted to twins. Well behaved dogs on a lead are allowed in the bar area and also any of our four letting rooms. We are ideally located for exploring our stunning countryside and there are many walks either starting from the pub or from nearby and is fantastic dog walking/riding country. Also available are some of the finest game fishing rivers in the country, one being situated at the bottom of the village, for which we can arrange an excellent local guide/tutor. There are also some superb shoots available locally, be it for birds in flight or stalking we can point you in the right direction. Golf is also available. The surrounding area has much to offer visitors, and just to the rear of the pub is a lovely public open air swimming pool(summer time only), and adjacent to the pub can be found Stuart Broadhurst's excellent pottery studio, also opposite the pub is the well stocked village shop. It is also only a half hour walk to the very popular Kendal Calling music festival which is held on Lowther estate.
Picture of The Queens Head Inn, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Food, great staff.
Friendly staff, good food and quiet setting.
Unfortunely the cleaner never cleaned my room, not that i'm messy but would be nice to have bed been made after staying 3 nights.

Reviewed by
sean g

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed for one night to break a journey. Convenient location, friendly, helpful staff & proprietor & splendid food. Excellent atmosphere in the bar. The room was in need of a little TLC, as was the en-suite - not enough to put us off returning, but just a tiny bit disappointing.

Reviewed by
David D

From Shetland, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great country inn
Thoroughly enjoyed my short stay. Friendly hosts good food and ale. Great place to stay.

Reviewed by
A Bell

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel very welcoming will definately stay again
Really welcoming staff in a lovely setting, room very clean and tidy smelt a little of dogs but that went after a few hours.Staff very helpful.

Reviewed by
A Mcintosh

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In a lovely location and very accommodating and friendly. The room was nice but it only had one bedside table and there was no mattress protector so I had to use one of the bath towels on the bed as I do not like to sleep on a mattress that is not protected.

Reviewed by
J BEST

From TANSLEY MATLOCK, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly
Staff very friendly, food and beer excellent.

Reviewed by
Ian Birnie

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looked after us really well and made a fuss of our two Westies! The bones they provided for the dogs while we eat in the bar, really kept them quiet and allowed us to eat in peace!

Reviewed by
S Davies

From Longridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place would definitely stay again
If you are looking for the feel of lakes then this is the place to stay traditional old style country setting with a modern twist. On our arrival we were met by the owner who was extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome , we decided to have something to eat and WOW I really enjoyed it as did my husband we had a lovely evening surrounded by other guests and locals , the atmosphere was lovely. Our room had everything we needed was very clean and decorated really well. English breakfast was included which was really lovely also choices of cereals and fresh juices to set you up for the day. We only stayed one night but wish we had more time because this little village was lovely and there are lots of other little places to visit / walk around. Check in and out we're very good no problems at all.

Reviewed by
christopher n

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm & friendly welcome, good service and truly dog friendly - thank you

Reviewed by
Jill E

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay for families with dogs
The Queen's Head gives a very warm welcome to families, including dogs. We only had a one night stay, but it was absolutely perfect for our needs. The food and beer is excellent, and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff throughout our stay. We will definitely stay again, next time for longer!

Reviewed by
M Short

From St Ives, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.