No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Burrator Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Dousland, , , Yelverton, PL20 6NP
Your hosts Phil and Sara and our team welcome you to the Burrator Inn website, where we hope you will find all the information you require, failing which we would kindly suggest you telephone us for an informal chat. A warm welcome awaits you at the 'Burrie' which has been an established Inn for in excess of 100 years, situated approximately 1 mile from the famous Burrator Reservoir, and some 12 miles from Plymouth City Centre, on the B3212, a short 'hop' from Yelverton. We offer a wide variety of meals, having comprehensive and also simple menus, served in a light and airy environment, with a warm welcome to all, from our friendly, first class team of staff. With our comfortable accommodation, and a full English Breakfast second to none. The Burrator Inn is an excellent place to stay, whether in the short or long term, or either business or pleasure. Our accommodation options include family, double, twin and single rooms, most of which are en-suite, and offer TV, tea and coffee making facilities. Children are welcome within the dining area and restaurant, and dogs welcome within the bar area (and we have a children's play area within an enclosed beer garden, complete with slide, climbing frames / nets and a small roundabout. WE HAVE LIVE MUSIC ON A SATURDAY EVENING. NO PETS ALLOWED. There is a large off road car park to the front, sides and rear of the building.
Picture of Burrator Inn, Yelverton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't hesitate book now you wont be disappointed
Accomodation & Food, are excellent, very good value for money, Staff also very helpful & friendly

Reviewed by
Ian Crawford

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short and enjoyable stay
Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. As I was leaving before breakfast started on the last day I was made a large baguette with a choice of fillings for my trip.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Lochgelly, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Nice clean comfy room and ensuite, great breakfast

Reviewed by
Martin B

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
It was a wonderful stay at the burrator inn and defitnaly will stay there again the food was lovely we will recommend people 2 stay there the atmosphere is nice and relaxed and staff r very friendly a ++++++++++ all the way for us thankyou very much

Reviewed by
nicola horkins

From plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to Stay
I stayed for three nights,whilst working in Plymouth.The accommodation was very comfortable, large room and en-suite with a lovely big bath.I ate in the pub every night and enjoyed the food,although nothing fancy,just good pub fayre.
Staff were friendly and helpful and knocked a fiver off the bill every day as I had to miss breakfast due to early starts.

Reviewed by
A Harvey

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not What I Expected
It appears to me that the Burrator Inn is designed to cater for large groups of people who are looking for economy accommodation and does not reflect the type of establishment one would associate with the attractive moorland location. My room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom appeared to have been recently refurbished, however, a lack of thought had left sharp tile edges across the bathroom door threshold and the mirror had been fixed too low on the wall to be useful. The shaver socket was adjacent to this mirror but the ceiling downlighters did not provide adequate light for its use.
I did not appreciate having to work my way through groups of smokers around the access door to the bedrooms.
Breakfast was good and nicely presented but sitting in the middle of a huge sea of empty tables made this something to rush rather than enjoy. Not somewhere I would return to.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find
Very comfortable and a great welcome. Good location - easy to find and a chance to get some real fresh air before a days work!
If you like a run then Burrator Reservoir is close by - one lap is about 4 miles and reasonably flat.

Reviewed by
Thomas S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for Dartmoor
This was a super location for the Caddihoe Chase orienteering competition. The room was ideal with a brilliantly comfortable bed and a fantastic shower in the wet room. The staff were very attentive. We were warned that there would be a Beer Festival with bands playing whilst we were staying. We were a little concerned that it might be very noisy, but we really enjoyed tasting the Devonshire brews and listening to the bands.

Reviewed by
Bridget H

From East Grinstead, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly & good value
We booked this as a last minute 4 night break.The location is great for exploring Dartmoor which was spectacular.We also spent a day at the Eden Project which is about an hour's drive away. The room was good, very clean and nicely furnished, as was the en-suite bathroom (great shower!). It's a very welcoming place. Our room was above the lounge bar which was a bit noisy up to about 11 pm but we expected that as it is a pub after all. The only improvement I'd suggest is to the breakfast - I didn't think it was very well presented; the table wasn't always wiped and our waiter,whilst extremely friendly and chatty was pretty grubbily presented I'm afraid which is reflected in the cleanliness score. The full English was covered in black flecks (signs of a burnt grill pan?). Also if you don't fancy cooked food at breakfast the cold range is very limited (choice of 2 cereals,1 juice).

Reviewed by
B Bell

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Place - Burrator Inn
The Burrator Inn was a friendly place, the staff were courteous who dealt with my checking in and out and my stay with a big smile and cheerful greeting.
The food was excellent with a good menu and a specials board that was varied and very reasonably priced.
I would recommend the Burrator Inn to anyone, I will be booking again when I am next in the area.

Reviewed by
W Shannon

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next