Reviews - Rossett Hall Hotel


Chester Road Rossett, Chester, LL12 0DE

Price From 124.88 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (83)

75% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • j brent

  • September 2015

very enjoyable family holiday with very pleasant staff beautiful country hotel

thankyou for a lovely holiday

  • TINA H

  • August 2015

First visit

This was my first visit to Rossett Hall Hotel and I was very impressed.

The service both at reception and in the restaurant was very good. I had an evening meal which was good value and well presented. Breakfast was good too

  • G Murphy

  • July 2015

Lovely quiet hotel in excellent location.

Easy to reach Chester, North Wales and Motorway network.

  • Steve L

  • June 2015

Weekend Break

Lovely stay, good sized rooms which were clean and tidy.

Ideal for visiting Chester and the surrounding area. Breakfast was good and plentiful and the staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Paul Naylor

  • June 2015

Good stay just need house keeping up to scratch

Stayed 2 nights good room but had large spider in corner of room all 2 days.

second day it seemed as if housekeeping had been broken off partway through doing room. bed not made, no towels, spider still in corner. reception sorted towels. Would have done room again if we wanted.

  • Elaine P

  • June 2015

Not good

Budget hotel

Dirty rooms ,hotel could do with a complete deep clean ,the windows all around the hotel were dirty

Bath had hairs in and mouldy grout and pink body fat around the bath

  • Diane D

  • June 2015

Rossett Hall Hotel

Lived up to our expectations, and more.

Hope to stay again on our return trip.

  • Linzi W

  • May 2015

Overheated and overpriced breakfast

Radiator in bathroom was left on full blast and unable to turn down.

Eventually had to ask someone to turn it off but left room uncomfortably hot all evening even with windows open.

Having a young child who had been ill we decided to do breakfast in the hotel to see if she would eat, no prices given on table. Surprised at price then charged at check out to say all I had to eat was a bowl of cereal and 2 slices of toast, husband only had a small cooked breakfast and daughter shared 1 of his sausages. Not a lot for a charge of £20.

The rest of the stay was for us was good and they accomadated us by giving us a disabled room which gave us more room for the cot we had for our daughter. Which was a nice gesture especially as it also meant we were on the first floor so didn't have to mess around with lifts or stairs.

  • M Berry

  • May 2015

Rooms need a little TLC

Arrived late at the hotel and was greater by a friendly face.

We checked in and was asked if we needed a wake up call to which I requested one for 7.30am. On checking in and going to the room I was looking forward to the stay as the hotel seemed clean and modern. On arrival to the room it was spacious and could do with a little tlc. On closer inspection the cushions on the bed were stained and the bathroom could do with a complete overhaul. After a long journey I was looking forward to having a shower and it didn't work water trickled out. I had a bath instead and there was a few black hairs in there. The bed was extremely comfortable and I had a good nights sleep, luckily I put on my own alarm as there was no wake up call. The next morning I had to wash my hair in the sink as still no shower. Breakfast was great a wide selection and very tasty. On checking out the receptionist was very understanding and lovely and deducted most off our bill for the shower not working.

  • Dave S

  • May 2015

breakfast was great, dinner not so great

Our starters were ok.

I had pork belly, which came with pea puree, but in reality, this was blended mushy Peas. Still, it tasted fine and looked good too, so we were expecting an amazing main course.

Mains, not nice at all. I had the lamb shank, which I expected to be cooked for hours with the meat falling off the bone. It was tough and rather bland. The veg that it came with were random cut pieces of carrot, swede and turnip that had dried up on the hot plate as it had been there that long. The red wine jus was just gravy without any real taste. The butter mash potatoes were buttery, smooth and nice. My wife had a sirloin steak which was cooked well, but again, had been on the hot plate too long. The fries had dried up and her peppercorn sauce was the same gravy that I had, but with a few peppercorns thrown in for value. Not great seeing it was £17. Seeing as the rest of the hotel was so nice, it was a bit of a disappointment. It put us off having dessert.

The hotel itself was nice, the rooms spacious and had great views of the gardens. Facilities in the room were good too, with a comfortable bed, and table and chairs to relax on.

Breakfast was fantastic. All cooked well too. Definitely no complaints there. As you could guess, we were not looking forward to breakfast with our dinner being of poor standard, but was surprised with what was on offer. All cooked well, with lots of choices for both English and continental breakfast.