You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Smart Hyde Park Inn


48-50 Inverness Terrace, London , W2 3JA

Price From 22.48 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (9)

56% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Sarah P

  • October 2016


Really helpful staff, broken lockers in the bedroom meant an uncomfortable sleep with bags at the base of my bed, confusing layout of building, weak shower didn't last long each release of water and pathetic cheap breakfast not worth paying for when you have Sainsbury's near by- best thing is the location.

I regretted not doing an Air b n b for the same price by the time you add on the extras for a towel etc. Good for back packing and cheap longer stays.

  • Charlotte Brimelow

  • October 2016

Better than expected

I booked this hostel as I was on a fairly low budget and basically just needed a bed for a couple of hours after a gig and before travelling early the next morning.

After booking I thought I'd have a look at the reviews (I never look before as it can put anyone off anything!!) and I was then a bit like oh... However on my arrival I was surprised. The staff were all wonderful, helpful and lovely. My bed was the top bunk and right in the corner so I was undisturbed, but there was a snorer in the bed opposite... but hey, free earplugs!. I was impressed with how comfortable it was too!. Breakfast was basic, but more than I expected (again due to neg. reviews) ... they even had Nutella!.

Would definitely use this hostel again, don't be put off by negative reviews :)

  • S Parry

  • April 2016


Was alright.

Too noisy from other guests. Bad night sleep. Beds quite small.

  • Paul Dawes

  • March 2016

Only my second stay in a hostel.

Having already stayed the previous night across town In the Smart at Russell Square I wasn't expecting too much from this experience, but I was pleasantly surprised.

Room was clean and had a much more uncluttered feel to it. 12 bed instead of 18. On my arrival the window was open, the room smelled clean and fresh and all but one of the other guests had yet to check in. Key card for the doors worked fine and also operated the lock on the drawer under the bed.

The shower/toilet rooms were clean and tidy, I took a shower, the water was adequately warm and the water pressure was good. Although the dorms and bathrooms are mixed, privacy is certainly not a concern when taking a shower, as the doors are actually the type of upvc design you might typically find on a house, water tight and very secure!

  • Gertrude A

  • March 2016

Horrible experience

Overall, I did not like it!

  • Tim B

  • July 2015

Smart Hyde Park Inn

The staff were very friendly as were the people staying in the hostel ,the energy was good throughout,the vibe just created a very easy feeling,could,nt really get a better location in london.

By far the best hostel in london!

  • Milla R

  • June 2015

Great for budget traveller

Affordable accommodation in central location.

Almost next to Bayswater and very close to Queensway tube stations. Breakfast is simple but sufficient. Only thing I missed was real coffee since there was only instant coffee and tea. The beds were quite low and even I as a short woman couldn't sit straight on my bed. I can still recommend this place for anyone who has a tight budget and just needs place to sleep.

  • David H

  • February 2015

You Get What You Pay For

For little more than £10 / night near central London, you cannot expect much.

Smart Hyde Park will put you in a room with up to eleven other people. I was in a room with four three-tier bunk beds, a sink, a bin and one lockable security box for each bed. There is a £1.50 fee to have the key for the lock box. Your sheets can be changed as much as once every seven days. The room I was in was nothing special, but I could not point anything out as being bad. It was cleaned once a day. The showers and toilets, which are shared with about 25-30 people per floor were not so great, but certainly not dire. At no point did the toilets look cleaned, but neither were they disgusting. There was some minor graffiti though. One of the locks on the toilets was broken and two of the locks on the showers. There are 4-5 showers, 3-4 toilets and one sink. The reception was the cleanest and best furbished room in the building. It has a pool table, TV and two computers. You can also access free Wi-fi here, which you cannot access in the rooms, which have a paid Wi-fi service. The dining rooms are downstairs and are not bad, but not great. The free breakfast is paltry. You can have a small bowl of low-grade corn flakes w/ milk, water, coffee and bread w/ jam. Some of the cups did not look properly washed.


  • November 2014

First Time

This was my first time staying at a hostel of any kind, I found the experience very enjoyable and would recomend it to others, you just can't beat having a bed for the night in London for £10