Reviews - Smart Hyde Park Inn


48-50 Inverness Terrace, London , W2 3JA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (8)

50% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Tim B

  • July 2015

Smart Hyde Park Inn

The staff were very friendly as were the people staying in the hostel ,the energy was good throughout,the vibe just created a very easy feeling,could,nt really get a better location in london.

By far the best hostel in london!

  • Milla R

  • June 2015

Great for budget traveller

Affordable accommodation in central location.

Almost next to Bayswater and very close to Queensway tube stations. Breakfast is simple but sufficient. Only thing I missed was real coffee since there was only instant coffee and tea. The beds were quite low and even I as a short woman couldn't sit straight on my bed. I can still recommend this place for anyone who has a tight budget and just needs place to sleep.

  • David H

  • February 2015

You Get What You Pay For

For little more than £10 / night near central London, you cannot expect much.

Smart Hyde Park will put you in a room with up to eleven other people. I was in a room with four three-tier bunk beds, a sink, a bin and one lockable security box for each bed. There is a £1.50 fee to have the key for the lock box. Your sheets can be changed as much as once every seven days. The room I was in was nothing special, but I could not point anything out as being bad. It was cleaned once a day. The showers and toilets, which are shared with about 25-30 people per floor were not so great, but certainly not dire. At no point did the toilets look cleaned, but neither were they disgusting. There was some minor graffiti though. One of the locks on the toilets was broken and two of the locks on the showers. There are 4-5 showers, 3-4 toilets and one sink. The reception was the cleanest and best furbished room in the building. It has a pool table, TV and two computers. You can also access free Wi-fi here, which you cannot access in the rooms, which have a paid Wi-fi service. The dining rooms are downstairs and are not bad, but not great. The free breakfast is paltry. You can have a small bowl of low-grade corn flakes w/ milk, water, coffee and bread w/ jam. Some of the cups did not look properly washed.


  • November 2014

First Time

This was my first time staying at a hostel of any kind, I found the experience very enjoyable and would recomend it to others, you just can't beat having a bed for the night in London for £10

  • Philip P

  • July 2014

my personal review of my stay

wasn't a bad place to stay in as such but was complications at the start was in one room for one night then moved to another the following nights i was there which involved alot of stairs with a extremely heavy case of myn .

only two downsides i can think of when it come to my stay the rooms had got extremely hot during the night which was quite uncomfortable to sleep in and if you have a heavy case to move up the five flights of stairs to the 3rd floor as i did as there is no lift but there is a storage area downstairs which i used a few times. other than that didnt have a problem with the place on the plus side was being able to use free wifi

  • S Fildes

  • June 2014

A dump, unfit for human use

Not fit for humans, dirty smelly, rude staff

  • Chikondi A

  • May 2014

Very clean bathroom,next time I will take ear plugs.

  • T Mower

  • March 2014

Very cheap and very basic

I guess you get what you pay for - this is one of the cheapest hostels in central London, but you can see why.

I stayed in a 15 bed room which consisted of 5 'triple bunks' - very small beds you couldn't event sit up in - similar to sleeper train beds. The room was way too hot, there was nowhere to store luggage and only a narrow aisle between the beds. On the plus side, bedding was included as was a breakfast of cornflakes and toast. The place was reasonably clean and the shower & toilet facilities were fine. Overall the hostel felt very cramped and not massively welcoming, but for less than £20 and in a good location it was alright.