No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smart Hyde Park Inn

2Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
48-50 Inverness Terrace , London , W2 3JA
Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of Central London. The hostel is near London’s most popular shopping areas, Portobello Market, Knightsbridge and Oxford Street and less than 100 meters from Hyde Park.

Our hostel has 24 hour reception, FREE continental buffet breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi and internet cafe, TV common room, self-service laundry and dryer facilities, no lockout or curfew, travel shop and much more.

The local transport links are great, we are located within 3 minutes walking distance from either Queensway or Bayswater Tube or Metro Stations both train lines link to all the major train stations and to Heathrow Airport. There are 24 hour buses running next to the hostel which connect to many of the cities train and bus stations, making us accessible at day or night.

Beat the long queues and buy Fast Track tickets to all the major London attractions such as Madame Tussauds, London Eye, Tower of London and many directly from our reception desk. We also sell discounted theatre tickets to all major shows in the West End of London.
Local sights within walking distance from the hostel include; Oxford Street, Hyde Park, Portobello Market, Notting Hill, Kensington Gardens, Diana Memorial, Speakers Corner, Knightsbridge, National History Museum, Science Museum, Victoria and Albert Museum, Royal Albert Memorial, Paddington Station, the West End Theatres, Serpentine Gallery and much more.

By choosing to stay with us, you will find yourself in a clean, comfortable hostel with the best of Central London at your fingertips!

** Important Information **
- Photo ID required at the check-in,
- £10 refundable deposit (cash) required at the check-in,
- Credit card payment fee of 3% or £0.50,
- Locker fee £1.50,
- Late check-out fee of £10,
- Customers under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an Adult.Customers under 13 years old must be booked into private accommodation. The minimum age to stay at our hostels is The recommended age to stay at our hostels unaccompanied is from 16 onward.
Picture of Smart Hyde Park Inn, London  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Time
This was my first time staying at a hostel of any kind, I found the experience very enjoyable and would recomend it to others, you just can't beat having a bed for the night in London for £10

Reviewed by
STANLEY ROBINSON

From BRANTONE, France
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my personal review of my stay
wasn't a bad place to stay in as such but was complications at the start was in one room for one night then moved to another the following nights i was there which involved alot of stairs with a extremely heavy case of myn .
only two downsides i can think of when it come to my stay the rooms had got extremely hot during the night which was quite uncomfortable to sleep in and if you have a heavy case to move up the five flights of stairs to the 3rd floor as i did as there is no lift but there is a storage area downstairs which i used a few times. other than that didnt have a problem with the place on the plus side was being able to use free wifi

Reviewed by
Philip P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A dump, unfit for human use
Not fit for humans, dirty smelly, rude staff

Reviewed by
S Fildes

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean bathroom,next time I will take ear plugs.

Reviewed by
Chikondi A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very cheap and very basic
I guess you get what you pay for - this is one of the cheapest hostels in central London, but you can see why. I stayed in a 15 bed room which consisted of 5 'triple bunks' - very small beds you couldn't event sit up in - similar to sleeper train beds. The room was way too hot, there was nowhere to store luggage and only a narrow aisle between the beds. On the plus side, bedding was included as was a breakfast of cornflakes and toast. The place was reasonably clean and the shower & toilet facilities were fine.
Overall the hostel felt very cramped and not massively welcoming, but for less than £20 and in a good location it was alright.

Reviewed by
T Mower

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
it was value for money. for what i paid it was good. customer service was very good, always smiling.. only problem was there were only one plug point for the whole hostel where abt 18 of us was staying. also the rooms were very congested. no room to keep our stuff. but the hotel was very conveniently located so it is easy to travel around london very easily.

Reviewed by
t ranasinha

From Macclesfield, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crammed up rooms but nice for meeting people
Crammed up rooms but ideal for meeting people

Reviewed by
S Sholotan

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place
nice place, nice room, great value for money but would have liked to have felt more welcome, bit of friendliness from the staff would have been nice, and noise outside until 3am so didn't get much sleep.

Reviewed by
K Simmonds

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Service, Average accommodation
The room cost me £10 for the night, so for what I paid, the hostel cannot be beaten for value. There was a crazy man in my room acting very strange so within 2 minutes of arriving I went back to the reception and told them I wanted to move room, they handled the situation professionally and took my concerns seriously, promptly moving me to a new room and going to check on the guy in the first room.
The cost of a locker and ear plugs was really cheap and overall the hostel was tidy and clean, nothing luxurious but it wasn't bad either, just basic and stripped back. The room had a balcony which was lovely for sipping a herbal tea on just before going to sleep. Toilets were relatively clean and were not a cause for concern.
The breakfast which is provided by a nearby restaurant was advertised as continental, in reality it was just butter and toast along with very small portions of cereal. I took one look at breakfast in the morning and instead decided to go elsewhere for something proper.
I would definitely stay at this hostel again and recommend it for anybody who is on a budget and just needs a place in london to dump their stuff with a bed to sleep in.

Reviewed by
C Ball

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location, Location, Location
Smart Hyde Inn has a marvellous location practically across the street from Bayswater Tube Station and its central London location makes it easy to see the majority of the tourist sights in London. The staff was absolutely amazing and went above and beyond when I had an issue with my booking and made sure that I would have a place to stay. I cannot stress how wonderful the customer service was. The only real downside was that I was in London during their massive heat wave and staying in a room for 18 people which resulted in some very warm nights, however the hostel itself cannot and should not be faulted in that. I will definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a cheap stay in London.

Reviewed by
Kyla S

From Canada
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next