No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Roundabout Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
46, Wallington Shore Road , Fareham, PO16 8SB
Our hotel is a charming nineteenth century, 17 bed roomed hotel in Fareham which offers a warm and friendly welcome to the business person and families alike. Be it business or pleasure, we offer comfort, hospitality and good value.

The hotel is easily accessed from the M27 and is conveniently situated near Ferry Ports at both Portsmouth & Southampton. The sailing enthusiast would find the Hamble river (Howard's Way fame) more than adequate. For water skiers, windsurfers and sunbathers, Lee on Solent is only 20 minutes away by car.
Picture of The Roundabout Hotel, Fareham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight
stayed overnight and had dinner,skipped breakfast as we wanted to be on our way early.We were not sure of our time of arrival but we were told that they would fix sandwiches if we were too late for evening meel.We will stay there again.

Reviewed by
Christopher Bourne

From Stoke on Trent, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really nice surprise!
To be honest for the price I was not expecting a lot as I am used to Premier Inn/Holiday Express standards which never disappoint, however on this occasion I could not get a room at short notice in those hotels so booked at The Roundabout Hotel Fareham instead. When I entered a spacious comfortable room immaculately clean with king size bed I realised that the place was well appointed, the staff very helpful and the food excellent. I would certainly use this hotel again if in the area. Best steak and chips I had in years!

Reviewed by
V Holmes

From Swindon, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Great Price, Great Hotel

Reviewed by
S Williams

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not recommended
Quite simply, this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was very shabby with a stained and grubby carpet and a tatty pair of faded curtains hung up by four rings on broken wonky poles. The folds of the curtains were thick with dust as were the bedside lamps and the wall shades and a plastic edging strip round the window was held in place with nails and black insulation tape. All the furniture had long since seen better days especially the two metal framed beds which creaked with every tiny movement. The bathroom had a dripping tap that had been dripping so long it had stained the sink and a loo with a dodgy flush. The plastic cups provided had obviously been re-used for a long time and shower head just about fitted in its holder as long as you didn’t mind it pointing at the ceiling. It was so bad we laughed about it saying oh well, it’s only for one night. Went down to breakfast before 8am the following morning as we wanted to get off early although I have to say I was very dubious about eating anything in this establishment. Having taken a surreptitious look through the window in the kitchen door I was relieved that it looked clean and hygienic and ordered a full English thinking I could pick and chose what looked edible. The girl who took our order was very friendly but she was on her own and rushed off her feet so service was slow from the start. After 35 minutes the girl had disappeared completely and we were still waiting for our breakfast to appear. Eventually I went through to the kitchen and found half a dozen cooked breakfasts lined up under the hot plate waiting for service. I actually asked if I could take them out myself but they did then find someone else to serve. No one except the cook gave us an apology and as we left my husband went into the kitchen to thank the cook for a nice breakfast ruined by the wait. I will definitely not be returning to this hotel.

Reviewed by
A Sadler

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly staff, but.....
Staff was great but the rooms were very "tired" and uncomfortable.The bed had very noisy springs and if you moved in your sleep the noisy springs would wake you up. Had I known the hotel was hosting a wedding. I would never had booked it. My room was on the 1st floor above the party and the live disco.It was so noisy.
Trying to leave on time in the morning was impossible. Just bad luck but the card machine was broken and it was hinted that it was my card. The embarrassment of standing there trying to convince that there was money on my account...... Then my mothers card failed too. Then we tried to pay cash but the poor girl....after having got the keys for the till could not open it, and give us change and was not willing to accept -£2-50. then we went to another card machine in the bar and guess what....both my mother and my credit card worked!!! All this made us late and we missed the first part of the event we were going too. wont book again. Oh and don't try the coffee.....I have never had such bad coffee. Please train your staff how to use an espresso machine!!!!!!

Reviewed by
Anni J

From Longhope, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The single room was fine for our son but the twin room we had was not good. It was dusty, the carpet had stains and the mattresses were so uncomfortable and noisy. Just sitting on the bed was noisy and rolling over in the night was terrible. Probably the worst beds we have slept in. The bathroom not the cleanest in the world but the main problem was when you had a shower it was that powerful that it soaked the toilet and all the floor despite the shower shield being used. I know that this room was the only one left but you do need to maintain standards. It just needs a refurbish and new mattresses. The breakfast and staff were fine. If all the rooms were a good standard we would stay again but would not want to risk it in the near future.

Reviewed by
Sue C

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a relaxing break
We were very impressed with the roundabout hotel. All the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We would recommend it to anyone and will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
D Pearce

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunday overnight stay
Very convienient place to stay for shopping in Portsmouth but room was very tired looking with both bedside lampshades broken! Not an expensive item to replace and would make all the difference.

Reviewed by
W Eustace

From Weymouth, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean tidy what more could you want

Reviewed by
john baker

From Cheltenham, England
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel
My father and I where on a motorcycle trip when his bike had problems. We where forced to cut the trip short and find a place to stay. The Roundabout Hotel is charming clean place and as we got the last room available we ended up in the family room. The room was a bit tight given it had doubled and a single bed in it, but we found it more then comfortable and a nice size on-suite. I would recommend this hotel as it is well priced near the main junction for the A27 and walking distance to the center of town.

Reviewed by
B Michell

From Cambridge, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next