34 36, Sussex Gardens, London, W2 1UL

Price From 187.65 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (151)

56% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Adam Burbridge

  • November 2015

Very disappointing - better red than dead

Claustrophobic room.

White linen sheets were clean, however grey "army barrack-esque" throw was manky. Red throws on top were dirty. Stains on all the decorative pillows on bed. Bathroom cramped. Bathroom mirror light didn't work. Shower head disgustingly dirty. Spray was poor, and wasn't very accurate. Spray all over. Water booster in the shower was extremely noisy. I don't think it's possible to express in words how noisy. Continental breakfast consisted of two boxes of cornflakes, 2 cartons of foreign milk, warm orange juice cartons and 2 blueberry muffins. All left by the door. We requested breakfast for 8, and it seemed like everyone else did as the staircase and passageway was littered with trays. No idea how long they had been there. One bright note was no sign of the bed bugs I'd seen reports about.

  • S Pillai

  • November 2015

Interesting hotel...ideal location..worth the price!

Very interesting hotel---not your average bland hotel.

Great a good offer on the price-----so cant complain. Great location if you like Lebanese food. Lots of decoration in room---some not so clean. Pre fab bathrooms---suits the purpose---but the only draw back was water overflowing from shower into toilet area--not able to be fixed despite my saying probs as I was the only user and they did clean it thoroughly for me to use the next day....but it would have been a problem if there was someone else to use the shower after me. Overall a decent experience.

  • Craig A

  • October 2015

Small & quirky

The Pavillion isn't like most London hotels - the rooms are small, quirky and all a bit off-the-wall in terms of styling.

That's reflected in the price and I'd struggle to argue you'd find reasonable accommodation in Central London for less. Accept that its not the norm and that's why you're paying less.

  • Holly Coulson

  • September 2015

Great Place to Stay

I looked up this hotel before coming so I already knew it was going to be oldie worldie type place, with no elevator.

However I think that just added to it and it was a cool different place to stay. Walking into reception was cool and there were lots of things to look at, a lot of effort had been put into the decor of this hotel. Each room has a different name with a different theme; again adding to the excitement of this. We stayed in the flower power room and it was so cute and I loved all the quirky touches. The staff were very pleasant and very helpful. I would definitely be staying at this hotel again. Although it's not that luxurious it is very good value for money in terms of where it is and the quirkiness of it, everywhere was also clean, which is a bonus!

  • George P

  • September 2015

Wonderfully quirky

This is the sort of hotel we like...unusual, idiosyncratic yet with all the expected hotel standards.

If I can make one (and the only criticism) it is that I'd have liked the sheets and covers to be wider, for tucking in....but this is probably a personal matter. The decoration was an international journey in style, taste, adventure, and both allusion and illusion. The staff were so helpful and informative, the rate excellent value for a central hotel. It was pleasure staying, and we shall be coming back.

  • N Proffitt

  • August 2015

You get what you pay for, however security an issue!

Booked this room for a weekend away.

Location is good being a ten minute walk from Paddington Station. It was booked as it was cheap for such a central location (£60 per night on a weekend), and I guess you get what you pay for. My main problem is with the level of security for your room. You are asked to leave your key at reception, which I have no problem with, however they are then displayed on a peg board with the room name clearly labelled which anyone entering reception can access. This would have been fine if there was always someone in reception, however twice it was empty and on one occasion the receptionist was no where to be seen. There was also a grid showing which rooms were being used, easy pickings for an opportunist thief!. Yes there was CCTV however it was very basic and not good quality. The room was a little strange, however I was expecting something unusual so can't really criticize, however it was small. The bathroom was tiny and acted as a wet room. As my room was at the top of the hotel a water pressure booster was installed, however for the first couple of minutes it took to warm up this sounded like an aircraft taking off. The shower also was at a slightly strange angle and virtually impossible to stand fully under. Breakfast was left on a tray outside your room and consisted of a bowl of cereal, a muffin, a croissant and a glass of orange juice, adequate however eating in a small fairly dark bedroom was not overly pleasant. Overall the room was adequate, however it is marked down due to security issues!

  • D Hutton

  • August 2015

London break

  • Simon P

  • July 2015

Sort of OK.

An OK place to sleep at a reasonable cost.

The very small rooms are individually themed and mine was dark and heavy with red brocade and cushions. Sounded sort of interesting on the website, but on reflection, not my thing. The bathroom was clean but some kind of v small prefabricated plastic unit. The breakfast, left outside your door, was not great. But the room was clean and at least the window opened.

  • w hussain

  • July 2015

Horrible need's alot of improvement!!! Not worth 3*

We stayed here for 1night payed for a double room but received a single room hardly any space to move around but that was nothing compared to the horrible stench through out the hotel it absolutely wreaked to the point I had headache and felt sick and my husband was actually sick through the night..!!.

We stayed in the Indian summer room bed was creakey and mattress was horrible springs poking through the most uncomfortable night I could even imagine..I've stayed in BB's in Blackpool better then this hotel!!!

  • Tim H

  • July 2015

An interesting experience!

This is probably the wackiest hotel I have ever stayed in.

All rooms have their own themes which does make it interesting. There was not much room in the bedroom area and to have breakfast meant perching your tray on your knee whilst sitting on the bed. It consisted of a cereal, a croissant and a bun. There was no cup for drinking in the room although there was a kettle with not enough cable to reach the socket. It would not be suitable for any other than a couple of nights.