No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 Market Place, Brewood, , Stafford, ST19 9BS
The Lion Hotel boasts 11 delightful en suite bedrooms (2 King, 6 Double, 3 Twin), Twin beds can be put together to make a king size bed with prior notice, all rooms have Wi-Fi internet connection and FreeView television. Located eight miles north of Wolverhampton city centre & eleven miles south of the county town of Stafford the centrality of the Lion hotel allows us to be the perfectly place for all your needs. We are surrounded by rural countryside, rivers & canals yet only minutes away from the major motorway networks of the M6 & M54. Within the tranquil village of Brewood, this 18th-century, Grade II listed hotel provides sleek and light room with LCD TVs. It serves local Staffordshire cuisine in its fine dining restaurant, and is 8 miles from Wolverhampton. Bright and fresh, every room at The Lion enjoys original features such as wooden ceiling beams. Free Wi-Fi is available, and each room has a modern private bathroom. Full English breakfasts are served every day, and The Lion’s restaurant provides a range of seasonal, fresh dishes. Guests can relax at the well stocked bar featuring local ales, with its spacious terrace. Free parking is available 100yds along Stafford street. The market town of Stafford is 10 miles away from the hotel. The village is surrounded by scenic countryside, and the M6 motorway is only a 10-minute drive away. The Lion Hotel Brewood creates a warm, inviting ambience with its décor. Period touches have been kept, such as the exposed wooden beams and fireplaces, and have been combined with chic design, including a stunning dining room complete with chandeliers, and plush leather seating. The beautiful courtyard is a perfect al fresco setting.
Picture of The Lion Hotel, Stafford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with good room. Good evening food and service. Breakfast on Saturday starts at 8.30 which is late if you are doing something sporting and service poor with tables and buffet not fully laid at 8.30 - buffet still being laid when we left; long wait to order hot food and didnt have time to finish in 45 mins

Reviewed by
S Bradbury

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Very comfortable room above the bar. Good quality of fixtures and fittings and a great shower! Very popular with locals and dinner was very good. Great Breakfast. Definitely will stay again when in the area. Also good location for a weekend break when not working.

Reviewed by
Trevor B

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
The Lion is in a very pleasant village (Brewood) with a few great pubs to go with it, so a wander in the evening is a pleasant English small market-twon experience. The hotel itself has been updated in a very tasteful and modern manner. I've stayed here twice now and will use this again and again ... Beats staying in wolverhampton (where I visit through work).

Reviewed by
Neil Wain

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute romantic eve
I have stayed here before, so had an idea of the hotel.
The service at in the restaurant was a bit hit and miss, but the rest was great.

Reviewed by
Sanjay S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Weekend Overnight Stay
We chose the Lion Hotel as a last minute booking as we had traveled upto Telford from Maidstone in Kent for our annual Utility Warehouse conference on the Saturday. We booked the hotel a week before. It is a very friendly & welcoming hotel with lovely staff & rooms. The food was great & we had the best nights sleep in a hotel we have had in a while. Room was not to hot when we arrived unlike some hotels were the room has been so hot you can't sleep. Bedroom could do with a bit of Maintanance but nothing major. Would defenertly stay here again & recommend to friends & family.

Reviewed by
Alex Dawes

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice

Reviewed by
Seamus G

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have stayed at this hotel many times and always been very satisfied but this time there was a major problem with the showers. The shower the first morning was absolutely scalding, it was not possible to stand under it and it could not be regulated. The 'switch' on the shower could not be moved initially, and then it just went round and round. We complained and were offered another room, we checked that shower and it was cold!! It did get to tepid but again a problem with the regulator. We were then offered another room which we took as it seemed the shower was a reasonable temperature. However the following morning after about 30 seconds the water became scalding and again could not be regulated. We gave up and left a day early! The staff throughout this saga were excellent and very helpful. I have also written to the hotel and complained but to date have not had an answer. It would seem that all is required is some maintenance to replace the regulator valves, I hope it is done before someone is badly burned!

Reviewed by
Gillian V

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value; recommended
Friendly staff and a comfortable stay with an excellent breakfast. Unfortunately I couldn't stay for an evening meal but will certainly try to next time. This hotel is on my wish list to revisit when I am next in the area

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Wotton Under Edge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Toilet seat held by only one fastening. Window facing onto outside seating and needs double glazing. Excessive noise from extractor fan. Food, service and staff were excellent.

Reviewed by
William C

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoy the food but don't stay the night!
We had requested a quiet room but realised as soon as we arrived that the traffice noise would be a problem. We immediately asked if anything could be done, but were told that the hotel was fully booked so no alternative room was available. We were very disappointed that the hotel had ignored our request. Our evening meal was delicious and very good value. The traffic noise stopped some time after midnight but started up again at about 5.30 am. Having had very little sleep we arrived in the the breakfast room at 9am the following morning and found it virtually deserted. There was no sign of the fresh fruit salad or the bread promised on the menu and I had to go in search of staff to be served at all. However, the breakfast, when it arrived was of good quality.

Reviewed by
A Matthews

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next