No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Riverside Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Fore Street, Bovey Tracy, , Newton Abbot, TQ13 9AF
SPECIAL WINTER RATES CHECK THEM OUT! £35 A SINGLE & £55 A DOUBLE ROOM. The Riverside Hotel sits on the banks of the river Bovey. Once a working mill, (the river actually runs through the middle of the hotel), the building still retains many of the its original features, including an open fire which is marked with the date 1642. The Riverside boasts both a large car park and beer garden and welcomes coach parties to sample our £4.50 all day carvery. We offer ten ensuite bedrooms, all are centrally heated, double glazed, have flat screen tv's and tea /coffee making facilities. Some are double rooms, others twins and there are two family rooms which can sleep up to 5 people. Although all can be let for single occupancy. The riverside offers you a warm and friendly atmosphere with courteous and efficient staff. Breakfast is not included in our room rates but for £5.00 extra you can obtain a full english breakfast, orange juice, tea and coffee and is served in the Riverside's restaurant. Children are welcome at the Riverside, we also have a very large car park at the side of the hotel.
Picture of The Riverside Inn, Newton Abbot at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, affordable, and convenient location.
We booked this Inn for a 2 night stay approximately 18 hours before checking in, and got a twin at a reduced rate of 50 pounds. Travelling by buses only, the Inn was in a convenient location for us, with a bus stop right across the street.
The room was clean and comfortable, and quiet even though it overlooked the main road through town. (it's a small town). We ate 1 meal in the restaurant, at their carvery. We considered it sustenance only and nothing to rave about, but that may have been because it was towards the end of the evening and the items weren't as fresh, and were overcooked. At the price of 4.50 pounds pp for the meal though, it's hard to complain.
Staff members were frequently hard to find and nothing to rave about, but nothing about them actually warrants a negative review either.
Overall, I'd stay there again. At 50 pounds per night for a twin, it was worth it. Not sure I'd have been quite as happy at the regular price of 65......but I was satisfied.

Reviewed by
Brad H

From Canada
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Lovely local pub & friendly atmosphere. Competent staff. Found room cold when arrived but the heating was put on straight away once we'd told them. Great value food in pub & breakfast for extra £5pp was good. Great local taxi service too :-)

Reviewed by
Emma F

From Tiverton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Riverside Inn not suitable for families
The room walls were soaking wet with damp. The radiator didn't work. There was no radiator in the bathroom. The bathroom floor had ground in dirt. No privacy blind in bathroom, no soap.There were no double glazed Windows. The room was an annex and accessed by slippery fire escape steps to and from the first floor onto a busy main round with no footpath. The room had lipstick on the mirror. Breakfast was like eating rubber there was no brown bread It looked cheap. There are better hotels up the road in Bovey Tracey.

Reviewed by
Robert W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit dated, rough around edges but very clean and friendly staff
Cold tap not working in my room, carpet in bathroom which I thought was odd, but overall very clean, staff were friendly, big room with nice tv. Pretty much what I expected for the money.

Reviewed by
NICHOLA W

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at Riverside Inn, Bovey Tracey
I wanted to find a place to stay near Dartmoor and the Riverside Inn looked ideal. And it was.
After a long walk I found plenty of places to rest awhile before ordering my vegetarian meal.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The bedroom was clean, spacious and nicely decorated and I had the best nights sleeps' in ages.
I'd most certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
J Walder

From Ryde, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pub and b&b.

Reviewed by
Chris M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Went for a weekend away to visit my sister and found this pub. My partner and i were very pleased with the room; it was clean and tidy although not quite tgw same as the picture on the website was, it was still a very plesant stay and tge staff were all very helpful.

Reviewed by
E Chambers

From Rugeley, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and nice accommodation
The accommodation was very nice and clean, the location was really good too.

Reviewed by
Matthew P

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing stay!!
I travelled to Bovey Tracy with one of my friends to have a long weekend and visit a friend that lives there from university. The staff at the Riverside Inn were absolutely amazing always so helpfull and friendly nothing we asked them to do or help with was ever too much. The room was exactly what we needed and when we arrived it was clean and very appealing. The location of the hotel was perfect, close to the bus stops, pubs, supermarkets etc. and not too far from the bigger towns like Newton Abbot and Torquay therefore taxis weren't too expensive for nights out. Overall the stay was perfect and I know that me and my friend will be returning very soon. Thank you to all the staff at the Riverside Inn that made our stay extra special :)

Reviewed by
Lesley Parker

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Usfull location just off the A 38
This was a pleasent stop and the facilities were clean and the bed comfy, liked the small bottle of water and other freebies in the room.

Reviewed by
L Flower

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next