No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Riverside Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Fore Street, Bovey Tracy, , Newton Abbot, TQ13 9AF
SPECIAL WINTER RATES CHECK THEM OUT! £35 A SINGLE & £55 A DOUBLE ROOM. The Riverside Hotel sits on the banks of the river Bovey. Once a working mill, (the river actually runs through the middle of the hotel), the building still retains many of the its original features, including an open fire which is marked with the date 1642. The Riverside boasts both a large car park and beer garden and welcomes coach parties to sample our £4.50 all day carvery. We offer ten ensuite bedrooms, all are centrally heated, double glazed, have flat screen tv's and tea /coffee making facilities. Some are double rooms, others twins and there are two family rooms which can sleep up to 5 people. Although all can be let for single occupancy. The riverside offers you a warm and friendly atmosphere with courteous and efficient staff. Breakfast is not included in our room rates but for £5.00 extra you can obtain a full english breakfast, orange juice, tea and coffee and is served in the Riverside's restaurant. Children are welcome at the Riverside, we also have a very large car park at the side of the hotel.
Picture of The Riverside Inn, Newton Abbot at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
The accommodation was very dated and in need of TLC. Toilet roll holder gave us a laugh as it fell off the wall every time we used it. There was also a single glass and half bottle of water put out for us to use which was a bit weird. Saying that, the room was clean and the staff very friendly so we got what we paid for a cheap overnight stay!

Reviewed by
Anne H

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No heating or customer service
Arrived early evening to a freezing cold room - As the windows in both rooms had been left open all day on saturday prior to our arrival. Went out for dinner as bar area & restaurant lookef dingy.
came back 10pm to a freezing cold rstill and no heating whatsoever.
Let the staff know after trying to turn the radiators on to be informrd they msy have a plug in electric heater somewhere. Never heard from them again and slept in our clothes with the TV on to drown out the othet guests television noise.
Disgusted with service - No shampoo or shower gel & shower dribbled tiny amount of water....!
Didn't get charged for the room - Checked out a day early - t& fed up to go anywhere warm & cosy.
Late rooms do not send anymore unsuspecting guests there Again...!!!

Reviewed by
Frederick Woodley

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night for One
Exactly what I needed for a quick stopover Easter Saturday; easy to find, good room easy access and exit 6.30 a.m. no problem. And early arrival likewise no problem, busy pub and landlord anxious to please. Shower a little pathetic but got wet so ok. All spotlessly clean.
Very grateful for hassle-free in-out.

Reviewed by
A George P

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wrong choice for a quiet night
I wanted a getaway from everything and thought Bovey Tracey, being a quiet town, would be suitable so I booked the Riverside Inn.
Unfortuntaley at night every time a car went past their headlights shone into the rooms' bathroom which had no blind and because there was glass pannelling above the bathroom door it meant the room lit up every time too. The floorboards creaked when someone walked to their room so I was awakened early too.
The shower just didnt work properly and the hot water trickled out and if the tap was turned on further it stopped.
Bed was comfy and room was spacious.

Reviewed by
David S

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money
The Riverside Inn is a local pub built over a river (originally a mill). It has the air of a country pub, lots of locals, slightly scruffy, homely air. I found the staff all very helpful and pleasant, and the room was clean, well furnished and quiet. The food was good and I would especially recommend the ice cream dessert. We enjoyed it a great deal.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely part of Devon
Was a little apprehensive after reading reviews left by others. However was pleasantly surprised. Inn was good. Room was very basic although clean & tidy with fresh towels & drinks making facilities replenished daily. Food was good although the 2 for 1 deals were not really a bargain as twice the price of most places for the initial meal in the first place. Breakfast was very good value though. Only complaint was that breakfast was served between 8 & 9 but apart from the first morning of our stay, we sat between 15 -30 minutes every morning before we saw any member of staff making it 9-9.30 before we were leaving to go out for day. On the whole though, we did enjoy our stay, will stay again & would recommend to anyone looking for a reasonably priced , no frills stay in a lovely part of Devon. Ideally situated within reach of the moors & most places of interest.

Reviewed by
Jessie L

From Wetheringsett,Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a great time at the Riverside. This was our second visit. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was very good.

Reviewed by
S York

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly quiet accommodation.Warm welcome on arrival and room cleaned daily Very pleasent stay

Reviewed by
L Arnold

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
The room was basic and generally clean but the toilet smelled of urine due, I think, to the unclean toilet brush and holder. I would say that the accommodation was functional without any frills.

Reviewed by
Martin P

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small clean room
The room was modern and very clean with a flat screen tv and plenty of hot drink facilities. My only slight criticism would be for that cost in December surely breakfast could have been included? But was a lovely stop so wouldn't complain about that really.

Reviewed by
Rebecca H

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next