No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Y Castell

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
89, High Street , Pwllheli, LL53 5RR
Pwllheli is the unofficial capital town of the Llyn Peninsula on the north west corner of Wales.

From the Snowdonia National Park to the many stunning sandy beaches, the Peninsula has something for everyone and The Castle is the ideal base to explore the region.

Abersoch is just to the west of Pwlhelli with international recognised sailing and miles of sandy beaches. The waters are perfect for wake boarding, surfing and water skiing.

Porthdinllaen is well worth a visit with the walk across the bay to the Ty Coch Inn. The golf course at Nefyn is not for the fainthearted - but the views (and the challenge) are well worth it!

The town of Pwllheli has twice weekly markets, an award winning marina, two beaches and an array of small individual shops.

Here at the Castle Pwllheli, we can offer a variety of accommodation - our en-suite rooms start at £55 per room per night - so have a look to see which style suits you best!

If you are looking for some great accommodation in Pwllheli, you can be sure of high standards and a warm welcome from the team at Y Castell!
Picture of Y Castell, Pwllheli at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
45% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, clean and fuss free
Great little room - was a bit worries when we turned up to a busy pub night but in the room you couldn't hear the music and it was clean and comfortable. Could have done with a mini shampoo bottle but the shower was hot. Cheers Y Castell

Reviewed by
Adam A

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thought the landlord was really helpful & extremely friendly, made our stay even more enjoyable

Reviewed by
Jacqui Rivers

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loud and no real warning.
We stayed here as yes it was one of the few places still available at the time but never again! We understood it was above a pub and prepared ourselves accordingly but we were only told there would be rock bands playing till the wee hours of the morning till a few hours before our arrival. If we would have known we wouldn't have come anywhere near it! Came to checking out the next day at 11am as suggested by laterooms.com but no one was home, so we had to unhappily try and leave the keys in a safe place before having to move on. Not too impressed, which I hate to say as the staff seemed quite friendly.

Reviewed by
Camille H

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A shoe box on the street would have been better
Room was 7ft 5in by 7ft 5 inches and I booked the double on-suite, There was no coat hook to hang clothes because there was no room for one.
There were no towels and when we asked for towels we were given heavily stained towels (pictures were taken and will be posted on here when I learn how to do it.
The young man behind the bar was very pleasant although it may have been embarrassment.
I was very grateful to the people who left the new Porsche outside because the local yobs laid all over that and left my car alone.
I could fully understand the beer bottle lids under the bed as there was no space for a waste bin.
The shower was broken but we did manage to get some hot water.
We arrived very late at night and so finding other accommodation was not an option or we would have left.
Did not take cards had to pay cash and this was requested before the room.
Really don,t need to go on but could if required

.

Reviewed by
i lumley

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic!
Stayed here on a Saturday evening and downstairs was very loud! Didn't realise that the accommodation was above a bar! We were 2 floors above and could hear music booming till 1am!

Reviewed by
Emma D

From Buckley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On top of a pub, so a bit noisy, but lovely accommodation!

Reviewed by
Emma G

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value but a surprise as well
Very simple accommodation for someone used to cheaper accommodation. Friendly staff and comfortable bed. Room small but en-suite perfectly adequate.

Reviewed by
Peter D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and laid back
Very clean bedrooms and great quality bathrooms. The staff were very friendly and the location was perfect.

Reviewed by
Rebecca Brown

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
3 of us stayed in a room with bunk beds. Very basic,which was all we needed as we were using it as a base. The hotel is actually a pub, which was very lively til the early hours in the morning so not advisable for anyone wanting an early night.
We were asked for extra money as there was an apparent misunderstanding between the laterooms site and the hotel. Laterooms said it was £20 a night for the room and the owner said it was £20 per person

Reviewed by
David E

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

VERY SMALL ROOMS this is really a travel hostel that has upgraded two rooms to double en suite rooms
We were two couples traveling together requiring one nights stay out of season.
The rooms, on the top floor, were warm, clean and the beds comfortable. In our room there was a shabby cupboard for I presume a ruck sack with a hasp for a padlock ,which (I think) needs to be replaced with a single wardrobe. The other double room with en suite was very small. Basically, a double bed with walls round it. Both rooms en suites - albeit small had good water pressure thermostatic showers. The towels provided were poor and we had to ask for more.
No food, or tea coffee facilities in the rooms (rooms too small), but a communal kitchen was downstairs. Both rooms had flat screen TV, and a really lovely lad saw us in.
The room descriptions as "double" are economical with the truth, really only one room could be described as a small double. As for the other "double" room I've seem caravans with more bedroom space. However, we haven't laughed so much in months. - location is good in the middle of town. Food for thought - If the rooms were in Hong Kong they would be classed as extra large

Reviewed by
Susan Jenkins

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next