No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hills Farm

3Self Classified Self Catering Ratings explained
HILLS FARM, WHITFORD ROAD , AXMINSTER, EX13 7NS
The beautifully converted stone barns are in an area of outstanding natural beauty, nestled high on the hill within 100 acres and overlooking the picturesque Axe Valley with views of the Jurassic Coastline and surrounding countryside.

The three converted barns retain their rustic charm, whilst providing comfortable and clean accommodation at sensible prices. Each one has been individually designed and furnished with en-suite shower rooms and kitchenette that contains fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, crockery & cutlery. We provide bed linen and towels in all barns. We welcome behaved pets, we charge £20.00 for dogs
Picture of Hills Farm, AXMINSTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
accommodation clean but small things like position of tv and quality of some fittings a let down.i was under the impression that spa facilities were available but that was not the case

Reviewed by
VALERIE W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to escape to
We have stayed here before & couldn't wait to come back, it has everything we needed & is only a short cra journey from Seaton, I love staying here!

Reviewed by
Aron G

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rustic retreat, great location
We stayed in one of the rustic rooms for a wedding we were attending for the weekend. The room is well appointed, nice bed with plenty of room, great kitchenette, and a clean modern bathroom. Parking was a little tricky but that might be because of the renos. Highly recommend staying here for lovely views and great service.

Reviewed by
A Phinney

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hill farm
The bed was extremely comfortable but it felt like a converted cow shed. Bathroom was fine but the catering facilities were basic in the extreme. We just used the kitchen to make a drink. Fine for one night but I wouldn't want to stay any longer. Left early morning just as the builders were about to start work across the yard.

Reviewed by
G Cable

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We Chose The Wrong Time To Stay
The room my daughter and I stayed in was a beautiful barn conversion with a door that was an original very old feature which didn't fit the new door frame at all, in fact, it was possible to fit my hand between the door and the frame. Unfortunately one of the nights we stayed there was a really high wind and it moaned through the door all night. Hills Farm is in the process of expanding and construction work started at 7.30 am just opposite our room. I am sure that once all the work is completed this will be a lovely relaxing place to stay, however, we chose the wrong time for our visit.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for your review: Just to clarify the orginal door is hung in the original frame. I will ask my maintenance man to check the door but we have just installed draught proofing to the exterior of the door. We did have exceptionally high winds and if this is having an effect we will get this resolved. The builders are not permitted to start work until after 9am, and the works are further up the farm from the rustic rooms. Any noise early morning may have been from the onsite equestrian centre. We apologise if they disturbed you.

Reviewed by
Lynda S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An amazing stay
I really enjoyed my stay at hills farm, it was better than I expected and I cant wait to book again!

Reviewed by
A Griffiths

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location, disappointing accommodation and service
Booked this after looking for a nice self-catering place for my wife and I and our little 6-month old boy. Location is stunning, set in the rolling hills near Axminster, just a short drive from Lyme Regis and Honiton. When we arrived, the accommodation is basically on a farm, and is what looks like recently converted farm buildings. The room was fine, with a small bathroom and kitchenette. However, there was nothing to make it feel particularly comfortable - no pictures on the wall, very basic furniture. There was also no toilet paper, no tea towels and the cutlery was dirty. The TV remote didn't work either. When I went to explain these issues, staff their were friendly enough, but seemed more interested in finding out who didn't clean our room than our experience - not even an apology. The first night, we noticed slugs on the door mat (inside the room) - they had come under a large gap in the bottom of the door (which looked like the original farm door). Creepies-crawlies are to be expected (we also had spiders and cockroaches), but I didn't really want slugs in the room so I picked them up and put them outside. The 3rd morning we awoke to find slug trails all over the room - over our clothes, over our son's clothes, in our luggage. We spent about 2 hours cleaning everything and making sure there were no slugs in our possessions. When I told staff, again there was no apology - just something about 'we need to get that door fixed'. As I say, location is lovely, but the accommodation is probably not as nice as camping in a field. The impression I get is that the business is really farmers trying their hand at holiday lets, and they don't really know how to do it. Disappointing.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review. The accommodation is basic as advertised, in the room is a large king size bed with modern conveniences. The lack of toilet paper was a fault by our cleaner we did apologise and bring some over immediately. The accommodation is self catering so we have no requirement to supply a tea towel, we do however supply these for guests convenience, the cleaner again forgot this item! I need to determine who cleaned the room so I can show that particular person what happens when her job is not done correctly ie your review. The TV remote does work, the batteries were replaced when you came into the office, unfortunately the guest before you did not highlight this issue therefore we were not aware of the battery issue. I was not aware of slug gate if I was I could have moved you to another room. I think 2 hours to clean is a slight exaggeration. If you would like to review our other property Cranberries Luxury Hideaway you would realise that we are not simple farmers having a go at holiday lets. If you book budget accommodation you will be provided with budget accommodation.

Reviewed by
Daniel W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sharing the smells and the sounds
Very good except would be better if the shower room had an inner ceiling and was ventilated (ie a extractor fan). As the accommodation had very high ceilings and the shower room was only partitioned off from the main room by plaster board without its own lower ceiling, nothing was very private in the loo. You shared the smells and sounds with your partner. Thst's good, as long as you are that close and in love that you don't mind.

Reviewed by
R Collins

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

HILLS FARM IS A LOVELY PLACE TO STAY!
My daughter (age 15) and I stayed at Hills Farm for 3 nights. It was very good value for money considering it was in the busy season in August. It has the most beautiful view down through the Axe Valley right the way to Seaton. The Farm is very pretty, clean and tidy. We stayed in one of the small barn conversions, with a shower room and a small kitchen area. There was no cooker, but a small microwave.There are plenty of pubs to eat at nearby. It was all we needed for our stay. Lots of character. The farm is in a good situation for visiting places such as Charmouth, Lyme Regis, Seaton etc. The Tram service from Colyton ( only 2.5 miles away) to Seaton was a lovely day out too. We enjoyed our stay and so did the dog too! A lovely holiday! :)

Reviewed by
Hayley B

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

HILLS FARM
A great 2 night break. This accommodation is in the middle of countryside and quiet. A peaceful place but it is also a very busy one at times due to the various services the farm complex provides such as weddings, school leavers balls etc. It also has a livery, Good pubs nearby but you do need your own transport. Seaton and Beer are close by. (10 minute or so drive.) Very welcoming staff although you do have to phone them if the reception area is unmanned. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
P Joyce

From Somerton, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next