Reviews - Hotel California



Price From 211 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (58)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Korey Gallagher

  • November 2015

Room Review

The quality of the room was very good and was more than comfortable for our two night stay.

However, one morning the shower wouldn't get warm, even after running for around 15 minutes. Reported this issue, and when we went to shower in the evening it was fine. Another issue was due to our room being on the bottom floor next to the canteen, we found ourselves being awoken by people passing by our room, which wasn't appreciated at 6am. Would be willing to stop again, if placed in a room on a different floor.

  • Andre Adeleke

  • October 2015

Review on Hotel California in Kings Cross

Receptionist was very helpful when I called in to confirm my booking and to allow my gf to check in if she arrived before me because I was the person being billed.

However, the receptionist and I did have a disagreement at check-out; On the itinerary it said, 'be out of your room by 11am, if over an hour then you are charged £20 which will be added to your bill.' My gf and I were out the room at 11:30 which I understand was late but not over an hour, the receptionist tried to charge me regardless but after five minutes of disputing the charge was dropped. It was just annoying to leave on such a sad note.

The water pressure/power and temperature of the shower were low, which was unsatisfactory. Would I come here again. I did enjoy my stay but maybe it was the company I had with me. We just wanted a decent three star, with a bit of character, in a central location and to be fair it ticked all those boxes; But, we've ticked all those boxes in previous hotels and have had better experience.

I would come here again if the price was 10-15% cheaper

  • Lucy B

  • September 2015

Great hotel, great location

Perfect location for getting about town.

The room was clean, nicely decorated and a good size, we booked a large double. Great bathroom. Breakfast was included and was very nice, the staff were friendly and helpful. Would

Def stay again

  • Alma S

  • July 2015

The elephants ABOVE the room!

Lovely stylish room, very comfortable - once we'd found it in the basement maze.

Woken at 00.30am by incomers in room above - all wood floors meant every sound is audible. They got up around 6.30 and left around 7.15. Daughter and I had arrived very tired after 13 hour train journey from Interlaken, and were really looking forward to a lie-in after a good night's sleep.

Staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast adequate - eggs hard, bacon salty, rest ordinary. Would stay again as it's so convenient for Eurostar, easy booking and felt welcome, but would warn friends of possible noise problem. I'm old enough to like my room carpeted!

  • j dixon

  • May 2015


Great welcome good location

  • Andrew W

  • April 2015

Hotel California

Superb location opposite Kings Cross.

Grabbed a bargain on Late Rooms. Full price is a little steep but you are paying for the location. Room on the small side but not unusual for London. Staff very friendly. Decent place to stay. Breakfast was a let down, I'd skip it in future.

  • PHIL C

  • April 2015

Enjoyed stay at this hotel, a very good location to major rail stations and close to bus route into West End, room clean and bed comfy, could not hear traffic I would use this hotel again.

  • Scott Duncan

  • March 2015

So convenient

So convenient for Eurostar travellers.

  • Karen D

  • March 2015

Quirky London Hotel

The California is beautifully presented with quirky decor throughout.

The room, although not huge, was very well laid out & offered everything you need for a night or two. We would definitely stay here again. £130 per night seems a lot but I compared lots of London hotels & price wise it is competitive.

  • J Hartley

  • March 2015

Convenient location for Eurostar

We chose the Hotel California because of the location near St Pancras International.

It is very close. The room was a little small, especially with our luggage for a week's skiing rather than just a night away. The hotel is quite a warren and we were along a corridor and down stairs (no lifts). However, it was clean, comfortable, pretty reasonable and the public areas were attractively, if quirkily, decorated.