No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel California

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
4-8 BELGROVE STREET , LONDON, WC1H 8AB
We have now completed our refurbishment at The California London. We are excited to welcome you into our home.
Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of London’s busy streets, we are simply a stone’s throw away from Kings Cross St. & Pancras Station underground, main line & international stations, making us your ideal location to explore the capital city of London.
Our 60 cosy & colourful bedrooms, range from charming single accommodation to well-appointed family rooms accommodating up to 6 people. The California London is ideal for all travellers, young & old, singles, couples & families. All of our beautifully appointed rooms are equipped with a private ensuite bathroom.
Our friendly staff truly bring the magic alive during your visit to The California. They will be delighted to tell you all about the history of buildings and discuss the stylish art deco nodes throughout the former Georgian terrace residences. Our Reception team are available to you 24 hours a day.
As part of the The California London offerings, breakfast is included in all of our rates. To top it off, our Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel including your room.
After an exciting day out shopping or exploring London, we invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy our lounge & terrace. Why not treat yourself to a coffee, tea or a soft drink from our bar?
The California is an amazing place to stay for your weekend getaway, theatre break or even extended family holiday. Even if you did nothing but explore the Kings Cross St. & Pancras areas, checked out the local historical sites, the Eurostar platform with its chic shops, wine and champagne bars and more, you'll return home content and happy after a unique London holiday experience.
Picture of Hotel California, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 111 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
nice room breakfast could have been better, food hotter

Reviewed by
J Capel

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would book again
Perfect place to stay so close to station/underground, very friendly helpful staff. Only negative comment - it was very warm in the room, no air con.

Reviewed by
H South

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay close to St. Pancras
We chose this hotel for two reasons, 1 it was very close to St. Pancras & we had a very early start the next day & 2 it had a 3 bed room which we wanted.
The room was very clean & modern, however, it was rather small, but as we were staying 1 night it didn't matter too much.

Reviewed by
Michelle W

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean Comfortable and Convenient Location
We were a party of 4 adults sharing a room for a one night stay in London. Our room was a basement room which was quiet, clean and comfortable and thankfully had air conditioning as it was particularly hot during our stay. Hooks on wall to hang clothes which was fine considering the length of our stay but could have proved problematic if we had been staying longer. Good choice for breakfast: fruit (tinned) and yoghurt; fruit juice; cereals, toast, sausage, eggs. bacon and beans. This hotel has a lovely lounge area but we did not use it as we were out most of our stay. Delighted to find that they had a luggage room free of charge which saved us having to drag our luggage around with us the next day. The hotel was very conveniently located with close proximity to Kings Cross station. Overall an enjoyable stay and would return.

Reviewed by
PHILIP N

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value hotel
Booked hotel for an overnight stay. Room bright and clean. Good English breakfast. Good value. Within short walking distance of Kings Cross/St Pancrass. Great location to reach West End and other attractions. Definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Glynis V

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel California
Practical, friendly staff spotlessly clean, however noise from out side was a frustration.

Reviewed by
Tawfeeq A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice place to stay! Would stay again if in London
The hotel was lovely very quirky I loved that! Could have done with a little note about where breakfast was in the morning as had to go to desk to ask in the morning! Other than that lovely!! Very happy customer!

Reviewed by
JADE C

From Petworth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very handy
Perfectly placed. We had a day in London in between returning from France via Eurostar, and leaving the next day for Gatwick to fly back to Inverness. 2 minutes from St Pancras, and the Picadilly tube line. Room was a reasonable size, quiet and comfortable. En suite a bit of a squeeze but shower was fine. Nice, cheerful wallpaper and curtains with a vintage feel. Quite quirky and stylish overall. Food at breakfast was merely OK, but served in a nice room with efficient service.

Reviewed by
Alison S

From Elgin, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location
The room was a little small, but it had everything you needed and a price that was great. The staff were brilliant.

Reviewed by
David P

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Find
I thought this hotel was a refreshing break from the big hotel chains. A bit quirky and unusual, however it was a really pleasant place to stay. The staff were exceptional

Reviewed by
d wood

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next