No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel California

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
4-8 BELGROVE STREET, LONDON, WC1H 8AB
The California is a charming, modern bed and breakfast, less than a minute’s walk away from King’s Cross and St. Pancras stations.

Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we’ve retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original.

This means that we don’t have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day, include breakfast and high speed WiFi in all our rates and have just opened our new bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy.

Welcome to The California London. Visit any time, explore every time.
Picture of Hotel California, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 122 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, good customer service and nice room, but hard bed and noisy mornings
It's very well located, right by King's Cross/St Pancras mainline and tube stations. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and nicely decorated (assuming you're comfortable with a wall-full of Marilyn Monroe's watching you in bed). The bathroom also clean and well-fitted (although I'd prefer a detachable shower-head). However, whilst I like a firm bed. This one was rock hard and bits of me kept going numb during the night. Also, whilst the street noise was kept very low by the secondary glazing. The housekeeping staff were incredibly noisy from about 7:45 on the first morning, shouting to each other and banging things around. There's also a problem with the doors. In that they are very hard to close just by pulling from outside the room, as the latch bit of the rimlock doesn't retract properly against the strike-plate. The sensible (quiet) way to close the door it is to use the key to retract the latch, close the door and then let the latch move into place. Sadly the way most people seem to do it is to pull the door very hard, slamming it incredibly loudly. This seemed to happen about once every ten minutes from early morning onwards. Breakfast scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and beans was fine. The coffee was well above average.

Reviewed by
Jon W

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget Accommodation Close to St Pancras
Great place for a one night business stay. 100 yards from St Pancras Station. My room (classed as small double) was small! But clean and with TV, excellent free wifi and equally small bathroom.
Guys on reception were extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful. Asked for early breakfast @ 06:30 and although breakfast was advertised from 7am, we were pleasantly surprised that the cooked food was there ready for us in the breakfast room at 06:30!
Booked through LateRooms and very good value for the location.

Reviewed by
Helena R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, plenty of communal area ana a bar
Really nice hotel, friendly staff, small but adequate room. Good breakfast. Would stay again. Nice area and within walking distance of Covent Garden, approx 15 min.

Reviewed by
s llewelyn

From Bala, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay
Had a lovely stay and especially for the price I paid at Hotel California it was great value. Wifi was great which is an important point for business travellers. Overall great!!

Reviewed by
Matthew D

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel California
I didn't get the room that I had booked through late rooms, I booked a family room and got a twin, which was fine as it was just my daughter but believe you should get what you ask and pay for. We did have a room that was in the basement so you heard the tube late at night and early, but it is convenient and think if you were at ground or upper lever it would be great. The hotel was clean, as was my room and the staff were friendly and helpful and despite the things above I would stay again if it was an overnight stay.

Reviewed by
S Lane

From England
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight at the California Hotel Kings Cross
We used the hotel as an overnight stay having travelled from the north en-route to Europe by Eurostar. The hotel is straight across the road from Kings Cross/St Pancras stations and so is convenient as you don't have far to lug your luggage. We had a very early departure from St Pancras International the following morning and so missed breakfast but the staff at the hotel were very understanding and helpfu, offering us a morning coffee instead, before we left. More and more people are using this hotel for this purpose and I can see why: Most of the medium priced hotels in this area have very small rooms to maximise room availability. However the room in this case was slightly bigger than the average, it was also spotlessly clean and the en-suite facilities were excellent for this type of hotel. Kings Cross has, in the past been run-down and has had a slightly sleezy reputation. However we found that the area as a whole is steadily improving. Overall we found that this hotel, in our case was perfectly 'fit for purpose'. We would use this hotel again without hesitation.

Reviewed by
M Etherington

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very clean and welcoming
exceptional value for the standard of accommodation.

Reviewed by
helen k

From Lockerbie, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel with nice decor but absolutely tiny rooms!
I was warmly welcome by the desk clerk who explained everything I needed to me and was very friendly. They've really worked hard on the decoration of the hotel, which is a real plus for that kind of budget hotel. The place felt very comfy and clean too. However I have to admit I was really shocked when I opened the door of my room. I have never stayed in such a minute room. There was basically enough space for a single bed (surrounded by 3 walls). The room is approximately 5 meter square and I'm not exaggerating. The bathroom is as big as the bedroom. If you need to work you can only do so on the bed as there's no space for a little table. But all that said I slept very well (the uterus effect!). The staff is rally friendly, the breakfast was fine and the hotel is VERY well appointed close to the King's Cross tube stop which is super convenient for a quick stay. So all in all it was fine for one night. Thanks for everything.

Reviewed by
Muriel B

From Paris, France
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed
Hotel staff excellent - really helpful and friendly. Nice bar too. Room up 4 flights of stairs with no lift so problematic as I had heavy luggage. Room tiny - clean and modern but really cramped. No TV and no bath tub. Also happened to be on Euston Road side so incredibly noisy.

Reviewed by
Catherine T

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

California Hotel
Truly excellent value.

Reviewed by
David R

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next