No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel California

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
4-8 BELGROVE STREET, LONDON, WC1H 8AB
The California is a charming, modern bed and breakfast, less than a minute’s walk away from King’s Cross and St. Pancras stations.

Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we’ve retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original.

This means that we don’t have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day, include breakfast and high speed WiFi in all our rates and have just opened our new bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy.

Welcome to The California London. Visit any time, explore every time.
Picture of Hotel California, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 121 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very clean and welcoming
exceptional value for the standard of accommodation.

Reviewed by
helen k

From Lockerbie, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel with nice decor but absolutely tiny rooms!
I was warmly welcome by the desk clerk who explained everything I needed to me and was very friendly. They've really worked hard on the decoration of the hotel, which is a real plus for that kind of budget hotel. The place felt very comfy and clean too. However I have to admit I was really shocked when I opened the door of my room. I have never stayed in such a minute room. There was basically enough space for a single bed (surrounded by 3 walls). The room is approximately 5 meter square and I'm not exaggerating. The bathroom is as big as the bedroom. If you need to work you can only do so on the bed as there's no space for a little table. But all that said I slept very well (the uterus effect!). The staff is rally friendly, the breakfast was fine and the hotel is VERY well appointed close to the King's Cross tube stop which is super convenient for a quick stay. So all in all it was fine for one night. Thanks for everything.

Reviewed by
Muriel B

From Paris, France
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed
Hotel staff excellent - really helpful and friendly. Nice bar too. Room up 4 flights of stairs with no lift so problematic as I had heavy luggage. Room tiny - clean and modern but really cramped. No TV and no bath tub. Also happened to be on Euston Road side so incredibly noisy.

Reviewed by
Catherine T

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

California Hotel
Truly excellent value.

Reviewed by
David R

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Hotel, so close to Kingscross station.
We enjoyed our stay here very much we didn't need to be in the hotel that much but the time we did spend was enjoyable and comfortable. We where kindly greeted and we where early (check in 3)so not able to go in room but our case was taken to our room and we only had to wait 20 minutes so we enjoyed a drink in the bar/lounge area which is lovely. Our room was right at the top and with no lift in the hotel those less able would find it a struggle to climb the narrow stair case. The decor was quite 1940s with some lovely furniture with a modern twist, young and old would appreciate it. The Hotel couldn't have been in a more perfect place for us we where straight off the train at Kingscross and within a 5 minutes was at the hotel. Perfect and so easy to get everywhere. On our last day we put our case in the luggage cupboard and collected it late on. The breakfast was lovely and tasty with good service and good selection of hot and cold buffet and also had gluten free bread for me(but not sausage). (only one suggestion- a Mirror would be useful in the room to use whe using own hair appliances - i had to wait to use the bathroom mirror after everyone had used the bathroom) We had a double and single bed the room was crowded but with everything we needed for a couple of nights stay. We will definatley be coming back

Reviewed by
m wilkinson

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, lovely room, fantastic staff
Location was just across from King's Cross station, so is excellent for travellers. Staff were fantastic - very friendly and accommodating. Room was small, but was clean and warm and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was great - buffet-style, so could get as much or as little as you wanted. The only negative was the cost - it was expensive for what it is, but it's in the centre of London so is to be expected.

Reviewed by
R Kirk

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amicable on a budget
Friendly reception, small but clean rooms with excellent shower and toilet facilities. Expensive for what you got, but no doubt great value for London. Only fault was the breakfast was rushed and little adhoc, but food decent enough.

Reviewed by
Matthew G

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
A Hassan

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cosy place, convenient location, friedly and effective staff

Reviewed by
M PAPADOPOULOU

From Greece
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
Great position for Kings cross and St Pancreas stations. Hotel perfect for our needs clean, bed and breakfast. Staff pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
W Milnes

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next