No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel California

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
4-8 BELGROVE STREET , LONDON, WC1H 8AB
The California is a charming, modern bed and breakfast, less than a minute’s walk away from King’s Cross and St. Pancras stations.

Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we’ve retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original.

This means that we don’t have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day, include breakfast and high speed WiFi in all our rates and have just opened our new bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy.

Welcome to The California London. Visit any time, explore every time.
Picture of Hotel California, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, lovely room, fantastic staff
Location was just across from King's Cross station, so is excellent for travellers. Staff were fantastic - very friendly and accommodating. Room was small, but was clean and warm and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was great - buffet-style, so could get as much or as little as you wanted. The only negative was the cost - it was expensive for what it is, but it's in the centre of London so is to be expected.

Reviewed by
R Kirk

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amicable on a budget
Friendly reception, small but clean rooms with excellent shower and toilet facilities. Expensive for what you got, but no doubt great value for London. Only fault was the breakfast was rushed and little adhoc, but food decent enough.

Reviewed by
Matthew G

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
A Hassan

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cosy place, convenient location, friedly and effective staff

Reviewed by
M PAPADOPOULOU

From Greece
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
Great position for Kings cross and St Pancreas stations. Hotel perfect for our needs clean, bed and breakfast. Staff pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
W Milnes

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
nice room breakfast could have been better, food hotter

Reviewed by
J Capel

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, and decent for the price
The public areas of the hotel are very stylish - a nice place to be. The room had somewhat psychadelic wallpaper, and was pretty small - but a good enough base to explore London. The velux window opened wide which meant it was cool, despite the humidity of the day - and the blinds blocked out the sunlight in the morning. You could hear the tube trains, but it didn't stop me sleeping at all.
The only odd thing - no refreshments! I don't mind there not being tea and coffee making facilities, but I found it odd that there weren't even glasses or cups to get some water!

Reviewed by
Alison L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would book again
Perfect place to stay so close to station/underground, very friendly helpful staff. Only negative comment - it was very warm in the room, no air con.

Reviewed by
H South

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay close to St. Pancras
We chose this hotel for two reasons, 1 it was very close to St. Pancras & we had a very early start the next day & 2 it had a 3 bed room which we wanted.
The room was very clean & modern, however, it was rather small, but as we were staying 1 night it didn't matter too much.

Reviewed by
Michelle W

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean Comfortable and Convenient Location
We were a party of 4 adults sharing a room for a one night stay in London. Our room was a basement room which was quiet, clean and comfortable and thankfully had air conditioning as it was particularly hot during our stay. Hooks on wall to hang clothes which was fine considering the length of our stay but could have proved problematic if we had been staying longer. Good choice for breakfast: fruit (tinned) and yoghurt; fruit juice; cereals, toast, sausage, eggs. bacon and beans. This hotel has a lovely lounge area but we did not use it as we were out most of our stay. Delighted to find that they had a luggage room free of charge which saved us having to drag our luggage around with us the next day. The hotel was very conveniently located with close proximity to Kings Cross station. Overall an enjoyable stay and would return.

Reviewed by
PHILIP N

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next