No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Central Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
16 to 18 Argyle Street, London, WC1H 8EG
Central hotel is a family run bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of central London offering superb value for money accommodation. The hotel is situated barely a minutes walk from Kings Cross Tube Station and offers easy access to all of London's tourist sights, shopping districts and theatres.

The hotel has been run by the family for over forty years and during this period we have established a wonderful reputation with our customers. We always strive to achieve a warm friendly and well informed atmosphere, making your stay as homely and comfortable as possible.

The hotel has 31 rooms which vary from comfortable budget rooms to well presented en-suite rooms and the price includes a hearty full English breakfast to help get you off to a good start each day!
Picture of Central Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice cheap room
If you want a clean room on a budget you can't go wrong !

Reviewed by
Adam K

From Birmingham , UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect location
my only gripe would be size of bedrooms & bathroom - otherwise friendly & welcoming staff, clean & good breakfast

Reviewed by
kim hutchinson

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good one night stop
Very convenient for King's Cross. Helpful staff. Top floor single room, shared facilities but no problem.

Reviewed by
Kathleen R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay in room 11
Not sure what the rest of the hotel is like, but room 11 is a cupboard! Remote control on TV didn't work, even when I asked for a change of batteries.
Not what I'm use to - very noisy and really small!

Reviewed by
Jon H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall Impression
I booked this hotel at the last minute as my travel plans changed. Normally I wouldn't book a hotel that had a shared bathroom and certainly not at nearly £100 a night. The staff on reception where OK without being outstanding and got me booked in fairly quickly. There is no lift at the hotel so lugging a case that weighed 21kgs up three flights of stairs wasn't a great start. The room was very very basic with two single beds and one next to the shared toilet. I decided to sleep in the other one near the window. The window was broken and wouldn't close properly so it was very noisey and on a winters night would have been very cold indeed. The bed linen was clean but old and the towels very rough. Lots of noise in the room as people made their way to and from the toilet. The next morning I ventured down for breakfast and had to que as it was busy (my fault going in peak hours). The dining room is communal so if there's a space people sit down and you can't sit by yourself. I didn't mind this but I'm sure some would be put off. The breakfast was small but well cooked and hot. Was a nice surprise as I expected a continental breakfast. Not bad overall although the bacon and sausage wont be winning any awards. the shower was clean but again in need of a re-fresh but did the job.

Reviewed by
Michael Booth

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
the hotel is in good location , stones throw from st pancras and kings cross and the tubes . its not a classy hotel at all but it was adequate for 1 nights stay and handy for the tube . we had room 1 which is downstairs from reception , en suite 1 double and 1 single bed . you can hear the tube trains rumble by but this is London , there is always some traffic noise and tubes stop overnight . English breakfast was ok but you may have to share a table . we got a good price for our stay thro late rooms so satisfied with value for money . if you want classy pay more .

Reviewed by
Graham B

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's very horrible!

Except the quality of food, the other thing were very horrible.

Reviewed by
Z Zhu

From China
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would Use Again
Fantastic location, fantastic price for said location.
Room was clean and quite spacious in comparison to others we'vevstayed in locally. Top floor twin with sink, tv and hairdryer. Shared toilet and separate shower, also clean. Breakfast included which fit the bill (bacon, fried egg, sausage, beans, oj, tea/coffee/hot chocolate. Ham, cheese and small selection of cereal on side). Room was quite warm but top floor so somewhat to be expected.
Was concerned about leaving luggage after checkout as bags are left in reception room with no ID checks/tag system but had no issues and bags were fine.
Have already booked again and recommended to others.

Reviewed by
Rebecca M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel in all respects
The Central Hotel in Argyle St Camden, London is excellent in all respects

Reviewed by
Mary G

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our review
Room was rather small for two people otherwise all was good.

Reviewed by
John Hawken

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next