No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Central Hotel

Tidak Diklasifikasi  Hotel Ratings explained
16 to 18 Argyle Street, London, WC1H 8EG
Central hotel is a family run bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of central London offering superb value for money accommodation. The hotel is situated barely a minutes walk from Kings Cross Tube Station and offers easy access to all of London's tourist sights, shopping districts and theatres.

The hotel has been run by the family for over forty years and during this period we have established a wonderful reputation with our customers. We always strive to achieve a warm friendly and well informed atmosphere, making your stay as homely and comfortable as possible.

The hotel has 31 rooms which vary from comfortable budget rooms to well presented en-suite rooms and the price includes a hearty full English breakfast to help get you off to a good start each day!
Picture of Central Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
53% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very handy for King Cross
The room was a bit small , but we were only staying one night so it wasn't a big issue . The bed was comfortable and clean , overall it was satisfactory.

Reviewed by
Glenda Brette

From Yarm, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth it.
I booked to stay here for 1 night in a double room. When I checked in, I was given a room on the loser floor. I asked if there is phone and internet signal there. The moody receptionist said yes. When I got there, the room was ok. But no phone signal, not even 1 bar. This was on 2 different UK mobile operators. I went back to reception to tell her I need to do work online so need signal on my phone. First she told me the hotel is fully booked so can't do anything. I said I wasn't happy. Then after speaking to her colleague in another language, she said a room on a higher floor is available but will cost £10 more. I was annoyed at this. But I had no choice as the next room was a twin room. I ended up paying £100 for 1 night. The shared shower was filthy and smelly. Do not stay here, I won't ever pay them a visit again.

Reviewed by
M Sidhu

From Hitchin , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Hotel Kings Cross
Was classed as superior double room with ensuite, we found the room to be very small 9ftx9ft I guess. Plus side the bed was comfortable.
All you can say about the room, it`s ok to crash out at the end of the day!!!!

Reviewed by
Bev F

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall was good except one evening of no internet & one morning of no hot water out of total 4.
You probably have to trade off something if you want to have live in the heart of the centre with this price. I might not stay here again because I do not have any particular interest to visit the city centre but otherwise the stay was ok except one evening of no internet and one morning of no hot water.

Reviewed by
S Chaudhry

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Hotel
This a practical hotel- good location and our room was clean. No luxuries and the room too small to spend any time in it other than to sleep. The price included breakfast which made it reasonable. All this suited our needs but if you want to spend time in your hotel then this isn't the one for you.
After reading other reviews we contacted the hotel and requested a quiet room, this request was responded to quickly and we were given our request. Receptionist on day of our arrival was very welcoming and handled our check in efficiently. The member of staff in the breakfast room wasn't very friendly or welcoming.
The hotel needs to complete their works on the staircase - where the carpet meets the laminate has a real potential for trips and they would be liable.
Would we stay again? Probably but may look for alternatives first.

Reviewed by
Angela O

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quietest room I have stayed in during a London visit, quite small but very clean and great shower.
Room was quite small, but more than adequate for staying if you are planning to be out most of the time. It was quiet and very clean, and plenty of plugs with switches near the bed which was handy. Very little light came in through a small window, and there was no latch on the window which created a security risk if you want to leave it open at night, especially in the summer - this was the main downside. Very good shower. Friendly staff, very convenient to transport and main sites. Be aware that narrow and steep stairs to rooms downstairs need to be taken into consideration.

Reviewed by
F Clark

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower room corner unit for toiletries which when new was chrome finish now very rusty it either requires replacing or removing as no one will use it in its present state , other small items which require attention are handles to sliding door need fixing as they kept falling off ,work top where kettle. Cups and saucer stand need replacing . The cups should be replaced with mugs that all contain at least half pint of liquid . G

Reviewed by
john w

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never ever again
There was no toilet or shower in the room as it was shared between 5 rooms in the basement (dungeon!). The table was a shelf that the kettle rested on and was above a plug socket that the kettle couldnt reach! So it had to be boiled on the floor. There was toothpaste on the wallpaper. The mirror above the sink was stained badly. The bed was the loudest crinky sound i have ever heard from a bed, not to mention the most uncomfotable bed i have ever seen in my life. You could feel the springs by pressing down your finger on the bed! The housekeeprs were noisy when walking past the rooms and presumably cleaning next door (loud being an understatement). Even the tv had its flaws as it dipped in sound quality every 2 mins the sound dropped out for a second or two.

Reviewed by
Gareth N

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and convenient
Staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful.
Location of hotel was brilliant for us as we had an early start from St Pancras, which was 2 minutes away.
Our room was clean, compact and surprisingly quiet considering the location of the hotel. We were on the back which made a difference I'm sure.
It seemed reasonable value when compared to others in the vicinity, and for a one night stay it was an ok choice.

Reviewed by
Maureen S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London Central
The staff are very helpful indeed and are professional and efficient. Lovely stay here, albeit brief. The location is excellent. Thank you.

Reviewed by
claire r

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next