No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Central Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
16 to 18 Argyle Street, London, WC1H 8EG
Central hotel is a family run bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of central London offering superb value for money accommodation. The hotel is situated barely a minutes walk from Kings Cross Tube Station and offers easy access to all of London's tourist sights, shopping districts and theatres.

The hotel has been run by the family for over forty years and during this period we have established a wonderful reputation with our customers. We always strive to achieve a warm friendly and well informed atmosphere, making your stay as homely and comfortable as possible.

The hotel has 31 rooms which vary from comfortable budget rooms to well presented en-suite rooms and the price includes a hearty full English breakfast to help get you off to a good start each day!
Picture of Central Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London Central
The staff are very helpful indeed and are professional and efficient. Lovely stay here, albeit brief. The location is excellent. Thank you.

Reviewed by
claire r

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid the basement
Booked 2 nights but after the first we could not bare staying and changed to another hotel. the hotel is in a good location but apart from that there is no reason to stay here. we where directed to our room (number 5) which was in the basement sharing a toilet with rooms 1-6. toilet was very shabby and noisy at all times, shower was small and grotty. sharing the bathroom meant that there was morning queues as well as holding out desperate for the toilet waiting for it to be clear. now onto the room. probably the worst i have ever stayed in. old creaky bed and uncomfortable mattress meaning its extremely hard to get to sleep. on top of that all the floors are old, wooden and creaky meaning you can hear every movement made around you and above you and loudly. I don't leave reviews normally but this one was worth mentioning so dont knock this off as just someone complaining and used to good hotels. I have traveled around the world and stayed in some terrible places. This was horrible and cost a fortune at £80 a night. I asked for an upgrade and they charged £95 (so dont try that either). look around and just get any hotel in zone 1 of the tube. its so easy to us the location is great no matter what

Reviewed by
D Rooney

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Hotel review
A budget hotel but clean, central and comfortable. Staff friendly and extra towels provided for hair washing when requested.

Reviewed by
T Evans

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is conveniently located near to St Pancras station and is very quiet considering its location. I stayed in a basement room which was clean and comfortable but a little bit stuffy over night.

Reviewed by
p williams

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid Central Hotel if you can
I have been allocated a room below the basement which is a unique experience. I never knew such shabby hotel room can be rented in centre of London. I came out, walked along Euston road and booked myself in a very nice clean hotel costing me only £8 more per night than Central Hotel. In summery I lost £210 in Central Hotel where I could not bring myself to stay. It was a huge loss but psychologically I felt better. The receptionist did not bother to ask why I did not want to stay. To clarify, I checked in on the 28th evening, not on the 27th evening due to weather

Reviewed by
M Haque

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

simple but nice
If you're not after luxury, or space, its a good place to stay for a reasonable price (79 on a saturday). Its clean, it has a kettle and coffee in the room, a decent tv and a decent bed. It is however very small. I recommend it for a quick stay.

Reviewed by
Luis M

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not happy
Was not happy at all as the floor were so thin and cause I was down stairs every single time someone walked over my room it woke me up and I had work the next day and I was woken up from 5:30 onwards with someone walking over my room so frankly paying 110 for a room wasn't worth it what so ever! I have never paid that much for a room and not been satisfied till this time!

Reviewed by
Phaedra V

From Isleworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location
Very handy for Eurostar. Staff helpful and polite. Room small but clean and facilities adequate. Breakfast good.

Reviewed by
Richard E

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was clean , bed comfy .ideal location to train station would stay again/! breakfast was lovely

Reviewed by
b R

From Sunderland, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tiny room but clean and convenient
Clean and friendly budget hotel literally within a stone's throw of St Pancras station. Good breakfast, reliable wifi. Room very small but clean, bed reasonably comfy.

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From Malta
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next