No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Central Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
16 to 18 Argyle Street, London, WC1H 8EG
Central hotel is a family run bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of central London offering superb value for money accommodation. The hotel is situated barely a minutes walk from Kings Cross Tube Station and offers easy access to all of London's tourist sights, shopping districts and theatres.

The hotel has been run by the family for over forty years and during this period we have established a wonderful reputation with our customers. We always strive to achieve a warm friendly and well informed atmosphere, making your stay as homely and comfortable as possible.

The hotel has 31 rooms which vary from comfortable budget rooms to well presented en-suite rooms and the price includes a hearty full English breakfast to help get you off to a good start each day!
Picture of Central Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
the hotel is in good location , stones throw from st pancras and kings cross and the tubes . its not a classy hotel at all but it was adequate for 1 nights stay and handy for the tube . we had room 1 which is downstairs from reception , en suite 1 double and 1 single bed . you can hear the tube trains rumble by but this is London , there is always some traffic noise and tubes stop overnight . English breakfast was ok but you may have to share a table . we got a good price for our stay thro late rooms so satisfied with value for money . if you want classy pay more .

Reviewed by
Graham B

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's very horrible!

Except the quality of food, the other thing were very horrible.

Reviewed by
Z Zhu

From China
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would Use Again
Fantastic location, fantastic price for said location.
Room was clean and quite spacious in comparison to others we'vevstayed in locally. Top floor twin with sink, tv and hairdryer. Shared toilet and separate shower, also clean. Breakfast included which fit the bill (bacon, fried egg, sausage, beans, oj, tea/coffee/hot chocolate. Ham, cheese and small selection of cereal on side). Room was quite warm but top floor so somewhat to be expected.
Was concerned about leaving luggage after checkout as bags are left in reception room with no ID checks/tag system but had no issues and bags were fine.
Have already booked again and recommended to others.

Reviewed by
Rebecca M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel in all respects
The Central Hotel in Argyle St Camden, London is excellent in all respects

Reviewed by
Mary G

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our review
Room was rather small for two people otherwise all was good.

Reviewed by
John Hawken

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location budget accomodation
Stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a training course, and I just needed a hotel with a great location for a low price, the rest was just a bonus. My room had everything I needed, although I do usually prefer an ensuite, and had to go down a couple of flights of stairs to use the bathroom. Overall I had a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
L Booth

From Stalybridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a hotel I would stay at again or would recommend to others!
Our stay was on Thursday night/Friday morning - 11/09/2014- 12/09/2014
.
Firstly, when initially booked, I did request a ground floor or first floor room and this was acknowledged in the reply to me. I did however bring this point up again on the morning of when we were arriving in the evening. I was informed by Joanne that we had been given a 2nd floor twin room, or that a double was available on the first floor. I replied that as long as we had help with our case up and down the stairs, we wouldn't object to where we were put and it was agreed that indeed, this assistance would be available.
We arrived at your hotel around half past six in the evening, absolutely worn out after a very long train journey across France and dragging a heavy suitcase to boot. Nobody was available at the reception to take the luggage up but we were informed that by half an hour we would be in receipt of same in our room (no 20). Over an hour later, I had to ring reception to see where our case was so that we could get washed and changed to go out for a meal - it was brought up about five minutes later, although having said that, there was nowhere to put it when it arrived. It was suggested it was put under the bed - not a very practical solution when you want to get things out of it I feel. The cover on the bed nearest the door was stained and the wall toilet holder was left on the shelf behind the cistern - not where it is meant to be I think. A length of wood had not been painted on the skirting of the unit below bedroom mirror, the fan was rusty and a strip of Formica at the bottom of the bedside unit (near door) had come adrift. On our receipt it states premium room - I don't think so somehow!
We went down to breakfast soon after 8.00 a.m. thinking it would be quieter then - no, just the opposite! We stood and waited for a while without even being acknowledged by any member of staff and eventually asked a New Zealand couple if we could join them and they agreed. Breakfast was okay, except I had to request a glass of orange juice as there was none laid out anywhere! We finished and had to pass an extremely large group of people standing at the bottom of and on the stairs waiting in turn for their breakfast.
Upstairs we went and about an hour and a half later rang down to reception for our case to be taken down again - guess what, no-one available again!!!! So I, at the age of nearly 68, had to drag it down to reception as my husband who is nearly 73, has had a double by-pass and new aortic valve fitted. Neither of us were very happy when we left sadly and will not be returning to this hotel in the future, especially as we had stayed in another property on the Sunday night previously, opposite the main station, which had everything, including a free safe. Everywhere had been refurbished, there was an excellent size basement breakfast room, with all the food you could want and the price was £21 cheaper than this one.
Sorry this is negative but have to write what I saw and felt.

Reviewed by
Patricia D

From Mablethorpe, England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very handy for King Cross
The room was a bit small , but we were only staying one night so it wasn't a big issue . The bed was comfortable and clean , overall it was satisfactory.

Reviewed by
Glenda Brette

From Yarm, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth it.
I booked to stay here for 1 night in a double room. When I checked in, I was given a room on the loser floor. I asked if there is phone and internet signal there. The moody receptionist said yes. When I got there, the room was ok. But no phone signal, not even 1 bar. This was on 2 different UK mobile operators. I went back to reception to tell her I need to do work online so need signal on my phone. First she told me the hotel is fully booked so can't do anything. I said I wasn't happy. Then after speaking to her colleague in another language, she said a room on a higher floor is available but will cost £10 more. I was annoyed at this. But I had no choice as the next room was a twin room. I ended up paying £100 for 1 night. The shared shower was filthy and smelly. Do not stay here, I won't ever pay them a visit again.

Reviewed by
M Sidhu

From Hitchin , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Hotel Kings Cross
Was classed as superior double room with ensuite, we found the room to be very small 9ftx9ft I guess. Plus side the bed was comfortable.
All you can say about the room, it`s ok to crash out at the end of the day!!!!

Reviewed by
Bev F

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next