No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rookwood Farmhouse

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Rookwood Farmhouse, Stockcross, , Newbury, RG20 8JX
Rookwood Farmhouse B&B offers a warm welcome a quiet and comfortable night's sleep just outside Newbury. It has two pubs and a restaurant/spa in walking distance as well as a golf course and driving range. All rooms are en suite and there is a large sitting room with conservatory and kitchen for guests' use. Alongside the Kennet & Avon Canal, the largest town in West Berkshire, Newbury, has a bustling high street with many interesting shops, which include unique stores such as family-run department store Camp Hopson. Once a month the town is also visited by the farmer’s market, crammed full with delicious, local produce. Overlooking the town is another Newbury landmark. Donnington Castle saw much action during the civil wars of 1643 and 1644. Today all that is left is the gatehouse but visitors are still attracted by the views Also just outside the town is the internationally renowned Newbury Racecourse positioned in a stunning setting and boasting fantastic hospitality.
Picture of Rookwood Farmhouse, Newbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous little B&B.
This place is is real find. Beautifully decorated and presented with all the facilities you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Complete with swimming pool! I am planning on returning very soon.

Reviewed by
Sarah M

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint, spacious and clean
Stayed just the one night in november. Very friendly couple run this b&b. My room was a double even though I'd booked single. Very comfortable bed and great bathroom. Breakfast was very good too and made to order. For evening meal I went to a nearby pub which does a good food at reasonable prices. There is a garden and separate building/ sitting room but I think this would be more used in the summer. My only small complaint is that the bedrooms are not very well insulated and the temperature does drop quickly once the heating is turned off.

Reviewed by
Surjit B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop over
Stayed one night - very nice accommodation and gardens , nice breakfast if a little slow , but would highly reccommend

Reviewed by
paul W

From Southwell, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Farmhouse
Nice Farmhouse with very good breakfast.

Reviewed by
M Andrae

From 85221, Dachau, Germany
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Something a bit different
I found Rookwood Farmhouse when the usual company hotels couldn’t provide me with two consecutive nights. On this occasion that was a happy accident as Rookwood provides a welcome change to the usual chain hotel rooms that could be the same anywhere in the country.
The rooms are uniquely furnished with an eclectic mix of old, well used but sturdy furniture. And this gives them a character that you just don’t find elsewhere. The owners are friendly and I got the impression that most of the people staying had done so before.
The location is out of the way enough to provide peace and quiet but still ideal as a jumping off point for the surrounding area as its close to the A34 and M4.
All in all a great find for me and I will use them again when my business takes me down that way again.

Reviewed by
James Goodman

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic !
Wonderful garden, beautifully appointed. Perfect stay as a country break. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Ian Baker

From Pontyclun, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pink room
One of the nicest, cleanest places i have stayed in. Very friendly owners and the room and bathroom were immaculate. Lovely breakfast with quality ingredients. Excellent wi-fi and i will definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
matthew larrad

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet & Beautiful room
Sitting just outside Newbury, this is a lovely place to stay, either for one night or longer if you are visiting for the races. Bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in and was v quiet, so no noise you normally get with town/city hotels.
Charlotte was very welcoming and friendly, a lovely host.
Can't recommend this place highly enough.

Reviewed by
John Garside

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rookwood Farmhouse, Stockcross, Newbury
Beautiful farmhouse, set in a fabulous garden. A very relaxing stay, and an excellent breakfast. I would most certainly recommend it. Mark Seddon

Reviewed by
Mark Seddon

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.