Reviews - The Boot and Shoe


Greystoke, Penrith, CA11 0TP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (9)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Laura H

  • June 2015

Great stay!

Lovely, lively pub with prompt service and lovely characterful rooms.

Thank you!

  • J Short

  • March 2015

A welcoming place to stay

As a single traveller I received a warm welcome and was made to feel at home not only by the staff but the locals.

Food and beer great, a relaxing place to spend an evening.

  • David Jones

  • December 2014

Friendly pub with a warm welcome

I stay here when I have to attend meetings with work the next day, five or six times each year, Good room, great food, a great range of real ales in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Much nicer that in a faceless national chain. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Susan P

  • November 2014

Very busy place, which reflects the excellence of the hotel in all respects.

  • David J

  • September 2014

Very welcoming

A good Pub, very friendly welcome, good evening meals.

Good accommodation and a great breakfast .

  • David Jones

  • August 2014

Good food, good bed, good beers what more do you need

This is the second time that I have stayed at the Boot and shoe, good comfy bed with a nice room, good evening food and breakfast.

A pub with a good range of real ales. I would fully recomend

  • Paul Firth

  • May 2014

nice place

Good food, good staff, and a lovely place...

free wi-fi, no 3 phone signal.. i can live without that :)

  • D Jones

  • March 2014

Although we never stray further than Ambleside, can only describe the Boot and Shoe a fantastic find.

The staff were so friendly as we entered the bar area and it continued until we left on the Sunday morning. The food , Ales , Wine we're great and accepting dogs at no cost was the icing on the cake. Will be going back. D jones

  • David B

  • October 2013

Excellent Country Inn

I stayed two nights and the staff could not have been more friendly.

I got to choose my room and managed to choose one where the tv did not work. However landlord and staff came to the rescue and we got it working quickly. The food in the evening was very interesting, beutifully presented and served. A great find!