No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chieftain Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
2 Millburn Road , Inverness, IV2 3PS
The Chieftain is a lively Inn on the outskirts of the city but within 5 minutes of the Centre with its transport links and cultural venues. All the rooms at this Inverness Bed & Breakfast have recently been extensively refurbished and now under the ownership of the Lawson family you are assured of a warm welcome:

14 en-suite rooms with all the expected facilities including flat screen TVs
Food is available all day from a varied, good value menu with special meals for children
Our multi purpose function room is perfect for family celebrations
Our famous sports bar with 5 pool tables is in a separate area
Inverness is the starting point for all that the Highlands has to offer
Picture of The Chieftain Hotel, Inverness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and comfortable.
The room was lovely and big as was the en suite. The staff were very friendly on arrival and were happy to help whenever it was needed. Would definitely recommend to friends!

Reviewed by
R Napier

From Gorebridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
We stayed at the cheiftain before it was renovated and it was good then now it's great lovely warm comfortable room with great food and service was fab couldn't ask for better

Reviewed by
A Macleod

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chieftain weekend
Room was a little too warm, even with heating turned off...opened velux but because it was raining it was too noisy and we risked the rain coming in.
Also there was a party on downstairs which we could hear every word if the music and the beats :(

Reviewed by
Marion M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect in every way
The staff couldn't do enough for you and the food was perfect. There was a good atmosphere in the bar and the staff and locals made you feel very welcome..

Reviewed by
R Aim

From Kirkwall, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good experience at the Chieftain Hotel
We were a group of friends that stayed in The Chieftain for the Loch Ness Marathon. The customer service was good as well as friendly staff. It was also close to the town centre.

Reviewed by
E Steen

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okay stay
The receptionist was helpful, polite and took us up to our room. Had dinner and breakfast there, was good and would recommend the food. The bed though was very uncomfy, the pillows and the duvet were too thin. The window was hard to open and stay open. The bathroom smelled of urine as there was a slight leak at the base of the toilet every time it was flushed. There wasn't a hairdryer in the room. Should have been a cheaper rate.

Reviewed by
Kenneth M

From Portree, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommended
The Chieftan Hotel is a great place to stay. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are good and big,. The food tastes great and is presented well. The location is good as it has a lot around it from around a 5 min drive to 30 min drive. there is a shopping centre, supermarket, cawdor castle and loch ness near by where they do cruise trips on the loch and to urquart castle. i recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
C Atkinson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dire
Possibly one of the grubbiest hotels I have stayed in
Really needs an overhaul

Reviewed by
Maureen R

From Wishaw, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Check out
Whilst the stay was good, I feel that the check out process can be a bit hit n miss. Last week my work colleagues were checked out by the breakfast waiter and this week, it was the cleaner. Having worked in the hotel industry myself, I was always encouraged to check that everything was OK etc., upon check out and I am not sure that a breakfast waiter or a cleaner will have been trained to ask and accept feedback etc., Only a minor point. Will stay again. Like the hotel.

Reviewed by
N Moir

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Next Best
As part of a flying trip around Scotland this was very much a last minute affair. It wasn't supposed to be, but just as we were leaving home we had one of our bookings cancelled. With no time to spare we booked this up without the normal research, but we were not disappointed and would recommend this place to others. The place which cancelled however, was just as good, but £30 cheaper!

Reviewed by
Keith Gowing

From Waltham Cross, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next