Reviews - Avis Hotel


33, Rodway Road, Bromley, BR13JP

Price From 150.40 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (26)

65% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Chris Geoghegan

  • November 2015

Excellent small hotel

After an initial problem with our booking,the gentleman on reception sorted everything out and was very apologetic for the error.

Our room was fine, clean,, warm,good bed,everything we needed for an overnight stay. Bathroom door would not close. Breakfast was comprehensive and good. Staff friendly and efficient.

  • N S

  • October 2015


The Avis provides solid mid-level accommodations, not spectacular but not disappointing either.

It is probably one of the better options in the area.

  • L Cunningham

  • October 2015

Great Nights Stay

Attended a friends party nearby, The staff were very warm and welcoming, room was lovely and clean, breakfast was very nice.

I would stay there again.

  • Alex B

  • October 2015

Understaffed which didn't help, but not a great stay

Not a great experience for my stay at the Avis - started off with rooms still being cleaned at 4pm, despite being told that they would be ready by 3pm.

Then after getting in the room, locking the door and going into the bathroom, heard the door open (no knock) and the cleaner was suddenly in the room. He gave it a cursory vacuum, and how cursory became evident when i found a toenail of a previous occupant on the floor later. The manager (part of the family who own the hotel) had said that they were low on staff when I was checking in, and this was the issue. I think there was only the one cleaner for 21 rooms, and he didn't know whether he was coming or going. I had no confidence given the room/cleaning that the restaurant service would be great, so didn't eat there - the menu looked to be decent staple pub grub style food, and reasonably priced. In the morning, unlike the night before, there was no hot water to be had from the shower, although there was from the taps. Breakfast made me think I made the right choice on dinner: there was only one bloke doing literally everything: greeting people, tea/coffee, cooking, clearing,serving toast, egss, etc. Unsurprisingly there was a big delay on the tea/coffee/toast, milk had run out, and the breakfast buffet was nearly empty. The bloke was actually very nearly keeping on top of everything, but I think the hot food was basically done by 7.45 am

The place is just tired, carpets, furniture are all worn, could do with a redecoration, and they definitely need to at least double the number of staff I saw. On the plus side the manager was a really nice friendly guy, the breakfast chap was valiantly fighting a clearly futile battle, decent flat screen TV, and the wifi was very good. And the location is excellent - 5 minutes walk from town centre, but in an extremely quiet residential area that is not a cut through, so very little traffic noise. I very nearly gave it a one star, but with extra staff it would be two stars. Having said all that I stayed at another hotel last tme I was in the area, and would definitely pay the extra next tme to stay there again - it was cleaner, more efficiently run and overall just more appealing.

  • R T

  • September 2015

Well placed hotel

The Avis was comfortable and the staff welcoming.

The room was clean and the bed comfortable A couple of gripes: the shower and toilet cubicle was very small but it was clean and worked well; there was only a metal chair in the room rather than an armchair.

  • Carol N

  • August 2015

Poor quality, noisy and basic

  • Clary E

  • July 2015

Great staff, room and breakfast OK.

We stayed one night for a family party nearby.

The location was perfect for us. All the staff we encountered were really friendly and welcoming. The room and breakfast were fine, there was nothing wrong, the room was a little tired and the self service good breakfast was as you would expect from food that has been kept warm for some time. It was great for us we just need a bed for the night and hardly spent any time in the room.

  • Andy Francis-MacKie

  • June 2015

Good quality hotel

For a one night stop over, this family run hotel was ideal.

We were met by a very polite receptionist whom it transpired was also the barman and chef. Room was clean and the food for dinner and breakfast was good.

  • wayne r

  • April 2015

Hit and miss hotel

This hotel has its pro's and cons.

Pro's being good location, only 5 minute walk to restaurants. Parking on site for around 5 cars but you can also park on roadside. Staff are very polite and friendly. Rooms are clean. Cons are room walls are paper thin, you can hear every word and foot step outside of room. I was woken up two nights in row at around 2am by people checking in, then woken up again at 6am by people checking out. Double beds are actually just two single beds poorly pushed together. Bathrooms are the size of small cupboards. Internet connection rarely worked. Breakfast food is very limited. Overall average hotel but well overpriced for what you get, I would not pay more than £50 for a double room if I was to stay here again.

  • Paula B

  • April 2015


Good value, clean, convenient and breakfast thrown in fantastic.

Stay away from the big hotel chains use small independent places instead, much more fun and interesting.