No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - SoBo Guest House

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
10 SEAFIELD ROAD , HOVE, BN32TN
Quality Rooms & Friendly Service

Our Mission Statement “We aim to provide an affordable, clean and comfortable place to stay with helpful staff giving first class customer service.”

Here at SoBo Guest House we pride on ourselves on delivering a pleasant stay for all our guests and we make sure that our rooms and service is of highest standard

We are a friendly bed and breakfast where you can relax and enjoy good quality low-cost accommodation in brand new rooms

We have all types of rooms to accommodate anyone and everyone from single rooms to family rooms

All our rooms are en-suite (private bathroom) with a digital flat-screen TV with 50 TV channels and 24 radio channels, free Wi-Fi broadband internet access, fridge, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities to ensure a comfortable and pleasant stay - a complimentary self-service continental breakfast is served each morning

Our 3 Star bed and breakfast Guest House is set in a beautiful quiet tree lined road conveniently located just a few minutes’ walk away from the beach front, independent boutiques, bars and with countless restaurants to suit every taste and budget

Our staff will ensure excellent hospitality and service so book now to enjoy the convenient location, special comfort and incredible value of SoBo Guest House

Please note that SoBo Guest House is room only accommodation but all guests have free access to our hostel facilities located in the next door property which has a self-catering kitchen, seated dining area, games room and pleasant garden area
Picture of SoBo Guest House, HOVE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
40% recommended this accommodation to a friend 36% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful staff but couldn't even sleep due to worry.
Very strange area. I was walking quite late in the night to the hotel and i was a bit scared if being honest. Walked don the stairs into the reception area and there were a couple of guys who gave me very strange glances (I was with my boyfriend at the time as well!), It was uncomftable.
The staff were lovely though helpful and very informant.
When we got into the room the bed was broken... it had missing pieces under the mattress which made it horrible to lie on and incredibly squeaky. so we moved the mattress on the floor to be able to sleep.
The room was very clean and tidy, shower and toilet as well. Had a kettle and tea, coffee and sugar on the table.
I had ordered a meal option 3... supposed to have pastries cookies, yogurt, juice tea, coffee etc options.. we had some cookies with juice and asda yogurt.. pastries and full english are ONLY available on weekends.
Overall... the staff are lovely and very helpful,the room is clean and tidy but the bed needs repair...and the breakfast well i would say that the hotel advert is lying. the people and the area on the other hand can create a very bad discomforting atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Maria K

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was a small dingy dark room, wall paper was hanging off the walls due to damp, "the en-suit" is a plaster board cupboard. Beds were old mattresses so lumpy awaking was painful, one single thin foam pillow per person, drunks gouched out in the corner of the entrance, no hand rails inside or outside of the property.

Reviewed by
T Taylor

From Norwich, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was not aware it was a backpacker hotel
Very disheartened when arrived to find it was a backpack hostel. However - our room was in the other side and was fine- clean and ok for one night.
A little noisy for a while but it calmed down quite quickly.
Breakfast was difficult for me due to special requirements but my husband enjoyed it.
Good value for money - close to the beach -

Reviewed by
Geraldine W

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I needed a room
Bathroom smelled worse than most public toilets, towels also smelt and left me even smellier after a shower would have been better off staying sweaty and smelly. Could not get a VAT receipt from reception and am still waiting for the e mail one. Bed was made with clean linen but mattress was stained. If you need a room and are stuck then ok but just for 1 night I personally would not stop here again. Late rooms need to pay attention to the quality of the accommodation that they are offering.

Reviewed by
Ian P

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy with my choice to stay here. The bunk beds were a nice addition to my usual hotel/hostel stay. The room was very tidy and clean. I will be staying again

Reviewed by
Michael C

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never Again
This is clearly not a guest house and merely an extension of student hostel accomodation at a extremely inflated price that offers no value for money. The room was basic to say the least, the duvet cover looked tired and dirty and the pillows smelt stale. The TV did not work and very little toilet/shower that flooded due to blocked waste.
The keycode entry system to your room lacked any security considerations and open to crime opportunities. Breakfast the following morning was a joke with bread (no toaster) lemon curd and strawberry Jam. No cutlery supplied, so unable to utilise.
However only place I could find that let you book for one night. In future would rather drive back home after the event than stay in places like this an rip off prices.

Reviewed by
ivan p

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in Brighton
Tidy guest house, lovely little room. We did ask for the veggie option fo rbreakfast but the person in the kitchen said that they hadn't received the notification so there wasn't much to eat plus no soya milk for the morning cup of tea. There was no soap in the room which I thought was a bit odd but there were complementary bottles of shampoo and conditioner. The bottles of water were welcomed too. The house is a bit of a maze but suited us fine for the night and we were able to leave our bags there the next day which was great

Reviewed by
K Helps

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room but breakfast issues
Nothing wrong with the room, great night sleep but the breakfast only being served between 09:30 and 10:00 is crazy when the parking outside is permit only and that starts at 09:00 so unless you park half a mile away then don't bother with breakfast. Common sense would say if your going to serve breakfast only for half an hour make it 08:30 till 09:00 c'mon people think about it.....

Reviewed by
Lee Isaacs

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Run by kids for kids
I've done plenty of travelling and stayed in hostels all around the world so when my wife and I needed somewhere to stay for a friend’s 40th birthday celebration we thought SoBo would meet our need plus they didn't have the typical B&B two night minimum stay for the weekend.
The room was described as deluxe double room with luxury double bed with full en suite bathroom, refreshment tray and TV. Well the luxury double bed fell apart when you sat on it and we had to re insert the slats a number of times, the en suite was small and adequate but would have benefited from a toilet roll holder. The refreshment tray looked ok although the kettle had to be placed on the floor to be plugged in and the final product was pretty foul. The TV, an old set with a set top box mounted on the wall, produced a picture that flicked, froze, pixelated and made the viewing of the cup final very frustrating to the point that I complained at half-time, only to be told they never had a problems with it before. But the most annoying thing was that the remote turn off the set top box but not the TV. To do this you had to stand on a chair and find the off button on the top because if you tried to turn off at the plug an electrical buzzing emanated from the socket.
Despite the elaborate descriptions of breakfast when we turned up we found a smelly lounge complete two prostrate youths on the sofas and a TV blaring music, (at least I think it was). We decided to give it a miss and found a lovely coffee shop nearby with a roof terrace - perfect for a Sunday morning breakfast.
We did complain to the reception staff, once it opened who were nice enough and made us complete a form with the promise that the manager would call us to discuss a refund - of course we are still waiting for that call.

Reviewed by
Andy H

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hen party of 9
Rooms were functional but could do with updating.
Keyless room entry was strange and difficult after a few drinks!
Reception staff didn't speak good English and were not very clued up.
Food was terrible! Microwave burgers and cold baked beans on the cooked breakfast.
Set up strange with the hostel next door.

Reviewed by
Nicole B

From London, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next