No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Merrymoor Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Mawgan Porth, , , Newquay, TR8 4BA
4 Star Bed and Breakfast Accommodation and great Pub Food in Cornwall. The Merrymoor offers bed and breakfast accommodation on the north Cornwall coast. With a bar which warmly welcomes both locals and visitors and serves excellent lunches and dinners using locally sourced produce, The Merrymoor has seven contemporary sea view or country guest rooms, the former with dramatic views across the bay at Mawgan Porth. Situated between Newquay and Padstow, it’s ideal for guests whatever their interests – families seeking a traditional beach holiday or short surfing break, walkers heading to Bedruthan Steps a few miles along the Coast Path, those who enjoy exploring caves at low tide before settling down with a book and a pint to the background rumble of a pounding Atlantic, and storm watchers. The beachside location is equally appealing at any time of the year and four generations are testament to an outstandingly successful family run business, which has evolved without losing its commitment to great food and drink, comfortable accommodation at reasonable prices and a genuine welcome. The recent addition of the purpose built Emerald Beauty Salon, offering a wide range of Spa Find treatments gives further good reason to visit the Merrymoor. Spring, Summer, Autumn or Winter… The Merrymoor is the place to drink, eat, relax and sleep. Please note there is a minimum stay of 2 nights between 25th May and 30th of September, please contact us to discuss availability for a shorter stay. We look forward to welcoming you soon. During January 2014 we are creating 'The Dining Room', we are open as usual during the refurbishment process
Picture of Merrymoor Inn, Newquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not long enough
I was warmly welcomed by owner and son at The Merrymoor. The staff were very accomodating and the food was terrific if a little late in coming (45 mins.) but was worth waiting for. I thought the prices for drinks and food were very reasonable and only wished I could have stayed a little longer

Reviewed by
David Hedley

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing place with amazing people. It's no wonder they have such a high return rate!!
I stayed at the Merrymoor with my wife, for her 30th birthday. The pre arranged champagne had been ordered and delivered to the room at the exact time i requested. The bar staff are amazingly friendly and i must say a massive thanks to Nick for dropping us into Padstow in his own time. The food we had was always cooked to perfection and the room with sea view and jacuzzi bath was just beautiful.
Of all the hotels i have stayed in (which is a lot!), i have never received such a personal service. I cannot stress how much i enjoyed my stay at the Merrymoor and i would urge anyone to stay at this hotel, whatever the nature of the visit.
To finish, i'd like to say a massive thank you to the whole team for making our stay so special and i will be returning to stay at the Merrymoor in the future, guaranteed!!!!

Reviewed by
Phil Penton

From Oldbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

AFL Somerset
looked after very well concerning it was the holiday season

Reviewed by
a lott

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic B&B!
We loved this B&B so much, we have just booked to go again in August to do some more body boarding (just pinched the last room - phew!) This property is in a fantastic location, beach right across the road and situated in a very chilled out, happening place - Fantastic! Can't wait to get back there :-)

Reviewed by
HEATHER TAYLOR

From Treffynnon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very warm welcome indeed and the staff 'went the extra mile' in all respects.
Very friendly, great room and excellent food.

Reviewed by
Jarvis Humby

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mawgan Porth's best kept secret!
We booked very late as a quick relaxing getaway for a couple of days, so expectations weren't especially high. However we were very pleasantly surprised both with the warmth of the welcome & the very high quality of the room. if you love Cornwall then you 'll love the view (from our room at least!) across Mawgan Porth & we spent much time gazing out the windows at the views. The bar food on offer was very good without being particularly outstanding but breakfast was probably the best we've ever had at a B&B, with many of the dishes sourced from local produce. We vowed to return very soon!

Reviewed by
M Keen

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room with a excellent view
The overall stay was brillant, however the food needed some attention. There seemed to be a lack of fish at the evening due to a delivery problem and the chilli with nachos had hardly any chilli on it. Breakfast was good waitress very attentive. Overall a good stay.

Reviewed by
d hummel

From bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel and surf
Excelent hotel I will go back anytime.

Reviewed by
K WICKS

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
The Merrymoor Inn provided everything I required for a flying visit to Mawgan Porth. All staff were friendly and welcoming, and my room was upgraded for no change in booking price. Bed was comfortable and breakfast was tasty. Would definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
P Vidal

From Torpoint, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Views
Very pleased with this holiday accommodation, room 5 overlooking the beach Better than expected, great breakfast, restaurant part of the bar food but OK

Reviewed by
Derek w

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next