Reviews - The Copper Kettle


3-5 Market Street , ,, Kirkby Lonsdale, LA6 2AU

Price From 94.13 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (19)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • simon b

  • October 2015

Vintage charm

If you want to step back in time to a Grannys Attic style 400 year old town building you will love the Copper Kettle.

Very good value for money, homecooked food, friendly caring and attentive owners. Dont expect modern furnishings, it is just a charming olde worde experience. On its doorstep are some very cosy pubs, cafes and restaurants. Ruskins Viewpoint is a mere two minute stroll across the adjacent churchyard, with longer walks optional beyond. One tiny gripe...even the tourist info booklets in the rooms are vintage copies !. Could maybe be updated...but that just added to the vintage feel.!

  • Carol Dunn

  • August 2015

Old fashioned but fine

Run by a houseproud older couple who clearly are committed to running their business.

Clean, rather old fashioned but ancient historic building. Clean bed and good plentiful breakfast. The couple aren't the most chatty, but both very pleasant and helpful. Ok, it's not the ritz so no crystal chandeliers and marble staircase, but it's cheap and fine for a short stay. There was a lot of noise from the pub next door, but that's not the fault of this guesthouse. I feel some of the reviews on here a bit harsh. We enjoyed it.

  • L chadwick

  • August 2015

This bed and breakfast is old, outdated and needs some TLC

Stayed for one night and would not book this b & b again.

The decor is old, dated and tired. It needs some money spending on the property to bring it up to the standard of other accommodation in Kirby Lonsdale. Packed and left early morning. Would not recommend this b & b much nicer accommodation available.

  • S Saha

  • July 2015

Enjoyed our stay.

I stayed there with a friend as we went for the 3peak challenge.

We arrived at the hotel at 12:30 am due to very bad traffic but we were still given a warm welcome. Breakfast was served in the room as we had to leave at 5:30am in the morning. The owners were a friendly old couple who makes your stay very pleasant in all possible way. Lovely food available at the ground floor restaurant at a very reasonable price. On the negative side I feel the carpets needs to be replaced. Would definitely stay there if I visit Yorkshire again.

  • Janet C

  • June 2015

Fabulous hosts and location!

I was a bit wary after reading some of the other reviews about the Copper Kettle but what a little treasure.

The owners were extremely helpful and welcoming. Yes the decor is a bit tired and dated but clean and functional and full of character and the location is superb. We stayed in the three bedded room overlooking the street and had a really pleasant stay. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Anne H

  • February 2015

No problems

Stayed here for one night following a family funeral in the area.

Our room was large and could probably be described as 'a little tired' but totally adequate. The tea room where we had our breakfast was cosy and the breakfast itself very good. For what we paid (£50 for two of us) it was absolutely fine.

  • L Collins

  • October 2014

Overnight stay

Good value for money.

Friendly service, nice breakfast.

  • Nigel B

  • September 2014

Don't stay here!

We stayed here mid-week.

Booked two nights. Left after the first. Landlady did not seem at all surprised. Did not expect this from The first thing that hit is the smell of rancid cooking fat. It permeates the whole building. The décor is dated, shabby and very grubby. We booked a double room en-suite. We got a room with a double bed and a single 90 degrees in the fire place and when we tried to use the shower the water pressure was very low. The room did not look as if it had been redecorated for a very long time. Everything felt dated. Even the magazines in the room were 10 years old. As for the breakfast. The sausages were appalling and this from a B+B opposite an award winning butchers

From reading some of the other comments and listening to locals after we discussed this B & B it seems the owners have hit on to a good scheme. Get people to book for several nights non-refunded but they leave after the first night. Do not stay here. There are much better B+B’s available in the village.

  • Malcolm L

  • August 2014

One night in Kirkby

Enter through the restaurant into the land that time forgot.

If you're kind it might be described as quaint, but tired and a bit scruffy would also do. It was a bit of a surprise to find them on because there were few other signs of 21st century. Endless badly hand written signs in bold felt pen. If you are familiar with b&b accommodation providing tourist information expect nothing more up to date than 3 years old.

  • Chris P

  • August 2014

Good old fashioned service

A welcoming couple run this period establishment.

A bit noisy at the back with smokers from the nearby pub..