No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Copper Kettle

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
3-5 Market Street , , , Kirkby Lonsdale, LA6 2AU
A Warm, Friendly and Comfortable welcome awaits you at this lovely Bed & Breakfast Guest house (Copper Kettle)... located in the beautiful area of Lonsdale and Cumbria. We like to provide a service, at a very reasonable price, that allows our customers to really feel at home, when they come to enjoy a pleasant stay at our guest house Bed & Breakfast accommodation. All our rooms come with comfortable en-suite facilities and room facilities including: Tea & coffee making facilities, TV with freeview, ironing facilities available by request, hair-dryer by request, fresh towels and complimentary toiletries. Free WiFi internet access for guest use and prices fully inclusive of breakfast.
Picture of The Copper Kettle, Kirkby Lonsdale at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Kirby lonsdale is very disabled unfriendly, the room was comfortable for the night we stayed there but the toilet door was badly needing cleaned up the owners were very friendly

Reviewed by
s coles

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank goodness they are selling up (allegedly) !!!
Property looks dilapidated from the outside, wait until you get in! The whole place smells of rancid cooking fat. The bedroom was above the kitchen, the window didn't open and if it did it is above the back door of a pub where everyone goes for a fag! Utility furniture, tea making facilities - dry goods in a jam jar, milk in an uncovered metal jug and turned into cheese before morning.Faulty lock on bedroom door now experts at 'jiggling' Bathroom sort of ok, felt you could end up through floor, door creaked loudly all for the want of a little WD40 Breakfast poor, table mats mucky, service strange. Fortunately we were in Kirby to visit friends and were out mostly, there was no way we could have stayed in the room to be honest we should have left but were asked to pay before we got to the room. Stairs were dark and too steep. One positive there was a parking space. The proprietors are still living in the 1950's (we know because we remember them). When we mentioned where we were staying we received comments such as 'How did you end up there?' 'My friend has a flat you could move to' and Oh dear!' Even if it had been mediocre there was no way it should have been £60 a night

Reviewed by
J McGeever

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
It served a purpose in that we only needed one night before travelling on to our holiday cottage next morning for a week and we live 300 miles away so saved a long journey in one day. It's basically a tea room with accommodation, but reeked of stale chip fat when we opened the front door. The couple who run it are lovely and very accommodating but the whole place needs a serious refurb and as they have been there for many years and I would think are nearing retirement, they wouldn't reap the benefit of spending a lot of money on it. Wouldn't go again, but would have to probably pay at least twice as much somewhere else. Our 3 bed room was only £65 including breakfast

Reviewed by
Anne C

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our trip to Windermere
We stayed here overnight so we could run the Windermere Marathon on the Sunday morning. The room was very 'old school', like a B and B from your childhood! Basic, but clean. We couldn't beat the hospitality of the couple who ran it though, made us feel very welcome indeed.

Reviewed by
C Kelly

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would reccomend
A really nice character accommodation with good food, if you want somewhere a little different and quirky this is for you.

Reviewed by
K Daly

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky & Dog friendly
This was our second stay at The Copper Kettle, the hosts were very friendly & welcoming on both occasions.
Although the rooms are dated they are clean, quirky & great value for money.
If you are expecting the Ritz at these prices, don't bother, however if you just want a nice clean friendly base for your stay you won't go far wrong.
The couple who own it are lovely, and dog friendly.

Reviewed by
R Woodward

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a great little get away

Reviewed by
lou swift

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
The b and b accommodation was perfectly adequate. Having a shed for my motorcycle was a bonus. Breakfast was fine. The room was large and clean though dated, which didn't bother me.
The service was friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
K Craven

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do yourself a favour and look elsewhere
What can I say. The couple who run the Copper Kettle are lovely but the accommodation leaves a lot to be desired. The overwhelming smell of cooking fat greets you and permeates everything. The smell lingered on my clothes after we had left. An unpleasant reminder of a below par experience. Wouldn't stay again.

Reviewed by
Linda C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation
Good sized en suite room, clean, small table and chair was a great addition.

Reviewed by
D Bolton

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next