You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Castle Bar Hotel

4

41, Market Place, Bishop Auckland, DL14 7PB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

64% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Goldsbrough

  • July 2016

Breakfast awful, no sleep due to noise

The hotel was lovely as was the room and staff, the breakfast however was terrible couldn't eat it at all.

The room was lovely but the noise of a loud water tank being filled every 5 minutes kept me awake all night, went straight home to bed for a decent sleep.

  • Barbara s

  • April 2016

The Castle Bar Hotel

Overnight stay on Saturday night very noisy until 2 in the morning no car park room was clean only one person and they were serving at the bar as well as checking people in and they dont serve any food on friday saturday nights would have liked to have that information before I booked

  • Brian Iceton

  • December 2015

Great experience

Very friendly staff excellent service would use again .

  • C Robson

  • October 2015

Nice but noisy

The staff at the Castle Bar were all very friendly and the room decent but if you plan to spend Friday and Saturday nights at the hotel be aware that there is a nightclub directly below that closes at 02.00 in the morning.

My sister and I were two floors above and couldn't get to sleep until the venue closed. Very noisy and boomy experience!

  • A Brownlee

  • July 2015

The Castle Bar Hotel

Great room breakfast was excellent staff very friendly .

  • Lee W

  • July 2015

Good hotel for budget travellers

My wife and I were very happy with our overnight stay at the Castle, fantastic value for money with a lovely breakfast too.

There was a problem with the booking through no fault of the hotel, in that LateRooms are booking rooms out but not notifying the hotel. This was rectified by the duty manager who was fantastic.

  • Pauline S

  • July 2015

Friendly, value for money hotel

The Castle Hotel is very well located, about 10 minutes' walk or so from the station and close to buses, shops and the town square.

The rooms have clearly been refurbished recently and offer more than many rooms in reasonably-priced accommodation e.g. iron, ironing board and hairdryer. No toiletries are included which is fine, towels are nice bath sheet size and the bathroom and bedroom were a good size and clean. The mattress in my room crumpled when I sat on it (says something about me too) so I knew it was not going to be firm, however still slept OK.

I only had breakfast once, as not a fan of cooked breakfast, the 'continental' choice was very plain, cornflakes or sweetened muelsi, and white toast and jam, but since it was included in a very reasonable room price this is not a complaint, but for information . I was impressed by the friendliness of staff and the care they took to make sure everything was all right and will certainly stay there again within the next few months.

  • Derek M

  • June 2015

Lovely staff

The hotel was nothing much to look at on the outside but the room made up for it,they are in the process of renovating the outside so it should make a difference.

The staff were lovely,breakfast was excellent, very few restraunts within easy walking distance unless you like Indian or Chinese, takeaway places outnumber them greatly. I wouldn't stay in bishop Auckland again as nearly everything shuts down at five and doesn't open again until nine(I had to walk over a mile to get an early morning paper). It really is a charming place but not enough to do.

  • D Rea

  • April 2015

Great value

Most comfortable bed imaginable.

Attentive service

  • SUZANNE B

  • March 2015

Slight mix up

When I arrived having booked online with LateRooms 2 months previous, they had no record of the booking.

Fortunately I had taken a print out of my booking confirmation and they were able to offer me a room. Unsure what would have happened if they were fully booked though. They need to investigate to make sure that it doesn't happen again.