The Castle Bar Hotel

4

41, Market Place, Bishop Auckland, DL14 7PB

Price From 85.29 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (38)

79% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • SUZANNE B

  • March 2015

Slight mix up

When I arrived having booked online with LateRooms 2 months previous, they had no record of the booking.

Fortunately I had taken a print out of my booking confirmation and they were able to offer me a room. Unsure what would have happened if they were fully booked though. They need to investigate to make sure that it doesn't happen again.

  • D Gibson

  • September 2014

Depends what you're looking for!

Although the name of this accommodation states Hotel do not be fooled in to thinking you're staying at a hotel.

This is a pub with room's. The location is ideal if you want to be in the center of Bishop Aukland but because of the location and the fact that this is a pub a stay here on the weekend means that there will be noise until around 3 am in our experience. To be fair the price does reflect this and for the stay it is good value for money but don't go here expecting a relaxing break.

When we stayed Cars were driving past beeping horns until around midnight and the pub was open late so there was a lot of loud noise. Plus point would be the location which is right in the town centre and if you are looking for that kind of lively break and intend to stay up drinking this would be ideal. I'd say this would definitely be more suitable to younger travelers, teens and 20's

  • Sharon M

  • August 2014

The hospitality was good, the room was very clean modern tv that works crap parking

We had couple of hours sleep as a night club in the same street music thumping until about 5 , these should def invest in better pvc sound proof windows, apart from that they were very friendly, wouldnt stay again cos of the noise all night

  • P Jackson

  • August 2014

Wifi not available in rooms but managed to connect in bar area.

No hot water from shower although basin water fine. Room clean, tidy & very comfortable. Service on arrival very good as was breakfast. Excellent value for money & fine for my purpose as an overnight stop.

  • Debbie L

  • August 2014

Rooms were nicely decorated and looked recently refurbished.

Breakfast in the morning was very good and the food served in the bar was tasty and excellent value for money (2 mains for £10). The staff were lovely and friendly and were always willing to help. They happily moved us to a room at the back of the hotel after an awful first night's sleep when we were kept awake until 3am by the club across the road, followed by a domestic at 5am in the hotel corridor. Once moved to a quieter room though we had no troubles at all and had a very pleasant stay.

  • joseph m

  • July 2014

Highly recommend this hotel

Budget hotel with aspects better than many high-range ones.

Accommodation is over a very ordinary-looking pub, but room was very high standard of modern decor and comfort. Lighting was excellent, with sufficient light to read by (unusual in hotels in our experience), excellent storage for clothes etc, excellent provision of furniture - including separate table and chairs. It was good to be provided with bath sheets rather than bath towels - and loads of them. Service was also excellent, which friendly, helpful staff.

  • chris d

  • July 2014

A pleasant stay enjoyed by all the family

My special thanks to all the staff who went out of there way to give us a great nights stay.

Thank you all for being so friendly and welcoming, it added that extra something to a very pleasant stay. thanks again

could not recommend them more highly.

  • Michael Metcalfe

  • July 2014

excellent staff and accommodate

Lovely place to stay and fantastic staff 10/10

  • alex s

  • June 2014

Good Value Hotel

as a regular business traveller, i found this hotel absolutely fine.

good value accomodation and all staff pleasant and helpful. only downside was the lack of parking spaces although after 5pm restrictions are lifted. bear in mind the hotel is right in the centre of town, and handy for all facilities and parking in town centres is consistanly difficult. room was clean and comfortable. evening meal well cooked and good size portion. lovely breakfast. when in the area again i will definitely book here again.

  • Daron G

  • June 2014

Good place to stay

The staff were very friendly.

The views of the Town Square from my bedroom were superb. Very convenient location.