No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pig & Whistle

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Pig & Whistle, Newton Road, Littlehempston, Totnes, TQ9 6LT
THE PIG & WHISTLE Tel: 01803 863733 A Traditional Devon Pub with log burners. By car: 5 minutes from Totnes, 10 minutes from Newton Abbot, Torquay & Paignton. Good Food & a reputation for being the place to eat! The best locally sourced ingredients from land to sea. Bar open All Day from 11am (Sundays 12 Noon). FOOD SERVED: Weekdays 12-2.30pm and 6-9pm. Saturday & Sunday All Day 12-9pm Local Real Ales - Dartmoor's Jail Ale, Teignworthy & Hunter's Breweries are regular features & a guest Ale. Worthington Cream Flow. Luscombes Soft Drinks with a great range of New & Old World Wines by the glass or the bottle. A traditional Menu (something for everyone) smaller portions of some dishes for the smaller appetite and a Piglets Menu for children under 12 years. Good home cooked dishes with some vegetarian options, using the best local produce from land to sea. Dartmouth Fresh Fish; Totnes Butcher; Local Vegetables; Exmouth Mussels; Brixham Crab & Berry Pomeroy Game from the local shoot - seasonally. If you have dietry requirements such as gluten free, we are happy to help as best we can. Live Entertainment. We have solo artistes mainly so you can still enjoy your meal. These are popular evenings. Outside seating for the summer months to eat & drink. Free Wifi and a Cloud Hotspot. A warm welcome awaits you. Bed & Breakfast Accommodation - with En-suite, TV's, Tea & Coffee, own entrance. (Sorry no WiFi or Pets in the rooms) Large car park
Picture of Pig & Whistle, Totnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
Enjoyable stay room very tidy and clean, it was a shame the sink was very small almost impossible for my husband to shave. No hot water at the sink but shower was very hot although not very powerful. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection. Good value for money. Very friendly owners.

Reviewed by
Jo R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good basic bed and breakfast accommodation, comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. They also do very good food in the restaurant.

Reviewed by
C Marriott

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tremendous pub and great value too!
What a place, cannot fault this excellent pub,food, service,room. Cannot wait to go back

Reviewed by
Simon B

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality of food and service was excellent. rooms small and basic, bathroom very confined.
The landlord and staff were always helpful and pleasant, service and quality of food very good.
Breakfast was again excellent.
Plenty of car parking spaces and the Pig and Whistle very easy to find as well as very convenient for Totness, Dartington etc.
I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
David Morgan

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Great pub with nice rooms and a really friendly atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Kevin M

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Damn good Chef!!!

Reviewed by
Robert Matulich

From New Mexico, USA
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My new favourite place
Put simply, I fell in love with this place pretty much immediately. The owners are lovely, the accommodation simple and basic (reflected in the price, but it's a case of "everything that you need and nothing you don't". The room I was in had no TV (and was much the better for the lack of one) and the low water pressure in the area meant that the shower's temperature of endearingly variable, but this just added to the feeling of having gotten away to a happier, simpler place and time. The location is simply idyllic, with beautiful rolling Devon hills and sunlight from dawn to dusk. Beers are on gravity and superbly kept, the food is great, it's just a lovely place to chill. I actually stayed for an extra night, just because I couldn't stand the the thought of leaving; that's the first time that's happened. I think I have my new favourite place to go an chill out in the West Country.
Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Ian J

From UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.