No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Dundas Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
53 Station Road, Kintbury, RG17 9UT
Situated in the stunning village of Kintbury, West Berkshire, the Dundas Arms is a glorious 18th Century inn with a bar, a restaurant and a large garden.

Our 8 beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms are decorated in a gorgeous country house style and features include stunning Barnaby Gates wallpaper, lavish curtains and rich wood furnishings as well as luxurious bathrooms complete with sumptuous toiletries by Branche d’Olive.

Bedrooms come with gun cabinets, flat screen digital television, free Wi-Fi and tea & coffee making facilities. Cots and Z-beds can also be provided in the larger rooms. An extra £20 per night including breakfast will be charged for Z-beds.

Dog are more than welcome but in our Superior/riverside rooms only for an extra £10.

Uniquely positioned, nestled between the Kennet & Avon Canal and the River Kennet and in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, the Dundas Arms is extremely close to the market towns of Hungerford and Newbury not to mention famous landmarks such as White Horse Hill and the popular tourist attractions of Highclere Castle and Newbury Race Course.
Picture of The Dundas Arms, Kintbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Dundas Arms
Lovely setting and a good, quiet room (i was in Woodcock). I am allergic to dogs so having 2 roaming around whilst i was eating my dinner was a bit troubling to me; but that didn't bother anyone else so it's probably just me! Great food and good customer service.

Reviewed by
G Newberry

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room with a pub
Nice location, just a mile from main A4 main road, next to canal, no need for alarm clock - ducks will do the job, nice pub and good breakfast, i'd stay here again for sure

Reviewed by
a price

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marvellous
Very comfy river view room. Ample tea and coffee available in the room Staff were very welcoming and evening meals available at a reasonable cost. Breakfast was very good, although it was a shame tea wasn't served in a pot for breakfast.

Reviewed by
Della R

From Belvedere, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Post-Honeymoon Stopover
Arrived quite late at the pub, just in time to order some evening food. Lovely atmosphere and excellent drinks combined with swiftly arriving tasty food helped us get over our recent flight. Really comfy night, great service at breakfast the next morning in the lovely dining room. Breakfast was excellent, and with a full english, we were set for the day. Would stay here again and will recommend to others. Thanks

Reviewed by
T Unwin

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Setting
Had a super stay at the Dundas Arms - a beautiful estrablishment is a great setting right on the canal. Clearly alot of effort has gone into refurbishment recently, and the rooms are beautifully decorated. We had dinner & breakfast here, both were good quality.
9/10

Reviewed by
Rob H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful setting
Really lovely place to stay especially with the riverside view rooms. Breakfast was very limited choice but was good. Evening meal very disappointing , this was the only downfall every thing else was lovely

Reviewed by
j adkin

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Death trap!
The room itself was pleasant and well appointed but gave on to a completely unprotected river frontage. There was a warning sign outside on the private terrace but this was placed at right angles to the steep drop into the deep river and therefore hardly to be noticed. The room was advertised as suitable for dog owners but, in addition to the risk from the deep water, there was free access to the neighbouring terraces: not only might our dog have posed a nuisance to the other guests but this also begs questions about security.

Reviewed by
J Lewis

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable stay on a very sunny day!
The highlight of our stay was most definitely the terrace, ducks and beautiful weather, our 3yo was in his element which allowed us to relax. The hotel was nice and the decor tasteful but needed a little more attention to detail, the welcome was lacking, as was the service at times. If we'd have been in a standard room I think I'd have been disappointed, but the afore mentioned room terrace made up for this. Minor things like the terrace needed a sweep, the 'toilet walkway' through to the rooms with toilet doors propped open took the edge off walking to the room. BUT we did have a nice stay and the value for money was good, oh and the bed was very comfortable. Despite the slight negatives I would stay again if in the area, but would want a river room in the summer!

Reviewed by
Nichola Lewis

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Great stop over.

Reviewed by
A Hall

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous find with a riverside view and food to die for
The hotel itself was wonderfully well kept and furnished, and the staff young but incredibly welcoming. Our room was beautiful with a riverside view, furnished to a high quality and gleamingly clean. We ate in and the food was amazing!! Breakfast was also incredibly good food, and was cooked to order.
We loved the stay and will be staying with them again

Reviewed by
claire g

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next