No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Carriages

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
The Parade Wellington, Telford, TF1 1PY
Carriages - Telford's 7 room Boutique Hotel.

Carriages is a beautiful hotel in the heart of the historic Shropshire market town of Wellington, Telford, just over 4 miles away from Telford Centre including the TIC, Stafford Park and major commercial areas.

With a Restaurant and Boutique bar available to all, this is the ideal place to spend a relaxing weekend in a Telford intimate Hotel, or a place to unwind after a hard days work.

All 7 luxury rooms, with en-suite facilities have recently been refurbished to the highest standards and offer exceptional quality. Each room has been designed individually to give a relaxing feel to your stay.

The rooms include flat screen TV with Freeview, complimentary beverages, hair dryers, telephones, room safes and ironing facilities.

Located just 2 minutes from Wellington train station and just 4 miles from Telford Town Centre, Carriages is perfect for business and social guests.

Check in times from 3pm
Check out: 11am
Breakfast Served from 7am - 10am

(Please let us know if you have alternative requirements and we will be happy to accommodate)

The Carriages includes a guest Cocktail lounge offering a vast selection of Wines, Spirits, Beers and Cocktails.

Evening meals are also available for our guests between the hours of 5pm and 9pm.

Other services offered by Carriages include:

- Conference Room / Meeting room for up to 25 guests (available for hourly booking)
- Train Station meet and greet service
- Free Cloud WIFI
- Afternoon Tea

Picture of Carriages, Telford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant comfortable stay
Carriages is a very modern, clean, up to date accommodation. Breakfast was excellent. The only comment I would make is there is no official parking. The rear of the hotel is used by staff from the shops that backs onto the hotel up to closing time. Then on an evening you have to squeeze in with staff from the restaurant/cocktail bar and patrons. Plenty of free parking not far from the hotel but the locals told me not to leave my vehicle overnight parked there.

Reviewed by
Kathleen S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little gem of a hotel
When you pull up you may start to reconsider as the initial location is a little different to what you may expect. However when you enter you will be pleasantly surprised at the quality if the hotel and will be greeted with a warm and efficient welcome. This hotel deserves the credit it's give and the staff make this a relaxing and pleasant place to stay.

Reviewed by
J Plumb

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easter weekend
Fabulous place to stay. The rooms, cocktail bar and dining area were all extremely plush and we were made to feel so welcome by the all the staff who couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. A huge thanks to everyone at Carriages for that! The food was top quality and very generous portions also. The only negative point was the music emanating from the public bar beneath the building but this was not too late into the night generally. Overall, great value and great service!
Would thoroughly recommend the place and will certainly return!

Reviewed by
G Carter

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Don't let first impressions put you off, this is a hidden gem and I would highly recommend it to anyone. My room was beautifully furnished, extremely clean and very quiet. The staff were polite and attentive throughout my one night stay and breakfast first rate.

Reviewed by
richard crisp

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find in Telford
I was late booking a room in Telford and we found this spot for a good price. From the moment I arrived the customer service was A+. The checked me in quickly, and helped me bring my large luggage pieces and boxes up to my room. The bar is quite nice and the dining area is nice as well. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and were very pleased. The room was good but not big. Didn't matter though as the service and ambience more than made up for that minor shortcoming. If you want the local flair, head downstairs where the locals watch football matches. Definitely not as nice as the bar upstairs, but it was a fun experience. There is also a college very close by that was a good place to go for a run.

Reviewed by
D Conner

From USA
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Didn't have my booking
Unfortunately after driving 100 miles to stay at this hotel, they had not received my booking and were fully booked.
The Manager was pleasant enough and we got a free soft drink while scouring the internet on our phones to find another hotel, but this is not really acceptable.
The error was blamed on Laterooms but would never risk booking at this hotel again! Beware!

Reviewed by
Amanda K

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Refit of Old Hotel
A Superb refit of the former Station hotel with excellent access to public transport with the Bus and Rail stations outside the door both very reasonably priced. I was able to travel the 150 miles from home with good connections, able to have a drink,find my room and then check the conference venue in excellent time and able to get reasonably priced meals. On my leaving day I had the dining room to myself for breakfast which was produced to order with no request being a problem.

Reviewed by
Martin S

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden away gem
Don't be put off by the outside, we were and considered driving away and finding somewhere else to stay but were glad we didn't as from the moment you step through the door Carriages transports you to a world where the customer is appreciated rather than tolerated. Accommodation is superb, food was excellent and customer service that makes you want to come back - we most definitely will!

Reviewed by
David Wilson

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent value for money hotel service food and ambience excellent

Reviewed by
T Smart

From Stourport, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little hotel with a good personal service

Reviewed by
ian gilbert

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next