No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown & Horns

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Compton Road, , , East Ilsley, RG20 7LH
The Crown & Horns is a beautifully renovated and refurbished country inn nestled in the heart of West Berkshire's racing countryside with Newbury racecourse only 11 miles away. Our 11 individually designed en-suite rooms (from £55 per room per night) are clustered around a kitchen courtyard, and with roaring log fires, oak beams, lots of real ales and simple, fresh, locally sourced food, The Crown & Horns is the perfect stop over for business and leisure travellers. Didcot town centre is 8 miles, Newbury 10 miles and Oxford 23 miles from the Crown & Horns Inn. Free on-site parking is available and the A34/M4 motorway junction is a 3 minute drive away. We are open all day every day from 12 noon, and serve food 12-3(ish) and 6-10(ish), although we always have sandwiches, sharing platter and pizzas available if you get peckish through the afternoon! So whether it's Mum's birthday, your wedding anniversary or you just fancy a couple of pints with friends, you'll be well looked after. Each of our 11 en-suite rooms is individually designed providing the style, charm and comfort you'd expect at prices you wouldn't. Every bedroom has all the things you really need and none of the things you don't - a piping hot power shower (some with baths), professional hairdryer, sumptuous linen, flat screen TV, free WIFI and mugs of tea and coffee. The village of East Ilsley, which can be traced back to the Domesday Book, is situated in the North Wessex Downs, in Berkshire, England in an area of outstanding natural beauty just off The Ridgeway. The village was historically noted for its great Sheep Fairs, and more recently for its horse-racing connections.
Picture of The Crown & Horns, East Ilsley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
Kevin Weston

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paul and Gemma
The Crown and Horns was excellent value for money. The staff made you feel welcome and valued and the manageress Kim ensured our stay was what you would expect from any quality hotel.
We will definitely return to the Crown and Horns when next in the area

Reviewed by
P FURNELL

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food & accommodation
Rooms are clean.
Hot water takes a while to come through but shower is good.
Food is a little higher priced than surrounding area but this balances out with the accommodation being cheaper than elsewhere

Reviewed by
Peter E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
Kevin Weston

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

smart traditional inn
Really welcoming place and staff couldn't do enough to help you. I accidentally left a mobile charger and they sent it on without delay.

Reviewed by
Steven f

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Clean Accomodation
Nice rooms and good food

Reviewed by
A Bolton

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent little place
Really enjoyed our one night stay here. Arrived fairly late as we'd been to a wedding but received a warm welcome, even had our suitcase carried to the room for us. Room was vintage style (which I love) and the whole place had a lot of character. The shower was also amazing... very generously sized. Delicious bacon sandwich for breakfast too. Would defintiely visit again.

Reviewed by
D Preece

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem.
Having spent 3 nights here over the Bank Holiday weekend I cannot recommend this Inn enough. From arrival to leaving the service and friendliness was exceptional from one and all. The room was lovely and had everything that you could need, very comfortable bed, lovely shower in the bathroom and the attention to detail throughout was good. We ate in each evening and the food was very nice, always presented beautifully and tasted as good as it looked! Breakfast set us up for the day and I can recommend the bacon butty! We shall return in the not too distant future. I just hope that they have a room available, as this is a truly lovely establishment in a pretty village.

Reviewed by
susan r

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
Didn't eat on this occasion as meeting colleagues in town.
Rooms was clean and tidy & although a little on the small side, felt quite homely.
The bed had an excess of scatter cushions but was comfortable.
Good sized bathroom with large walk-in shower cubical.

Reviewed by
Peter E

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just passing through
There are two very small rooms amongst the accommodation at this Inn which are really only suitable for one night with little luggage. Nonethless, our room was very well turned out and stocked with all that we needed. The shower room was spotless, the bed comfortable and there was everything we required. When we stay again, which we shall, we will ask for a larger room. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was excellent, and the breakfast was of an equal standard.

Reviewed by
C Rickard

From Ivybridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next