No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown & Horns

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Compton Road, , , East Ilsley, RG20 7LH
The Crown & Horns is a beautifully renovated and refurbished country inn nestled in the heart of West Berkshire's racing countryside with Newbury racecourse only 11 miles away. Our 11 individually designed en-suite rooms (from £55 per room per night) are clustered around a kitchen courtyard, and with roaring log fires, oak beams, lots of real ales and simple, fresh, locally sourced food, The Crown & Horns is the perfect stop over for business and leisure travellers. Didcot town centre is 8 miles, Newbury 10 miles and Oxford 23 miles from the Crown & Horns Inn. Free on-site parking is available and the A34/M4 motorway junction is a 3 minute drive away. We are open all day every day from 12 noon, and serve food 12-3(ish) and 6-10(ish), although we always have sandwiches, sharing platter and pizzas available if you get peckish through the afternoon! So whether it's Mum's birthday, your wedding anniversary or you just fancy a couple of pints with friends, you'll be well looked after. Each of our 11 en-suite rooms is individually designed providing the style, charm and comfort you'd expect at prices you wouldn't. Every bedroom has all the things you really need and none of the things you don't - a piping hot power shower (some with baths), professional hairdryer, sumptuous linen, flat screen TV, free WIFI and mugs of tea and coffee. The village of East Ilsley, which can be traced back to the Domesday Book, is situated in the North Wessex Downs, in Berkshire, England in an area of outstanding natural beauty just off The Ridgeway. The village was historically noted for its great Sheep Fairs, and more recently for its horse-racing connections.
Picture of The Crown & Horns, East Ilsley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

efficient check in, welcoming service, delicious food served despite rather late hour, tastefully decorated room with all facilities you might need - recommended!

Reviewed by
Magdalena G

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pub, great food and good quality accommodation

Reviewed by
Martin L

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent country escape
Although we didn't have dinner here as we had booked a table at Marco Pierre whites restaurant the menu looked lovely and we will return to sample it. I couldn't fault the staff nor the room and the rates were definitely value for money as I would have been happy to pay more.

Reviewed by
amanda davies

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay - recommend
Highly recommend: friendly, efficient staff, good food, small but well-thought out room. We booked last minute, stayed when heavily pregnant on a night before a wedding locally and were very impressed. Recently changed ownership apparently - they've done well.

Reviewed by
Chris C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

COUNTRY RETREAT
Excellent accommodation, great location, good value for money, lovely food & very friendly service.

Reviewed by
RUTH G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food!
Stayed here on a business trip. Room was quite small but adequate and had everything I needed. It was extremely hot and had no aircon but it was one of the hottest nights of the year so not sure if it was the room or the weather! Wouldn't normally expect aircon in a hotel of this type or price so again, not necessarily their fault. The room was above the kitchen though so that probably didn't help. Bed was a bit soft for my liking. Food however was excellent. Both the evening meal and breakfast were delicious, great value and served with a smile. Lovely real ales too! Whilst here eating dinner outside in their pub garden some Morris Dancers appeared and gave a little show. It was like I was in an advert for the English tourist board!

Reviewed by
Tim S

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem.
As a frequent traveller in the UK it is refreshing when you come across an establishment like this with a group of people intent on making your stay a positive experience. A tranquil location, high quality accommodation and fantastic food all adds to the overall value-for-money package.
Highly recommended for both business and leisure stays.

Reviewed by
Steven M

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great country inn
Lovely place to stay. I stayed on business for a night on a hot summer evening and loved being able to work in the courtyard on the free wi-fi and enjoy the real ales and good gastropub food. Great choice of fish dishes. Room cosy and well decorated but on the courtyard and therefore some noise until the pub closes.

Reviewed by
M Pitts

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
Kevin Weston

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
Kevin Weston

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next