No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown & Horns

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Compton Road, , , East Ilsley, RG20 7LH
The Crown & Horns is a beautifully renovated and refurbished country inn nestled in the heart of West Berkshire's racing countryside with Newbury racecourse only 11 miles away. Our 11 individually designed en-suite rooms (from £55 per room per night) are clustered around a kitchen courtyard, and with roaring log fires, oak beams, lots of real ales and simple, fresh, locally sourced food, The Crown & Horns is the perfect stop over for business and leisure travellers. Didcot town centre is 8 miles, Newbury 10 miles and Oxford 23 miles from the Crown & Horns Inn. Free on-site parking is available and the A34/M4 motorway junction is a 3 minute drive away. We are open all day every day from 12 noon, and serve food 12-3(ish) and 6-10(ish), although we always have sandwiches, sharing platter and pizzas available if you get peckish through the afternoon! So whether it's Mum's birthday, your wedding anniversary or you just fancy a couple of pints with friends, you'll be well looked after. Each of our 11 en-suite rooms is individually designed providing the style, charm and comfort you'd expect at prices you wouldn't. Every bedroom has all the things you really need and none of the things you don't - a piping hot power shower (some with baths), professional hairdryer, sumptuous linen, flat screen TV, free WIFI and mugs of tea and coffee. The village of East Ilsley, which can be traced back to the Domesday Book, is situated in the North Wessex Downs, in Berkshire, England in an area of outstanding natural beauty just off The Ridgeway. The village was historically noted for its great Sheep Fairs, and more recently for its horse-racing connections.
Picture of The Crown & Horns, East Ilsley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we needed!
Great staff, excellent food (4 meals in 2 days) really good value... I'll be back!
Room was clean, good facilities can't fault it!

Reviewed by
S Sandhu

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My partner and I had a wonderful weekend staying at "The Crown and Horns". The inn is beautifully decorated, traditional but with a modern twist, and extremely comfortable. Our bedroom was again very well presented, extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. We ate in the restaurant area both evenings of our stay and were so pleased we did; the menu was imaginative and didn't disappoint. The Tapas sharing plate was the best starter we had ever eaten! Fine Dining indeed. The service was excellent; the staff all extremely friendly and helpful.
We would highly recommend this inn and hope to return very soon.

Reviewed by
Karen S

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Little Diamond
Easy find, lovely people, good food, good accommodation way better than chain hotels.

Reviewed by
A Marsh

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were delighted with our night's stay at the Crown & Horns. The accomadation was very comfortable and clean. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and the evening meal very enjoyable, both in the food eaten and service given!

Reviewed by
J Jones

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Excellent experience - only quibble is that could have been taken to room and had facilities explained rather than just pointed in its direction.

Reviewed by
John B

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful room and delicious food
i booked this for a relaxing night away with my boyfriend. we were both met by welcoming friendly staff and showed to our room which was beautifully decorated and spotless. we went to the bar for our evening meal the menu looked amazing however we both opted for the steak which was cooked perfectly. we also stayed for breakfast which was delicious. we will most definitely be booking to come here again. thankyou for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
rachael w

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Real Ale, Real Food, Real Bed!
Large nicely-furnished room with massive comfy bed, at a pub serving good food and real ale! What more could anyone want for a stopover?

Reviewed by
Rosemary R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
Room was very clean and had everything we needed. Customer service could be improved, as the booking in was rushed and not too welcoming..possibly due to the reception being at the end of the bar!! Our stay would have been far more enjoyable if the fantastic looking shower had been working properly and not cut out halfway though. All in all not bad for price paid but improvments could be made.

Reviewed by
R Adams

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spot on in every way!
Wonderful place to stay. Staff were friendly, welcoming and happy to help with any query. Food was phenominal! The whole place has a charming combination of classic and modern looks which works incredibly well. All in all I couldn't have asked for more.

Reviewed by
r briggshaw

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but Perfectly Formed
My first stay are that Crown & Horns, but I will definitely be going back.
The bedroom was on the small side, but it was very nicely finished. It was warm and clean, the bed was comfortable, the linen clean and soft and the bathroom well appointed with a fantastic shower. What more could you ask for? I loved the gentle humor of the signage on the bedroom doors. All in all it was a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Holli B

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next