No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown & Horns

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Compton Road, , , East Ilsley, RG20 7LH
The Crown & Horns is a beautifully renovated and refurbished country inn nestled in the heart of West Berkshire's racing countryside with Newbury racecourse only 11 miles away. Our 11 individually designed en-suite rooms (from £55 per room per night) are clustered around a kitchen courtyard, and with roaring log fires, oak beams, lots of real ales and simple, fresh, locally sourced food, The Crown & Horns is the perfect stop over for business and leisure travellers. Didcot town centre is 8 miles, Newbury 10 miles and Oxford 23 miles from the Crown & Horns Inn. Free on-site parking is available and the A34/M4 motorway junction is a 3 minute drive away. We are open all day every day from 12 noon, and serve food 12-3(ish) and 6-10(ish), although we always have sandwiches, sharing platter and pizzas available if you get peckish through the afternoon! So whether it's Mum's birthday, your wedding anniversary or you just fancy a couple of pints with friends, you'll be well looked after. Each of our 11 en-suite rooms is individually designed providing the style, charm and comfort you'd expect at prices you wouldn't. Every bedroom has all the things you really need and none of the things you don't - a piping hot power shower (some with baths), professional hairdryer, sumptuous linen, flat screen TV, free WIFI and mugs of tea and coffee. The village of East Ilsley, which can be traced back to the Domesday Book, is situated in the North Wessex Downs, in Berkshire, England in an area of outstanding natural beauty just off The Ridgeway. The village was historically noted for its great Sheep Fairs, and more recently for its horse-racing connections.
Picture of The Crown & Horns, East Ilsley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was beautifully presented and so comfortable. Owners and staff were very welcoming and attentive and dealt with a small problem immediately and without question. The food was gorgeous; cooked to perfection and presented to a high standard. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this as an outstanding place to stay which is close to Oxford City Centre and Newbury racecourse. I will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Gillian S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing quality and value
We would certainly stay here again. The customer service was excellent from the start. The room was not huge but it was perfectly decorated, modern, very clean and comfortable.
The food in the evening and for breakfast were not expensive, but were very tasty indeed. The service was also to a very high standard. We could not fault this at all and would certainly recommend this to anyone needing a short stay.
Lovely pub, lovely room and lovely location.

Reviewed by
Philip L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value & lovely food
I have stayed at this pub on a few occasions over the past 12 months and it never dissapoints. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and very clean. The staff on site are very knowledgable, polite and friendly and the quality of the food in the restaurant is excelent. Highly recommended

Reviewed by
C Bush

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GOOD OVERNIGHT STOP
Very good in all respects especially food; we had evening meal and breakfast .One slight problem for us,our room was at the front of the pub and overnight was much too hot ( radiators not on) and we had to open all windows which introduced some street noise, although as a village not a major issue. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
L R

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely, friendly, clean, welcoming and fuss free. would definately return. my only 1 gripe was the noise of the power shower from adjoining room, I did have a hangover so probably seemed louder than it was but all the same, that noise near your head at 6am, not good! but the flip side to that is the showers were very nice!

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Regular user - pleased again
Have now stayed in this area for six months, on average once a week, and have where possible stayed at The Crown and Horns, simply because it is warm; dry; comfortable and what I am very satisfied with. No complaints whatsoever - even has good real ale which goes very well with the excellent food! Just need to book in advance - it gets full too often!

Reviewed by
Chris D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Recently renovated country pub with fantastic contemporary bedrooms and wonderful food. Excellent value for money and we would definitely return. Far superior to many Holiday Inns!

Reviewed by
Wendy B

From Tadcaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good place to stay, very friendly staff and very accommodating.
would definitely recommend to anyone and everyone

Reviewed by
S Davies

From Builth Wells, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic atmosphere and friendly staff. The room was immaculate and showed attention to detail you just don't usually find.
Would recommend to anyone to stay in this establishment.

Reviewed by
S Brant

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good.

Reviewed by
K Weston

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next