No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown & Horns

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Compton Road, , , East Ilsley, RG20 7LH
The Crown & Horns is a beautifully renovated and refurbished country inn nestled in the heart of West Berkshire's racing countryside with Newbury racecourse only 11 miles away. Our 11 individually designed en-suite rooms (from £55 per room per night) are clustered around a kitchen courtyard, and with roaring log fires, oak beams, lots of real ales and simple, fresh, locally sourced food, The Crown & Horns is the perfect stop over for business and leisure travellers. Didcot town centre is 8 miles, Newbury 10 miles and Oxford 23 miles from the Crown & Horns Inn. Free on-site parking is available and the A34/M4 motorway junction is a 3 minute drive away. We are open all day every day from 12 noon, and serve food 12-3(ish) and 6-10(ish), although we always have sandwiches, sharing platter and pizzas available if you get peckish through the afternoon! So whether it's Mum's birthday, your wedding anniversary or you just fancy a couple of pints with friends, you'll be well looked after. Each of our 11 en-suite rooms is individually designed providing the style, charm and comfort you'd expect at prices you wouldn't. Every bedroom has all the things you really need and none of the things you don't - a piping hot power shower (some with baths), professional hairdryer, sumptuous linen, flat screen TV, free WIFI and mugs of tea and coffee. The village of East Ilsley, which can be traced back to the Domesday Book, is situated in the North Wessex Downs, in Berkshire, England in an area of outstanding natural beauty just off The Ridgeway. The village was historically noted for its great Sheep Fairs, and more recently for its horse-racing connections.
Picture of The Crown & Horns, East Ilsley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were delighted with our night's stay at the Crown & Horns. The accomadation was very comfortable and clean. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and the evening meal very enjoyable, both in the food eaten and service given!

Reviewed by
J Jones

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Excellent experience - only quibble is that could have been taken to room and had facilities explained rather than just pointed in its direction.

Reviewed by
John B

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful room and delicious food
i booked this for a relaxing night away with my boyfriend. we were both met by welcoming friendly staff and showed to our room which was beautifully decorated and spotless. we went to the bar for our evening meal the menu looked amazing however we both opted for the steak which was cooked perfectly. we also stayed for breakfast which was delicious. we will most definitely be booking to come here again. thankyou for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
rachael w

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Real Ale, Real Food, Real Bed!
Large nicely-furnished room with massive comfy bed, at a pub serving good food and real ale! What more could anyone want for a stopover?

Reviewed by
Rosemary R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
Room was very clean and had everything we needed. Customer service could be improved, as the booking in was rushed and not too welcoming..possibly due to the reception being at the end of the bar!! Our stay would have been far more enjoyable if the fantastic looking shower had been working properly and not cut out halfway though. All in all not bad for price paid but improvments could be made.

Reviewed by
R Adams

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spot on in every way!
Wonderful place to stay. Staff were friendly, welcoming and happy to help with any query. Food was phenominal! The whole place has a charming combination of classic and modern looks which works incredibly well. All in all I couldn't have asked for more.

Reviewed by
r briggshaw

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but Perfectly Formed
My first stay are that Crown & Horns, but I will definitely be going back.
The bedroom was on the small side, but it was very nicely finished. It was warm and clean, the bed was comfortable, the linen clean and soft and the bathroom well appointed with a fantastic shower. What more could you ask for? I loved the gentle humor of the signage on the bedroom doors. All in all it was a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Holli B

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was beautifully presented and so comfortable. Owners and staff were very welcoming and attentive and dealt with a small problem immediately and without question. The food was gorgeous; cooked to perfection and presented to a high standard. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this as an outstanding place to stay which is close to Oxford City Centre and Newbury racecourse. I will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Gillian S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing quality and value
We would certainly stay here again. The customer service was excellent from the start. The room was not huge but it was perfectly decorated, modern, very clean and comfortable.
The food in the evening and for breakfast were not expensive, but were very tasty indeed. The service was also to a very high standard. We could not fault this at all and would certainly recommend this to anyone needing a short stay.
Lovely pub, lovely room and lovely location.

Reviewed by
Philip L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value & lovely food
I have stayed at this pub on a few occasions over the past 12 months and it never dissapoints. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and very clean. The staff on site are very knowledgable, polite and friendly and the quality of the food in the restaurant is excelent. Highly recommended

Reviewed by
C Bush

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next