No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old House

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Effingham Road, Copthorne , Copthorne, West Sussex, RH10 3JB
The Old House Inn, despite its name and age, is actually a new country dining pub with rooms. Situated just minutes from Gatwick Airport yet with a surprisingly remote feel, the Old House Inn has been recently renovated to an exceptional standard and has been transformed into a wonderful country pub offering outstanding food, drink and accommodation.
Picture of The Old House, Copthorne, West Sussex at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Stay
Lovely little gem of a hotel which is set in a great rural setting but close enough to get into Crawley and East Grinstead. The owner and each member of staff are very attentive and genuinely interested in you and your stay. The rooms are extremely large, beds very comfortable and the free standing bath filled up with bubbles very relaxing. The food may be slightly pricey in the restaurant but is of a very high quality. Together with the atmosphere in the restaurant and the attention to detail in all areas of the accommodation you leave having had a very memorable stay and knowing you would return.

Reviewed by
D T

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Difficult to find
We struggled to locate The Old House, but once there we were very pleased with the room and the food was superb. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and made us very welcome.

Reviewed by
David S

From Sandown, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb relaxed and individual
What a lovely treat - we came for a local wedding and our room was ready when we arrived early hoping to just leave our bags, the room and whole place was clean, quirky and full of lovely touches, a really warm welcome and gorgeous modern food. Loved it! Far better than we hoped for and plan to be back. Lots of our friends were in modern corporate identikit hotels and this was an absolute gem! Even a roll top bath in the room - although a shower as well would have been appreciated - our only slight 'reservation'. Thank you!

Reviewed by
Katie B

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
This hotel was much better than we expected from reading the website! Lovely big room with comfortable big bed, huge wet room, spotlessly clean. Friendly staff, and delightful setting, attractively refurbished. Dinner and breakfast were both good. Bit of flight and road noise but nothing that disturbed our sleep! We would return.

Reviewed by
geraldine s

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding
Can't fault it. Newly converted comfortable room with excellent bathroom. Interesting old pub / restaurant. Food was great. We had breakfast and dinner. Not cheap, but a pretty special experience. There is some aircraft noise, but not intrusive and I guess for some customers the proximity to Gatwick is a reason to stay. Will definitely go here again if we are in the area. We had stayed the week before at a pub in Bletchingley. The contrast could not be greater. Do not stay in the old pub (WH) in near by Bletchingley use this one!

Reviewed by
Nigel W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed the mixture of the historic character building and the comfort of a modern room

Reviewed by
C Dodd

From Camrose, Canada
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional customer service.
Customer service was exceptional. Raj was very friendly and helpful throughout. I managed to leave my wedding ring behind, Raj called me up, sent it out to me by recorded delivery. No hassle at all.
Surroundings are very beautiful. Pub is charming. Very near to the airport parking too. Would definitely go back

Reviewed by
P Vance

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top hotel and pub , the staff are very friendly and very helpful , the rooms are excellent very clean and spacious also the food is also very good although I didn't try much of the menu due to work commitments ,
Overall I'd certainly be back to all the staff keep up the good work and a big thank you

Reviewed by
Grahame Newstead

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful little piece of heaven!
Instead of writing a review on our experience, I can quite openly and honestly say we chose this place due to its previous reviews. Our review has very little to add except that if you looking for an amazing night off from the kids, this is the perfect place to enjoy good food, good wine and friendly professional people. The staff are excellent and polite and the entire experience was thoroughly worth it. A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay.
The hotel room is modern, stylish and clean. It had everything you could want for a weekend away. The bed is comfortable and large. The bathroom is brilliant, loved the wet room. The shower is a little weak but perfectly good, just not a power shower. The main part of the hotel is fascinating and has an old world quaint charm mixed with modern gastro pub. Our meal was excellent and the breakfast could not be faulted. It was wet and awful outside (weather wise, not the hotel) but this did not dampen our visit.

Reviewed by
Tess S

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next