No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Brown Horse Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
The Brown Horse Hotel High Stoop, Tow Law, DL13 4HJ
A warm welcome awaits you at The Brown Horse Hotel, offering Bed & Breakfast facilities at very competitive rates. Here at The Brown Horse, we have 7 en-suite rooms, all of which have been recently refurbished to a very high standard.

Guest Rooms at The Brown Horse Hotel feature the following facilities:
- Tea & Coffee making facilities,
- Widescreen Television,
- Free Wireless Internet access,
- On-Site Parking for all guests,
- Smoke-Free Environment,
- Warm and inviting atmosphere for all guests to enjoy

Single, Double and Twin Rooms are available, for further information, current pricing and reservations, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Picture of The Brown Horse Hotel, Tow Law at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not to be missed
Although on arrival it is obvious major changes are being made to extend and improve the hotel. Don't let it stop you. The accommodation is spotless and good sized rooms that are well fitted. The food is excellent value and not to be missed. Portions are large and you need to be hungry. Sunday carvery is very popular
A great place to stay with friendly staff owners and locals.
All in all a great experience and one we will be repeating.

Reviewed by
Neville M

From Windermere, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Granddad and Grandson
Very friendly owners and staff. When extension is completed this will be a very good stop over Hotel.
Hope to stay again in the future.

Reviewed by
G Dawson

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Modern, Clean & Welcoming.... what more do you need in a B n B ?
Quick overnight stop. Convenient location right on A68, clean room, reasonably priced, modern facilities, with a decent breakfast and welcoming staff! Thumbs up from me!

Reviewed by
e KANE

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reveiw
Perfectly fine place - nice room comfy bed friendly welcome - ideal for working traveller. Restaurant does cheap pub fare meals. Road noise may be an issue if you had the window open

Reviewed by
Tim Lanceley

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, clean and well attended by management and staff
I was well looked after by the management and staff. They are aware of shortcomings, mostly due to extension of the property, and are ready to improve.

Reviewed by
A Booth

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and welcoming, accommodating for later arrival, excellent food and fair price, would definitely stay again, only addition to room would be a bedside table.

Reviewed by
Gary C

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have been "on the road" with my job for the last 15 years and this is the first time I have felt a hotel worthy of a review. Good accommodation, excellent home cooked food and a warm welcome. I would definitely recommend this to work colleagues and friends. I intend to return with my wife on a short holiday break

Reviewed by
Jack Mooney

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service - we were made very welcome & nothing was too much trouble. And breakfast was super.

Reviewed by
A Macchi

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly and Welcoming
My daughter and I stayed here the day before she started at Durham University. The twin room was of a good size with amenities as listed (essential Wi-Fi for my daughter!). The en-suite was large with both a decent size bath and separate shower. My only niggle was that the light in the bathroom is too dim and I'm sure could be fixed with a brighter bulb. The staff were very welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble. We ate in the bar in the evening and chatted to other guests who were also very friendly. We had the cooked breakfast in the morning at a time we chose, and could have any combination of items we liked. I hope to stay here again whenever visiting my daughter, and would recommend it to other travellers.

Reviewed by
Karen S

From Worcester Park, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for bikers
Although no record of my booking I was made very welcome. Room was comfortable and had all I needed for a good night's stay. Staff friendly and accomodating. Met boss and he was really entertaining. Parking safe but is shingle and gravel for bikes.

Reviewed by
Mike N

From Saffron Walden, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next