Reviews - Kew B&B

3

271 Sandycombe Road , ,, Richmond, TW9 3LU

Price From 77.88 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (41)

56% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A McKeever

  • January 2016

Saturday in Kew

A lovely , big, well-furnished room looking out on the street.

Very comfortable, although the shower room was a little small.

  • matt r

  • January 2016

Kew B&B

Room was cold on arrival every night.

Parking on site. - 2 cars only , the agent that run the b&b was welcoming and friendly, unlike his partner who didn't seem to have the time of day for people

Doors banging through the night

Cats in the kitchen. Doesn't do it for me

  • E Lydiatt

  • January 2016

Kew B and B

This is a clean, no frills, value for money, bed and breakfast accommodation.

It's quite close to station and gardens with plenty of choice of places to eat nearby.

  • C Rogers

  • December 2015

Kew B&B

I'm afraid that this has to be the worst B&B I have stayed at.

Not long after I made the booking, I tried to contact the owner by 'phone and e-mail - both of which were ignored. As soon as we arrived, the owner asked for payment which is unusual. I stayed in Room 8 which has recently been renovated, but to get to the coffee, tea etc and the kettle you need to be a contortionist because of the eaves - I'm short and I struggled. The milks in the bedroom were 'off' even though they were long life. The rooms are very minimalist and the wardrobe is certainly not 'large'. The bed was comfortable, the linen was clean but the towels had seen 'better days'. My friend stayed in Room 7 and thankfully we were first down to breakfast (continental) as there were others who were turned away and asked to come back later because there was not enough room at the table. I paid £88 for my room and breakfast and appreciate that this is near London, but it really was not good value for money. The owner made me me feel that it was a chore for him. More worrying than anything is that I did not see any Fire Notices in the bedroom or any extinguishers on the landings.

  • S Johnson

  • October 2015

Disappointed !

The room was to small to be a double room, no space to move around the bed, shower room needed work , broken toilet seat , holes in ceilings not repaired , shower flooded the floor when used, damp smell, disappointing breakfast , would recommend the sofa was removed to make more space

  • B Broad

  • June 2015

Not Recommended

We were given Room 1 on the ground floor at front of the house.

The bed was comfortable but one side was pushed up against the wall and old fireplace. A large and unnecessary settee took up most of the rest of the room. There was no provision of any bedside lighting, the window curtains difficult to draw. TV reception was very poor. Worse than any of this was the fact the people in the room directly above were thumping about and chatting noisily until 2.30 AM. The en suite was functional but smelled, due no doubt to the lack of a working extractor and the fact that the shower tray did not retain the water properly. No one enquired as to our comfort at any stage. We only saw the owner for less than 1 minute, at breakfast, when he asked how we were going to pay. The one bright spot was the young Nepalise student 'Ray' who served us breakfast and took our £88.00 cash payment. He was friendly, helpful and chatty. Should we decide to visit Kew Gardens again we would definitely stay elsewhere.

  • wally frost

  • April 2015

review

the only downside to our stay was the sloping roof in the room.everything else about our stay was very good also very friendly.

  • J lewis

  • April 2015

Average B&B but good location for Kew and Good Value

Hosted by a lovely couple.

Just off a main road. Exterior of accommodation looks poor

  • Dino F

  • March 2015

B&B of Slamming Doors and Family dinner fights 3 feet away from us

The owners were kind and the breakfast was full of options; it was convenient for us to stay in the area for two nights and the price was right.

However, the room we stayed in - Room 2 - was the worst B&B experience we've had to date. The B&B is a Victorian terraced property converted into several guest rooms. Our was a converted second reception room which is still adjoined to the kitchen. The glass doors to the kitchen were covered by a roman shade and wardrobe; these provided absolutely no sound or light proofing. At night, with our room lights turned off, the light from the kitchen bled through the shade and around the wardrobe. The clank of dishes from the kitchen, particularly during the evening meal (the owners dined in the kitchen which is also where the complimentary breakfast is served in the morning) - sounded like we were sleeping in the kitchen itself. The owners also had a very loud row with their son (?) after 8pm one night - needless to say, it was uncomfortable to hear because we could hear normal conversion levels perfectly through the doors. The kitchen table is butted up against the adjoining doors.

The absolute worst thing was the door slamming. Front door. Door to kitchen. Room 1. Another door. Repeat. It woke both of us up both nights and there were several instances of door slamming after midnight.

The mattress was also uncomfortable. It was like sleeping on a mattress from 1962 that had never been rotated but heavily used. I could feel individual springs.

It was not an enjoyable experience.

  • R Pates

  • January 2015

animals for breakfast?

We arrived at the beginning of January, but the heater had not been put on in our room, and the central heating wasn't on.

Brrrr. When we came down for breakfast, there were cats on the nearby surfaces, adjacent to the breakfast table, and there was cat fur on the table itself. If we had been allergic, this would have been a disaster - but there should not be any animals present in a commercial dining room.