No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George and Dragon

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
9, Briggate , Knaresborough, HG58BQ
Also known as the 'Top House', this single lounge bar is your traditional local, now serving a range of well kept ales from breweries including Daleside, Roosters, Naylors and Caladonian. With a large selection of Wines and Spirits available. We boost traditional pub activities; darts, pool, dominos, bandits, quiz machines and jukebox

It was recently voted Harrogate & Ripon CAMRA pub of the season.

Built in 1733 the George and Dragon is one of the oldest public houses in Knaresboroughs market town.

We offer a comfortable relaxed stay in our Double, Twin, Single and Family rooms, all of which are en-suite and fully equiped with tea and coffee making facilities and free-view televisions.

We have a separate dining room where breakfast is served, at a time to suit you.

On request we also have available, hair dryers and ironing boards and laundry facilities for those on a long stay!

Secure, off road, free car-parking is available for our guests.
Picture of George and Dragon, Knaresborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room condition
Room was very clean with tea and coffee making facilities. Could do with a bit of decorating if you are fussy but I was quite satisfied with it.
Landlady very friendly and chatty.

Reviewed by
chris l

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine, but not as expected.
I booked the George and Dragon on the quality of the reviews. My stay was fine, if rather loud as my room was above the pub, but not as expected. Has the G&D changed landlords recently? Not quite the folk pub I envisaged from the reviews and pictures, plus no cooked breakfast

Reviewed by
Lisa W

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good B&B
The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The en suite was small, but not by any means cramped. The breakfast was a simple affair of toast, cereal & fruit juice, but plentiful. I would paid a little more for a cooked breakfast. The customer service was very friendly and homely. For £35 one cannot complain and if I'm staying in Knaresborough again will certainly call here first.

Reviewed by
Ian F

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were expecting cheap and cheerful but were disappointed.
A lovely host who confirmed with ourselves promptly that no cooked breakfast was available - we were fine with this.
Unfortunately a bowl of cereal and slice of toast was not what we were expecting! This isn't a continental breakfast.
There was no coffee available or glasses for the juice and I had to go into the bar to ask a guy watching the TV to assist.
The bed was very uncomfortable, no glasses and our room was far to warm - the radiator did not adjust. We did try opening the window but the noise from the smokers room below meant we had to close it again very quickly.

Reviewed by
Lynn E

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Should do bar meal

Reviewed by
Stephen P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
This is a Pub, expect usual activity of coming and going until 11.00pm.

Reviewed by
chris b

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dirty room
on arriving at the george & dragon the barmaid was quite helpfull although i dont think she knew the room was booked for that evening .i know it is a public house but while we waited for her to get in contact with the landlady which took a couple of calls on the the phone eventually she arrived took our money for room before showing the room .the room was not what we expected im not a snob gut i do like a clean bed this looked to have not been changed from last customer.cobwebs everywhere i know it was halloween but come on bathroom dirty mouldy milk was off overall not a good nights sleep will not stay here again

Reviewed by
linda johnson

From benalmadena malaga, Spain
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little place
Fantastic little village. proprietors were very nice, had booked this for myself and my husband as a sort of romantic getaway few reasons why I would not stay again and I don't mean these at all in a nasty way, we could here the family and children next to our room so it put us of the romance side of the stay if you get my meaning I know this can not be helped due to it also being the family's home but had I known young children would be there I would not have booked, breakfast was help yourself to cereal and toast which I was a bit disappointed about this as i feel that when you go away it's nice to have a cooked breakfast as it's a treat, we only found out about this when checking in lady did say that Late rooms should have informed us but they had not ?. We still paid the full asking price as we thought they were a young family trying to make a living.

Reviewed by
L Gray

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value overnight stop
Large, clean room with a comfortable bed in a pub in town centre. Lovely cooked breakfast and very friendly people. This is ideal if you are looking for clean, simple accommodation for a stay in Knaresborough. Excellent value.

Reviewed by
James Naylor

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Staff - good value for money
Warm welcome, friendly staff. Free wireless in room. Good value for money. Good beer in the pub downstairs. Nice town with loads of pubs!

Reviewed by
David F

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next