No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George and Dragon

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
9, Briggate , Knaresborough, HG58BQ
Also known as the 'Top House', this single lounge bar is your traditional local, now serving a range of well kept ales from breweries including Daleside, Roosters, Naylors and Caladonian. With a large selection of Wines and Spirits available. We boost traditional pub activities; darts, pool, dominos, bandits, quiz machines and jukebox

It was recently voted Harrogate & Ripon CAMRA pub of the season.

Built in 1733 the George and Dragon is one of the oldest public houses in Knaresboroughs market town.

We offer a comfortable relaxed stay in our Double, Twin, Single and Family rooms, all of which are en-suite and fully equiped with tea and coffee making facilities and free-view televisions.

We have a separate dining room where breakfast is served, at a time to suit you.

On request we also have available, hair dryers and ironing boards and laundry facilities for those on a long stay!

Secure, off road, free car-parking is available for our guests.
Picture of George and Dragon, Knaresborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value overnight stop
Large, clean room with a comfortable bed in a pub in town centre. Lovely cooked breakfast and very friendly people. This is ideal if you are looking for clean, simple accommodation for a stay in Knaresborough. Excellent value.

Reviewed by
James Naylor

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Staff - good value for money
Warm welcome, friendly staff. Free wireless in room. Good value for money. Good beer in the pub downstairs. Nice town with loads of pubs!

Reviewed by
David F

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tour de France
Very small but cosy, welcoming accomodation lovely clean room with excellent breakfast ,Mel was a very friendly & efficient proprietor & nothing was to much trouble for her ,thank you for a lovely weekend.

Reviewed by
Kim G

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very pleasant stay
This was a last minute booking and a very competitive price.
The George & Dragon is a traditional pub with dartsboard and people watching the football. I was pleasantly surprised by a large room which had been recently decorated, very friendly service and an excellent breakfast including a whole cafetiere of fresh coffee. The barmaid showed me to the room and even gave me a complimentary drink of real ale - beats a cup of tea any day! (It's a CAMRA pub and also had an impressive spirits collection)
There's a carpark at the back and the station is an easy walk away. It was a simple way for me to get in and out of Harrogate.
Brilliant value for money and recommended.

Reviewed by
R Clare

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review 0f Stay 26/07/14
A warm welcome from the proprietors. Good location, walkable to the centre of Knaresborough. Two rooms used, one at the rear was satisfactory but bathroom was exceptionally small. Room at front faces onto a very busy main road and additionally has very intrusive noise from the music speakers and clientele in the bar below. Great breakfast

Reviewed by
John C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great room and excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
S Harrison

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and comfortable. Great location in Town centre
Very friendly place. If you like pub hostelry style, this is a good one. Friendly host and friendly locals in the bar. Great location in town centre, you can walk to all the local attractions.

Reviewed by
Gordon P

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed race day
Stayed for just one night, the landlady was lovely as were the staff, had a great time in the bar in the evening and had a lovely breakfast (at a time to suit us) will definitely stay again a big thank you to all

Reviewed by
D Terry

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strolling around Yorkshire
Cracking little place. Booked it late. Knaresborough is beautiful place and the hotel was central. Good bar, good breakfast, basically everything was excellent. Special mention for Mel who although being pregnant and having a little one to look after couldn't have been more obliging or friendly. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Charles Mulholland

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

knaresborough stopover
very friendly atmosphere. very good breakfast. pubside very friendly locals. all in all pleasant stay therefore no complaints whatsoever

Reviewed by
george f

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next