No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Rectory Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
8 Church Street, Staveley, Chesterfield, S43 3TL
The Old Rectory Guest House is a grade 2 listed building located in the preservation area of Staveley Town. This fine old house, built in 1719 on the foundations of an earlier building, was widely believed to contain a passage leading from its cellars to the church across the road.

The Rectory's most famous inhabitants were the Gisbournes, james and Franci, successively Rectors of Staveley from 1716 to 1821.

We are a family run guesthouse (since 1985) with a 3 star Visit England award and also a 5 star food hygiene certificate.
Picture of Old Rectory Guest House, Chesterfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommend this friendly comfortable period guest house
Friendly welcome, excellent breakfast freshly cooked to order.
Comfortable clean spacious room with nice view. Lots of period character in this early 18th century renovated property. Street side free parking worked well.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding visit to chesterfield
Friendly, clean and good value for money.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay.
Stayed with friends for one night. Bryony seemed very business like when we first arrived but we found her to be very chatty and helpful. The room was adequate and comfortable and breakfast was good. The guest house is great value for money and I would recommend it. If I had to pick anything negative it would be to say there's no clothes hook in the bathroom and there is opaque but see through glass in the bathroom/toilet door. Didn't like that at all.

Reviewed by
Carol M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely full English, and selection of fruit and pastries.

Reviewed by
L Mclean

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The host Briony is very nice she is very knowledgeable and knows about the area. The breakfast you get sets you up for the day, the only complaint we can fault was the bathroom was a bit small but that is all.

Reviewed by
Deborah K

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

delighted with accommodation, service and food. would definitely stay again. Minor issue for me was the room was not en-suite, other than that would not fault it.

Reviewed by
L Nolan

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic good value

Reviewed by
Adrian S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

could not fault it. A+
Very pleasant stay.definatly return

Reviewed by
j wilson

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but ok
The initial welcome was a little off putting - very abrupt and matter of fact but it was ok. The lady did get a little friendlier the next morning. The room was a surprise. We had the upstairs room in the out-house. It was small and a little cramped with a tiny en-suite. There was a draft through one of the skylights - it only had a plastic window - which was immediately above my bed. There was no kettle in the room - a little kitchenette (well equipped with plates etc and with a microwave) was downstairs but there was no water or sink. I assume most people tried to fill the kettle from the tap upstairs in the room. Thankfully we'd brought bottled water which made it easier. The television was the smallest I've seen for a long time (a 14in portable) and there seemed to be rules and regulations about everything BUT the bed was comfortable, the shower worked really well and for an over night stop over it was perfectly ok. breakfast was good too - even if the order form was a little like filing in a complicated questionnaire. I wouldn't recommend this place for anything more than a quick overnighter - but if someone suggested staying there, I wouldn't tell them not to. It was perfect for a group of young people more used to youth hostels perhaps. The stairs to out room were steep - not suitable to families or those with mobility issues.

Reviewed by
S Mitchell

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning
Not only is the old rectory beautiful from outside it gets better inside! Very clean, period features, beautiful windows with window seats!! Wow loved it defo go again!

Reviewed by
G Sparks

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next