No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gwydyr Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Snowdonia National Park Betws-Y-Coed, Conwy, LL24 0AB
Situated in the heart of Snowdonia National park, the Gwydyr Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, an onsite fishery, free parking and a popular bistro serving food daily. A picturesque building situated amidst charming scenery, the hotel overlooks the rivers Llugwy and Conwy, affording a tranquil, relaxing setting. With a history dating back over 150 years, high quality, friendly service comes as standard, with attentive staff always at hand.

Large bedrooms are fully equipped with direct dial telephones, TV, radio alarms and tea coffee facilities. While rooms differ in size and style, all are furnished to a high standard, with well maintained fittings for your comfort. A selection of room configurations, including double, twin and family rooms, are available to meet the needs and requirements of your stay.

The relaxing bistro offers an informal setting in which to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner, every day of the week. A thoughtful selection of dishes will appeal to most tastes, with fine local produce utilised wherever possible. The light and airy setting is ideal for enjoying the morning papers with a coffee and juice, or relaxing with afternoon tea.

The Gwydyr Hotel is particularly well known to those who take their greatest pleasure in fishing. Miles of controlled and supervised rivers, right on the hotel’s doorstep, will enthral visitors and guests alike. The hotel’s fishery has been renowned for some of the finest Salmon and Sea Trout fishing in all of Wales; enjoy the breathtaking surroundings, with Buzzards, Peregrines and Kingfishers for company.

The attractive village of Betws-y-Coed is a popular visitor’s location within Snowdonia National park. The area is famed for its excellent river fishing in crystal clear waters. Snowdonia also offers a wealth of pursuit and attractions to enjoy, including climbing, kayaking and mountain biking for those looking for a thrill, while Golf, ambling walks and historical sights of interest are plentiful for those seeking a more relaxing break. Walkers will also enjoy Offa’s Dyke Path, a famous walking trail that runs along the Welsh-English Border and with 176 miles of trail to follow, attracts walkers from all over the world. The coastal resorts of Llandudno and Prestatyn are just a short distance away and offer a variety of seaside attractions, including Llandudno’s popular Victorian pier.

This hotel was purchased by new owners in September 2013 who plan a major refurbishment programme. Phase 1 - the ground floor renovations will be completed by end of March 2014. Phase 2 – Bedroom refurbishments will take place in January and February 2015.
Picture of Gwydyr Hotel, Conwy at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly people who have recently taken over the hotel and are working hard to do it up, The bed was comfy and the shower was powerful. All was very clean. They had obviously done a quick paint job as some of the areas in the room had not been finished and the room could have been rearranged to make use of the space. It would have been nice to have had the breakfast included in the price of the room but it was perfectly adequate. We had a nice drink in the bar during the evening.

Reviewed by
Sally G

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great break
Although the Gwydyr is having a lot of work done at the moment, all the resident area are clean and safe. We were very well looked after during our stay, and are all looking forward to returning for another break soon.

Reviewed by
N Fowles

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not very good
pleasant staff , food good, room very very poor, . windows falling out, holes in lamp shade in room, stunk of bleach, shower and bath poor, the bath had a big split in the side so we didn't use it, TV was a joke it only had 5 channels but they were all so fuzzy you could hardly of watched them.
im not a complainer but it was my wifes birthday so very disappointed.

Reviewed by
darren jones

From coventry, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
My wife and i stayed here with our 10yr old son. The staff were excellent. Couldnt do enough for us. There was a mix up with our room and had to move, but this was dealt with quickly and they were very appolagetic. It didnt spoil our stay at all. The surrounding area is fantastic, lots to see and do. Everyone we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely and we dinned in the hotel each night as the food was great and good value.
We will definately be staying here again.

Reviewed by
M Bettridge

From Alfreton, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation a bit old fashioned, new owners have only just taken over, staff and owners were great, really helpful, room comfortable , we would go back again. when updating is complete should be great.

Reviewed by
john shepley

From Looe, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

winter break
very concerned about some of the negative reviews but we had actually booked with a budget break in mind, and this hotel was cheap. The hotel is charming in the fact it's so dated but it was evident that the new owners were beginning the much needed referb.
The location is superb being right in the centre of the village and with free parking, clean bedding and included breakfast it was a steal at the price, the staff were friendly and helpful.
I'm sure that at their current prices you won't do better in the location - for a budget break, but if you are expecting luxury then go ahead and book elsewhere at twice the price - or more.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

..
..

Reviewed by
C Conway

From Scotland
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dated
Needs upgrading badly.

Reviewed by
john m

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night after camping
This Hotel was ok for us for a night, friendly place, food ok as only had breakfast, I had bacon and poached eggs with toast and the other half had coissants, not bad really as the chef had not turned in. The hotel is rough around the edges but was ok for us after 5 days in the mountains.

Reviewed by
P Ratcliffe

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel for the price
As other reviewers have stated, the hotel is a little dated and could definitely use a facelift. However it was spotlessly clean, we had fresh towels every morning and the staff were polite, friendly and very accommodating. The cooked breakfast was delicious and they were happy to accommodate your requirements. Great location for Snowden and the local amenities in the town are a very short walk away. All in all a good hotel for the price.

Reviewed by
Lisa D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next