No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Rose and Crown Inn Trent

5AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Opposite St. Andrew's Church, , , Sherborne, DT9 4SL
The Rose and Crown is a country inn which has been much loved by locals and travellers for many generations. It is full of character and period features. The perfect place to curl up in front of the fire on a stormy winter’s evening as well as soaking up the sunshine and enjoying the views on a warm summer’s day. The Rose and Crown is situated in the immaculate village of Trent and was originally built in the 14th century to house the spire workers of the neighbouring St Andrew’s Church. The inn, church and village alike have a long and varied history from medieval times with many stories to tell. A few miles away lies the market town of Sherborne famed for its schools, Abbey and its delightful architecture. Rolling Dorset hills and the world renowned Jurassic coast lie to the south. To the east are the tranquil Somerset levels, whilst to the west is Stonehenge and Salisbury plain. The Roman city of Bath is only an hour’s trip to the north. All of our bedrooms are furnished to the same high standard but as you might expect with a boutique bed and breakfast, each room varies a little in size and aspect. Each has its own patio area - the perfect environment to enjoy the view, relax and unwind in your own rural retreat. The kitchen team produce fine country cooking using all the local produce that the west country has to offer from Lyme Bay fish, Dorset lamb, Blackmore Vale cream to Dorset Blue Vinney cheese, local game and Somerset beef. All complimented by a selection of local cask ales, ciders and fine wines. Whether you are looking for a country escape or are on an overnight business trip, The Rose and Crown provides the atmosphere, the comfort, the hospitality that you are looking for. The perfect base for your stay.
Picture of The Rose and Crown Inn Trent, Sherborne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very grateful that we were allowed to check in early to allow us to prepare for a wedding. Excellent quality of cleansing products in shower room. Coffee/tea/water tray provided but no milk so my husband had to leave our room in the morning to cross the gardens to get some from the Inn, the only issue during our stay. This would not put us off staying there again! Breakfast provided superb, with delicious local fruit juice. Lovely views from bedroom across country-side and very "out of the way". A delightful part of the country.

Reviewed by
Claire Raine

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A truly wonderful and welcoming place to stay.
The accommodation and food are of a very high standard, as is the wellbeing of all guests that stay here. The owners and staff made us all feel very welcome and we would have no hesitations in staying again.
Thank you very much for making our few days away very enjoyable for us all, but especially my elderly mother who first experience of Dorset was made even better by your wonderful hospitality.

Reviewed by
Della Wheal

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glorious!
Superb rooms in a picturesque location. Staff so welcoming and helpful couldn't wish for anything more. Will certainly go back to stay if we are in the area. 10/10 Great!

Reviewed by
B O'Neill

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply excellent !
I stay in many hotels and rarely come across a gem as good as this place. The accommodation was first class, clean, modern, comfortable and well thought out. The staff were pleasant, helpful and engaged with their guests. I had dinner which was first class - the staff and owners really make an effort and they should be proud of the quality of the business that they are building. I will be back and after this review I look forward to a nice glass of wine on the house!

Reviewed by
Darren F

From Yelverton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely overnight accommodation
We were not disappointed when we arrived at The Rose & Crown. The greeting from the staff was very welcoming. We enjoyed a lovely lunch before a nice walk. The view from the bedroom was amazing and tranquil. Wish I could have bought home the toiletries which were provided in the excellent bathroom. Would stay again soon, if the opportunity arose. Well done to the new owners and their staff.

Reviewed by
Jacquie L

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything we hoped for
We booked one night at The Rose and Crown early in January as a short break before going back to work. It was everything we could have hoped for with views across the country fields, a beautifully decorated, comfortable room separate from the pub itself, and a superb dinner in the true country pub atmosphere. The price included breakfast, which was also of a very high standard. Excellent value.

Reviewed by
Nicole T

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ray & Lyn
Very comfortable accommodation with excellent breakfast and customer service
We stayed over the weekend and found finding a good restaurant on Sunday was problematic as the Rose and Crown was not open.

Reviewed by
Raymond T

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing place - stay there if you can...
We picked the Rose and Crown as a halfway house on a drive from Kent to Exeter and were 100% happy with the experience. Nicely greeted by friendly staff who were nice and relaxed despite it being a stressful day due to some staff being unable to work. The beers were good and the wines varied and delicious. The food was amazing we shared a tasty scallops starter and my wife had pheasant and I had the steak. If you can have the assiette for a dessert (which is basically a bit of everything!).
The rooms are in newly converted stables and are quite compact but really nicely decorated with big rain showers.

Reviewed by
T Lodge

From Beckenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rose and crown
Trent is in the middle of a prettyrural location served by single lane roads Ok once you have found it in the first place GF rooms to side of pub/restaurant Good quality accommodation clean modern with nice outlook Stayed in hot weather, no a/c or fans available single door access so no other ventilation in the bedroom Fine except for exceptional weather

Reviewed by
richard p

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little find
We stayed during the really hot weather so unfortunately the room was unbearably hot - we took duvet out of cover to sleep in just sheet. Everything else great. The pub food was amazing along the lines of Heston - I think the chef has his eyes on a similar genre. Beautiful to look at as well as tasty. Portions small along lines of Heston.
The service was excellent for accommodation and pub. All round great stay.

Reviewed by
V Mills

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next