No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Dolphin Hotel

3AA Telah dinilai Hotel Ratings explained
Dolphin Hotel London Road, St Ives, PE27 5EP
The Privately owned 67 bedroom Dolphin Hotel assures guests of a warm and friendly welcome. The Hotel which is situated on the banks of The Great Ouse, is in the picturesque town of St,Ives Cambridgeshire. Whether you arrive by car or boat, the Dolphin offers every opportunity for peace,relaxation and enjoyment.
Our 150 seater Waterside Restaurant has unrivalled views across the river and 120 acres of meadow land, The first class restaurant serves fresh local produce as well as more exotic dishes. Our excellent Hot and Cold Buttery Menu is excellent value.The Lounge Bar provides a pleasant riverside setting, and when the weather is fine there is a very large patio and garden area.
A fully equiped Gymnasium and Infra red Sauna is available for residents.
Picture of The Dolphin Hotel, St Ives at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dolphin weekend
We got this offer from Groupon and for the price, this was an excellent place to stay -although if we had paid full price it would have been expensive for what it was. The hotel is simple to find and is in a lovely setting by the side of the river Ouse in St. Ives and handy for exploration of the area. Rooms were spacious but in need of updating but comfortable for all that - only drawback is that there is no lift for the disabled. Breakfast is as much as you can eat from cereal / fruit to full English with tea/coffee/juice available.

Reviewed by
Keith Johnson

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute break
Fabulous setting, warm welcome including a drinks voucher which was nice. Food was excellent value for money. Quite quiet but room had no view unfortunately, would have been nicer if overlooking the river or common. Lovely breakfast. Weather let us down on the Monday but would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Hayden W

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Family stay
The staff were helpful and accommodating upon arrival, there is a large amount of off-road fairly secure (free) parking.
its location is a very short walk over a bridge to the shops of St Ives.
Some of the rooms have views over the river with its canal boats and wildlife.
It is a quiet location as there is no passing traffic, the separate venue for a wedding reception was in use but was not disturbed by their activities.
The rooms we have stayed in so far have been a little dated and tired in their decoration, although believe they are scheduled for updating, that said they are clean considering age.
There are tea and coffee making facilities, the flat screen TVs are OK if not a little on the small side considering the room size (but we don't go to hotel to watch TV!)
The beds have been on the firm side which we prefer, better to pay the extra to get the larger double bed.
The food quality has been shining star! their carvery offers a good value, and the cooked breakfast buffet along with serials and fruit is a fantastic selection and quality, the only thing that I missed was the fruit juice not made from concentrate, but that's me maybe?
The bar area and drink selection is good for a hotel, but quite to pup standards.
For its location and quality of food (carvery and breakfast) its good value especially if you shop around for a deal. we have stayed at other near-by venues but despite any of the Dolphins shortcomings prefer to go back there over the others, and will continue to do so in the future.

Reviewed by
P Solly

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very tired hotel which needs updating. Poor management. Cleaning equipment left in public areas overnight.
This could be a great hotel as the location is great overlooking the river but substantial amount of money needs spending to bring this hotel up to acceptable standard.
Such a shame.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Service
We had a family room with lots of space, very clean and a modern bathroom. All the staff were very professional, especially the restaurant and reception. The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere and made us feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Nicola Miller

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excelent
We arrived early,staff gave very warm welcome and let us know as soon as our room was ready.
Lovely room with balcony.Food was very good and added bonus of free drinks voucher.We only booked the same day and had a good bargain.would recommend.

Reviewed by
linda jones

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location but . . .
A wonderful,welcome to a beautiful setting was slightly marred by cleaning materials etc stacked in the corner of the porch area, then dirty looking carpets in the hall. On opening room 6 we were met by a 'smell' though the bathroom was lovely. The room was a little drab and smelly. And noisy. At breakfast my newspaper didn't appear, yet they attempted to charge for it whilst saying there was no note of it, then didn't apologise for it, or ask about our stay, just a blank stare as we paid. St Ive yes, Dolphin no.

Reviewed by
M Collings

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Night at the Dolphin
We stayed at The Dolphin for one night after attending a wedding reception. On arrival our room was available earlier than the 2pm stated which was useful as we able to drop our bags and set off for our wedding venue in a taxi arranged by the helpful staff at reception.
Our room was on the first floor. It was a reasonable size with all the standard furniture items. A small flat screen tv and tea/coffee making facilities were also provided. A bed bigger than the 4' 6" one provided would have been appreciated. The bathroom was also a reasonable size with a walk in shower but the tiled shower floor was in need of a good clean and some re-grouting.
The breakfast room was in a great location with great views of the river Ouse and the St Ives Bridge. Breakfast was serve yourself buffet style. The food on offer was good quality with plenty of choice.
All in all we had a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
P Riseborough

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

alien vegetation growing in the bathroom
Food fab, location perfect, bedroom nice and clean but very noisy. Pool plant at the on-site leisure club runs all night also cars park right up to the bedroom walls. en-suite bathroom was horrifyingly dirty, I wrote "Filthy " on the floor tiles with the complimentary shower gel which could be clearly read. Black slimy mould on the shower seat and drain, greasy residue on the inside of the bathroom door. Yuck

Reviewed by
Susan D

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
Although the room was ok we were a bit disappointed that we we're put in what seemed to be a disabled room, therefore the bathroom was a disappointment with a low basin and seat in the shower. As I am nearly 6 foot the basin was far too low. We were disappointed with it.

Reviewed by
David Clifton

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next