No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Dolphin Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Dolphin Hotel London Road, St Ives, PE27 5EP
The Privately owned 67 bedroom Dolphin Hotel assures guests of a warm and friendly welcome. The Hotel which is situated on the banks of The Great Ouse, is in the picturesque town of St,Ives Cambridgeshire. Whether you arrive by car or boat, the Dolphin offers every opportunity for peace,relaxation and enjoyment.
Our 150 seater Waterside Restaurant has unrivalled views across the river and 120 acres of meadow land, The first class restaurant serves fresh local produce as well as more exotic dishes. Our excellent Hot and Cold Buttery Menu is excellent value.The Lounge Bar provides a pleasant riverside setting, and when the weather is fine there is a very large patio and garden area.
A fully equiped Gymnasium and Infra red Sauna is available for residents.
Picture of The Dolphin Hotel, St Ives at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was average at best
The rooms were a good size, however they are dated and the whole place is generally tired. The bed wasn't the worst I've stayed in but it wasn't amazing. The TV was far to small for the room and was badly positioned within the room. The breakfast was greasy and cold from a buffet and was only served until 9:30 which on a Sunday is too early in my opinion. The staff that I encountered were friendly but no one went out of their way to make an extra special effort and the restaurant was woefully understaffed in the morning. Overall I would class The Dolphin as average at best, won't be staying again.

Reviewed by
Steven Ellis-Bennett

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service
Communication between bar and kitchen needs reviewing. mains coming out before starters -orders coming out of order.

Reviewed by
J Hart

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

impressed
Very nice hotel, lovely outlook on to the river. Very busy with a wedding party but the staff coped well and we were unaffected. Excellent food though portions on the large side so had to leave some veg which I don't like doing. Short staffed at breakfast but again the staff coped admirably with the large number of people. We were very impressed and will definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasing experience
I have used the hotel on a few occasions before and it was evident that they have invested in upgrading the rooms. My requirements were really just for a place to crash at the end of a night out in St Ives but my experience of the hotel was wholly positive. The room was lovely and well prepared. The new shower units worked well and were well stocked with the essentials for a short stay. The staff were friendly and the hotel was secure and well monitored wnen I returned at 1am in the morning. The breakfast was self service and just the ticket. The hotel is situated on the banks of the river and had beautiful views across the surrounding meadows. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
d hughes

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat
Booked trip for my husband as a surprise. Reception staff very helpful booking the table I wanted along with a bottle of wine presented on the table with an attached message as requested. We both loved the riverside location and the convenience for the lovely town of St.Ives. Close to Cambridge which we explored. All in all a wonderful 3 night stay.

Reviewed by
Susan Davies

From Portishead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay
The overall feel of the hotel was dated. Our room was clean but lacked style, the shower was in the bath and difficult to work also the water went hot and cold while using the shower. The toilet didn't flush well. I didn't feel it was worth the £87 we paid through Laterooms let alone the full rate!!! I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Very disappointed.

Reviewed by
Brenda Marshall

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel functions
Customers should be informed if there is a function on that will potentially affect their nights sleep.

Reviewed by
G TEMPLE

From St Ives, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dolphin hotel
Very poor, find somewhere else! Seems to be stuck in the seventies, they still use a sweet trolley!!!
Room very tired and dated

Reviewed by
James Emery

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is tired and charmless

Reviewed by
Robin Russell

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An embarrassing birthday treat for my sister.
I did not expect to pay the full amount for such a poor room.A disappointment for my sisters birthday treat.

Reviewed by
C Forys

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next