No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Dolphin Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Dolphin Hotel London Road, St Ives, PE27 5EP
The Privately owned 67 bedroom Dolphin Hotel assures guests of a warm and friendly welcome. The Hotel which is situated on the banks of The Great Ouse, is in the picturesque town of St,Ives Cambridgeshire. Whether you arrive by car or boat, the Dolphin offers every opportunity for peace,relaxation and enjoyment.
Our 150 seater Waterside Restaurant has unrivalled views across the river and 120 acres of meadow land, The first class restaurant serves fresh local produce as well as more exotic dishes. Our excellent Hot and Cold Buttery Menu is excellent value.The Lounge Bar provides a pleasant riverside setting, and when the weather is fine there is a very large patio and garden area.
A fully equiped Gymnasium and Infra red Sauna is available for residents.
Picture of The Dolphin Hotel, St Ives at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful scenery
The setting for the hotel is beautiful, the staff friendly and helpful, room well-equipped, clean and comfortable. Very handy for the Park and Ride, excellent service, to visit Cambridge. We didn't have our dinner at the Dolphin as we were visiting relatives in Huntingdon but the menu looked very tempting and good value. Will definitely return at some stage.

Reviewed by
S Fordham

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent hotel, lovely location, great breakfast.
Very warm welcome from the receptionist. Room was fine, clean and tidy. Breakfast very good.

Reviewed by
Lesley M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute break
Very last minute booking after being let down. Arrived 10.00 pm but made very welcome, staff opened bar for us, very courteous and helpful. Location was beautiful and room very clean and comfortable. Lovely views over the river. Needs a little refurbishing in places but did not detract from the overall experience. Stayed an extra night.

Reviewed by
jane h

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute break
Fabulous setting, warm welcome including a drinks voucher which was nice. Food was excellent value for money. Quite quiet but room had no view unfortunately, would have been nicer if overlooking the river or common. Lovely breakfast. Weather let us down on the Monday but would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Hayden W

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dolphin weekend
We got this offer from Groupon and for the price, this was an excellent place to stay -although if we had paid full price it would have been expensive for what it was. The hotel is simple to find and is in a lovely setting by the side of the river Ouse in St. Ives and handy for exploration of the area. Rooms were spacious but in need of updating but comfortable for all that - only drawback is that there is no lift for the disabled. Breakfast is as much as you can eat from cereal / fruit to full English with tea/coffee/juice available.

Reviewed by
Keith Johnson

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Family stay
The staff were helpful and accommodating upon arrival, there is a large amount of off-road fairly secure (free) parking.
its location is a very short walk over a bridge to the shops of St Ives.
Some of the rooms have views over the river with its canal boats and wildlife.
It is a quiet location as there is no passing traffic, the separate venue for a wedding reception was in use but was not disturbed by their activities.
The rooms we have stayed in so far have been a little dated and tired in their decoration, although believe they are scheduled for updating, that said they are clean considering age.
There are tea and coffee making facilities, the flat screen TVs are OK if not a little on the small side considering the room size (but we don't go to hotel to watch TV!)
The beds have been on the firm side which we prefer, better to pay the extra to get the larger double bed.
The food quality has been shining star! their carvery offers a good value, and the cooked breakfast buffet along with serials and fruit is a fantastic selection and quality, the only thing that I missed was the fruit juice not made from concentrate, but that's me maybe?
The bar area and drink selection is good for a hotel, but quite to pup standards.
For its location and quality of food (carvery and breakfast) its good value especially if you shop around for a deal. we have stayed at other near-by venues but despite any of the Dolphins shortcomings prefer to go back there over the others, and will continue to do so in the future.

Reviewed by
P Solly

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very tired hotel which needs updating. Poor management. Cleaning equipment left in public areas overnight.
This could be a great hotel as the location is great overlooking the river but substantial amount of money needs spending to bring this hotel up to acceptable standard.
Such a shame.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Service
We had a family room with lots of space, very clean and a modern bathroom. All the staff were very professional, especially the restaurant and reception. The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere and made us feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Nicola Miller

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excelent
We arrived early,staff gave very warm welcome and let us know as soon as our room was ready.
Lovely room with balcony.Food was very good and added bonus of free drinks voucher.We only booked the same day and had a good bargain.would recommend.

Reviewed by
linda jones

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location but . . .
A wonderful,welcome to a beautiful setting was slightly marred by cleaning materials etc stacked in the corner of the porch area, then dirty looking carpets in the hall. On opening room 6 we were met by a 'smell' though the bathroom was lovely. The room was a little drab and smelly. And noisy. At breakfast my newspaper didn't appear, yet they attempted to charge for it whilst saying there was no note of it, then didn't apologise for it, or ask about our stay, just a blank stare as we paid. St Ive yes, Dolphin no.

Reviewed by
M Collings

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next