No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Dolphin Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Dolphin Hotel London Road, St Ives, PE27 5EP
The Privately owned 67 bedroom Dolphin Hotel assures guests of a warm and friendly welcome. The Hotel which is situated on the banks of The Great Ouse, is in the picturesque town of St,Ives Cambridgeshire. Whether you arrive by car or boat, the Dolphin offers every opportunity for peace,relaxation and enjoyment.
Our 150 seater Waterside Restaurant has unrivalled views across the river and 120 acres of meadow land, The first class restaurant serves fresh local produce as well as more exotic dishes. Our excellent Hot and Cold Buttery Menu is excellent value.The Lounge Bar provides a pleasant riverside setting, and when the weather is fine there is a very large patio and garden area.
A fully equiped Gymnasium and Infra red Sauna is available for residents.
Picture of The Dolphin Hotel, St Ives at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location friendly staff

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accomodation
Basic accommodation but nice cooked breakfast. Overall, fine for a brief stop over.

Reviewed by
Christopher B

From Swansea , UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
Booked a family double room but got given 2 twin rooms. After asking got moved but poor to be given a twin rooms

Reviewed by
A Brooks

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Dolphin Hotel
Our third visit. Welcoming and friendly staff. Busy hotel, perfect location, close to shops, pubs, walks and river.

Reviewed by
Glynis S

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Very pleasant place to stay and incredibly handy for the town

Reviewed by
Christopher T

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Welcoming and Accomodating
With a toddler and grandmother in tow we stayed here on a Friday night. After checking in and viewing the assigned room, I asked if we could be moved as there were too many stairs (two flights and a further flight in the room) for a rather immobile mother and unsteady toddler. The receptionist was very courteous and moved us from the family room to two adjoining twins on the ground floor. These rooms were perfect and the modern bathrooms especially the wet room were appreciated. In hindsight, I should have requested a ground floor room.
All members of staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We will be back.

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dolphin good : water bad.
The Dolphin is a hotel of modern design in an excellent riverside location. There is easy access to St Ives and copious parking. The bar and restaurant facilities are good though the servery style meals might not suit all palates. The rooms are fairly typical of the price range. While the hotel may be modern, the plumbing (room 48) is sadly victorian. The shower ran off a dysfunctional mixer on the bath taps - a style rarely seen since the 1970s. Water flow in the basin was erratic and seemed to defy the laws of physics at times. The cistern refill was noisy enough to reach for ear plugs. While these aquatic aberrations didn't spoil my stay, they were a surprise in a hotel of this standard.

Reviewed by
Nick J

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

little more care
room was nice size bt elements of the room had been neglected in the cleaning ,bathroom nt clean completely no shower gel for females ,,nt enuff sugar and milk left in room for drinks , net curtains nt cleaned regular looking grubby ?

Reviewed by
jon d

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always stay here !
Stayed about 4 times now ..Always stay n room 63 because of the view out onto the meadow and the boats on the river . Its also very peaceful.
The room is bearable for one night. ! Dont really like to be picky but like I said stayed here few times over the years and still the same !!
mattress is very hard to be enjoyed and the bathroom is yuk considering its an executive room!!
The bath and taps were dirty (always Are)..it needs new tiling throughout and re siliconing around the bath ..it puts me off from using it . as we always stay for one night its bearable. Please get it sorted !!..We really only stay for the view and location wouldnt want to use the room for any longer.
The food is lush ..very nice breakfast too. Staff very welcoming and pleasant.
Hope to come again next year Im sure (hope bathroom is updated in room 63)
thank You

Reviewed by
D Shaw

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Desparate need of a revamp
Pleasant staff on reception, very efficient. The bedroom was very tired and in desperate need of a revamp, very dated. Breakfast was plentiful, can't comment on the cooked as we only had cereal, had to search through for clean breakfast bowls, and we had to ask the waiter to change one of our tea cups as that was also dirty. Overall we wouldn't stay again which is a shame as the hotel is in a beautiful location. We felt the £90 charge was excessive for the quality.

Reviewed by
Karen H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next