No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Rising Sun Inn

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
North Lane, , , Clanfield, PO8 0RN
Nestling in the lee of the South Downs, the Inn rests on the boundary of the new South Downs National Park and is only a mile by road or path from the South Downs Way National Trail. Whether you are looking for a refreshing beer, chilled wine, appetising meal, somewhere to stay or simply to catch up with friends at one of our events, you can be confident you will find what you are looking for at The Rising Sun. We are open every day from 10.00am - midnight. Food served from 12.00 noon - 9.00pm daily. Coffee and cake served from 10.00am or why not try one of our delicious Cream Teas? We look forward to welcoming you soon! Our bed and breakfast accommodation continues the relaxing theme of our village Inn where the Team will go out of their way to ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one whether on business or for pleasure. Given our location we cater for both the walker and the cyclist and offer a pick up and drop off service from the South Downs Way, which is a mile away by road or footpath. There is also secure storage for cycles and equipment during your stay with us. We have three en suite rooms all with modern facilities including flat screen Freeview TV. There is free WiFi and tea and coffee making facilities in all of the rooms. The rates include an extensive full English breakfast, including teas and coffees from our Piazza D’oro range, to set you up for the day. The accommodation consists of one double room and two twin rooms. We also have a travel cot available should you require. You can even bring your dog with you! Enjoy good quality food, catering for all tastes. Our chef has managed to combine traditional pub food with something a little more special, whilst still maintaining good value.
Picture of The Rising Sun Inn, Clanfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight, Pre-Great south Run
Stayed with son prior to Great South Run. Very pleasant pub downstairs, which I think made the setting and experience enjoyable, with very freindly staff. The village and setting outside is also very pleasant.

Reviewed by
Carl B

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can highly recommend.
Attentive staff, very comfortable and well appointed room. Great food.
Can highly recommend.

Reviewed by
mike d

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend stay
Lovely pub/B&B. I have to say the room was beginning to look tried as were the linen/towels. Windows broken and did not open. A lot of door banging during opening time but this did stop after the pub closed. Having said this the bed was very comfortable, breakfast lovely and hosts friendly. The above would not stop me staying again

Reviewed by
G Browne

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would Highly Recomend this
Neede somewhere to stay at short notice found this and was worried about it being above a pub had bad experiance in the past. So glad i gave it a go the room was cozy and clean and the beds were so comfy, the breakfast was just perfect, cant say anything bad!

Reviewed by
s cutts

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfortable country pub. accomodation
Picked at very short notice. Clean, comfortable country pub. Breakfast first class -had no other meals but steak night looked very tempting! Staff very helpful re local area and facilities etc.

Reviewed by
K COOPER

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cannot fault this stay. Good room, good food and friendly staff. Exellent find if you are going to stay aroung Portsmouth area. Is now on my list to stay every time I am in that area and I travel a lot and stay away every week all over the country. One of if not the best place I have stayed.

Reviewed by
R TOWNSEND

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming
We stayed here ( couple) prior to catching the ferry to France in order to break up our journey from the Midlands.The welcome was very warm and obliging,our room was very clean and the tea/coffee facilities were very welcome.The bathroom was well stocked with shower goodies and clean towels.After settling in,we had a pleasant evening in the bar before a refreshing night's sleep. Breakfast next morning was both tasty and substantial,with offers of more coffee as we ate,in a very pleasant dining area.Checking out was quick and easy and we were wished a friendly goodbye. We enjoyed our short time here.

Reviewed by
S Wood

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Good location, good accommodation, great food. Shame I had noisy neighbours!!

Reviewed by
Patrick R

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
Very nice pub accommodation ,friendly staff,loads of old world atmosphere in beautiful village.

Reviewed by
M Wiles

From Spilsby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place
Warm local atmosphere, lovely location, nice food and drink and a blonde barmaid oozing glamour :)

Reviewed by
Wayne C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next