You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Rising Sun Inn

3

North Lane, ,, Clanfield, PO8 0RN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (18)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Sandy L

  • June 2016

Great Stay

This is a lovely pub, to stay in, very welcoming and friendly, the room was good with a walk in shower, had a problem with Wi Fi but I think that is being sorted out.

The breakfast was amazing, a lovely place to stay, and I will definitely go back. Thank you

  • Mark P

  • May 2016

Hotel stay

Very friendly and comfortable place.

Food very good.

  • Julie C

  • March 2016

Overnighter

Great accommodation for an overnighter.

Lovely setting. Room was excellent. We didn't eat in the pub but the bar accommodated our love of real ale and wine!. As we were visiting relatives in Cowplain we will certainly be using The Rising Sun Inn again.

  • I Harvey

  • September 2015

Comfortable and homely

We enjoyed our stay and will no doubt stop here again.

Breakfast was great. Although we did not have dinner here, I must say the menu looks excellent and good value for money. Most of all, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Keep up the good work

  • g burden

  • September 2015

Worth a visit

Friendly place .very attentive room clean comfortable and clean.will stay there again

  • C Miles

  • July 2015

Made very welcome by all staff,this is primarily a pub with rooms and it have a very nice atmosphere.

The room was fine for our one night stay.No problems having an early breakfast which was great and the coffee excellent. I left our wash bag in the bathroom, I telephoned to say a friend would pick it up.Nothing was too much trouble.

  • S Cooper

  • July 2015

Bring ear plugs

I'm a fussy stayer and really cannot sleep unless it's totally silent.

The location of the Rising Sun is at a T Junction and it appears that there is constant traffic stopping and starting at it. I stayed in room 1 and although it had double glazing, the windows did not shut completely (the stay had broken off) and so the noise levels were not effected when the window was closed.

Monday nights is 'quiz night'. Wish I knew about this before I stayed, because I hate pub quizzes and of course this activity generated yet more noise. The staff were very nice and helpful. The food was very good, especially the steak on 'steak night'. Generally the room/pub was looking and felt a bit tired. Bulbs hanging out of fittings, rattly windows, curtain ties that didn't tie curtains and a general damp smell in the room.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us and I’m pleased that you enjoyed your steak on Steak Night. All of our events and activities are well publicised on our website, on our Facebook page and on Twitter. I can only suggest that you do your research more carefully before booking. We are a friendly, community based village Inn and what we offer very much reflects this.

As to traffic noise, unfortunately, they had closed the main A3 trunk road on the nights you stayed and had diverted the traffic through the village overnight. This is not the norm and very much beyond our control.

I am disappointed that you were not satisfied with the room. The usual feedback that we receive is that the rooms, facilities

and accessories far outweigh the star rating that we have. As for the room being damp. It is not. You had left the window open on a day of high heat and humidity with sea mist running up against the downs! You asked to put the heating on, which we gladly did for you. Given that it was nearly 80 degrees outside, we then had to go round our other guests to ensure the heating was off in their rooms.

We greatly value the feedback we receive, both good and bad, and we act on it. However, I am struggling with this one, particularly as you had said that everything had been fine when you checked out.

  • Jackie C

  • June 2015

Lovely welcoming accommodation. Fantastic country side. Excellent food.

Helpful staff.

Excellent food.

  • Alan M

  • June 2015

The Rising Sun Inn

Clean rooms and pub staff friendly and helpful food very good

  • Peter Hatton

  • April 2015

A place to recommend

I can't fault this traditional pub/inn for hospitality, excellent food (the suet steak and kidney pudding was superb) and good beer.

The place was packed which says a lot but the proprietors, Mr and Mrs Lynch were unflappably friendly.