Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
94% would recommend it to a friend
Excellent Stay at the Rising Sun
Our latest stay at the Rising Sun in Clanfield is the second time we have stayed there.
The room was very clean, and the bed was comfortable although the pillows were very soft. The staff were friendly and welcoming, there was a good range of real ales and wines in the bar and the breakfast was extremely good. We will definitely stay at the Rising Sun again
Very pleased that we found The Rising Sun, a real gem.
A very enjoyable and comfortable overnight stay here whilst visiting family. The landlord, landlady and their staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The evening meals and breakfasts we had were all excellent quality and great value for money.
This is a lovely pub, to stay in, very welcoming and friendly, the room was good with a walk in shower, had a problem with Wi Fi but I think that is being sorted out.
The breakfast was amazing, a lovely place to stay, and I will definitely go back. Thank you
Very friendly and comfortable place.
Food very good.
Great accommodation for an overnighter.
Lovely setting. Room was excellent. We didn't eat in the pub but the bar accommodated our love of real ale and wine!. As we were visiting relatives in Cowplain we will certainly be using The Rising Sun Inn again.
Comfortable and homely
We enjoyed our stay and will no doubt stop here again.
Breakfast was great. Although we did not have dinner here, I must say the menu looks excellent and good value for money. Most of all, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Keep up the good work
Worth a visit
Friendly place .very attentive room clean comfortable and clean.will stay there again
Made very welcome by all staff,this is primarily a pub with rooms and it have a very nice atmosphere.
The room was fine for our one night stay.No problems having an early breakfast which was great and the coffee excellent. I left our wash bag in the bathroom, I telephoned to say a friend would pick it up.Nothing was too much trouble.
Bring ear plugs
I'm a fussy stayer and really cannot sleep unless it's totally silent.
The location of the Rising Sun is at a T Junction and it appears that there is constant traffic stopping and starting at it. I stayed in room 1 and although it had double glazing, the windows did not shut completely (the stay had broken off) and so the noise levels were not effected when the window was closed.
Monday nights is 'quiz night'. Wish I knew about this before I stayed, because I hate pub quizzes and of course this activity generated yet more noise. The staff were very nice and helpful. The food was very good, especially the steak on 'steak night'. Generally the room/pub was looking and felt a bit tired. Bulbs hanging out of fittings, rattly windows, curtain ties that didn't tie curtains and a general damp smell in the room.
Response from hotel
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us and I’m pleased that you enjoyed your steak on Steak Night. All of our events and activities are well publicised on our website, on our Facebook page and on Twitter. I can only suggest that you do your research more carefully before booking. We are a friendly, community based village Inn and what we offer very much reflects this.
As to traffic noise, unfortunately, they had closed the main A3 trunk road on the nights you stayed and had diverted the traffic through the village overnight. This is not the norm and very much beyond our control.
I am disappointed that you were not satisfied with the room. The usual feedback that we receive is that the rooms, facilities
and accessories far outweigh the star rating that we have. As for the room being damp. It is not. You had left the window open on a day of high heat and humidity with sea mist running up against the downs! You asked to put the heating on, which we gladly did for you. Given that it was nearly 80 degrees outside, we then had to go round our other guests to ensure the heating was off in their rooms.
We greatly value the feedback we receive, both good and bad, and we act on it. However, I am struggling with this one, particularly as you had said that everything had been fine when you checked out.
Lovely welcoming accommodation. Fantastic country side. Excellent food.