Reviews - The Rising Sun Inn

3

North Lane, ,, Clanfield, PO8 0RN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (25)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • C Miles

  • July 2015

Made very welcome by all staff,this is primarily a pub with rooms and it have a very nice atmosphere.

The room was fine for our one night stay.No problems having an early breakfast which was great and the coffee excellent. I left our wash bag in the bathroom, I telephoned to say a friend would pick it up.Nothing was too much trouble.

  • S Cooper

  • July 2015

Bring ear plugs

I'm a fussy stayer and really cannot sleep unless it's totally silent.

The location of the Rising Sun is at a T Junction and it appears that there is constant traffic stopping and starting at it. I stayed in room 1 and although it had double glazing, the windows did not shut completely (the stay had broken off) and so the noise levels were not effected when the window was closed.

Monday nights is 'quiz night'. Wish I knew about this before I stayed, because I hate pub quizzes and of course this activity generated yet more noise. The staff were very nice and helpful. The food was very good, especially the steak on 'steak night'. Generally the room/pub was looking and felt a bit tired. Bulbs hanging out of fittings, rattly windows, curtain ties that didn't tie curtains and a general damp smell in the room.

  • Jackie C

  • June 2015

Lovely welcoming accommodation. Fantastic country side. Excellent food.

Helpful staff.

Excellent food.

  • Alan M

  • June 2015

The Rising Sun Inn

Clean rooms and pub staff friendly and helpful food very good

  • Peter Hatton

  • April 2015

A place to recommend

I can't fault this traditional pub/inn for hospitality, excellent food (the suet steak and kidney pudding was superb) and good beer.

The place was packed which says a lot but the proprietors, Mr and Mrs Lynch were unflappably friendly.

  • s eyre

  • March 2015

One night in Clanfield

Stayed one night whilst breaking up journey down south.

Tuesday as steak night and pub was very full and lively which was surprising mid-week. Food was very good but the customer service was even better. All the staff seen to want to help you and were very friendly. We were given room 1 which was adequate for 1 night but would have been a little small if staying for longer. The bathroom on the other hand was massive. Everything was clean. Only downside is that the pub is situated on a busy junction and road noise is quite noticeable. There is a collapsed man-hole cover outside which makes it worse but this is not the pubs fault. All in all its a great little pub and would happily stay there again.

  • henry L

  • March 2015

A very friendly inn

We enjoyed our stay at the Rising Sun Inn very much.

All the staff very friendly, a good selection of beers and the complimentary breakfast was ample. Fortunately the evening we stayed was their Steak evening. My ribeye was cooked exactly as I asked and great value at £20 per couple including free wine. Most certainly will visit this establishment again and recommend it highly.

  • Patrick R

  • February 2015

The Rising Sun Inn

Great staff very helpful good food good location for me.

Would stay there again.

  • Neil C

  • February 2015

Great place to stay

Warm welcome, good service, excellent food (and drink) my only complaint and this is not really the Inns fauly, was the surprising amount of traffic noise, given the location I was expecting it to be relatively peaceful but the road the Inn is on was a lot busier than anticipated

  • Carl B

  • October 2014

Overnight, Pre-Great south Run

Stayed with son prior to Great South Run.

Very pleasant pub downstairs, which I think made the setting and experience enjoyable, with very freindly staff. The village and setting outside is also very pleasant.