No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Seven Stars Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
Royal Seven Stars Hotel, The Plains, Totnes, TQ9 5DD
The Premier hotel at the heart of Totnes . Located in the very centre of beautiful Totnes, The Royal Seven Stars Hotel is perfectly placed to enjoy everything South Devon has to offer…

Consistently named in the ‘World’s Funkiest Towns’ list, Totnes is an amazing place to be

There’s a lot to do and, being in the centre of town, the Royal Seven Stars is right in amongst it all. Whether you want a bit of art, there’s a glass blowing studio, or whether you want a bit of sport, there’s a leisure centre.

Totnes is very central with a major rail station. It is also within just a few miles of many golf courses. Feel free to browse this section to find out more about what Totnes has for you

Today one of the best ways to experience the quirky ambience of this unique South Devon market town is to stay at the Royal Seven Stars Hotel, located close to the bridge over the River Dart and the historic town centre of Totnes.
Picture of Royal Seven Stars Hotel, Totnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was amazing city break
We went there to attend out friend's wedding thats why we stay 1 nigt . The room had a so comfortable bed and and it was so clean . The quality of food was good as well

Reviewed by
E Aslan

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Seven Stars Hotel, Totnes
Couldn't fault it from arrival to departure and would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
J James

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The place to stay in Totnes
We found the hotel delightful and offering a good range of eating and drinking options. From bar food to fine dining the quality was excellent. Our room overlooked The Plains so there was always something to see and the central location of the hotel made it ideal for exploring Totnes which is a delightful place in itself.

Reviewed by
William M

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful stay
There was a slight mix up on arrival as to the room we were staying in but this was quickly and efficiently rectified. Apart from this very small hiccup, I had a fantastic stay! The room was superb, clean and tastefully decorated. The staff were helpful and friendly. Would have loved to have stayed for more than just one night.

Reviewed by
Kate M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming, something for everyone
The rooms are a little quirky due to the age of the building. They are spotlessly clean, very well appointed (including really thick fluffy towels) & comfortable. The bed is very comfortable, the bath runs incredibly quickly & the supplied toiletries are suited to both sexes. The staff are cheerful , welcoming & friendly without being intrusive. The food choices are all encompassing & the breakfast menu is extensive. Everything is nicely presented & perfectly cooked. The staff are good with children too.

Reviewed by
Hazel W

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totnes week end break
Great hotel which is central to the Totnes attractions. Friday night is live music night which might not suit all.
The staff are very friendly, helpful and attentive.

Reviewed by
Chris S

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
good service; good value

Reviewed by
David Ellis

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfied with hotel
We had a standard twin room (well that's what we paid for anyway) but it was plenty big enough. There was one single and one 3/4 with good quality white cotton bedding and a duvet; a flat screen tv, small settee and easy chair, bedside cabinets, tea and coffee-making equipment. The bathroom was very clean, had a fantastic adjustable power shower and loads of towels and wall fixed bottles of toiletries.
We had a bit of an Indian Summer when there so the only problem was it was sooo hot in the room as the sun had been hitting it all afternoon. The sash window wouldn't stay open so we had to prop it with books. We reported it to Reception so it'll hopefully get fixed.
Outdoor hotel bar has a decent patio area with large umbrellas with heaters which we were thankful for as it got chilly in the evening.
The usual breakfast...help yourself to a continental breakfast, cereals, yoghurt and/or a choice of cooked items, served by friendly staff.
Small parking area which was full when we arrived but you can double park and leave your keys with Reception so that was fine.
It's very close to the river and at the bottom of the main shopping street so very convenient.
Would we stay there again? Yes, so I suppose that says it all really.

Reviewed by
Sue L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything we expected
We have stayed at the Royal Seven Stars on many occasions, often booking through late rooms.com . The hotel offers more than clean, comfortable rooms, a great breakfast and attentive friendly service, being situated as it is, right in the heart of Totnes, everything one might want or need is just there on the doorstep - interesting, very individual shops, lovely walks and boat trips along the river dart, bars and restaurants which cater to every taste and age. The special thing about the hotel is that as well as taking in guests, it is a lively gathering place for the local community - there is always plenty going on, an eclectic mix of young and old, locals and tourists, the smart and the casual. For those, like us, who enjoy all the comforts of a substantial and historically interesting hotel, but also like to feel relaxed and have some fun, It makes for a very enjoyable stay. At the end of the day when the bars are closed to the public, it is a real luxury to have the place to oneself - have a drink in the bar (service available all through the night) and soak up the atmosphere.

Reviewed by
j maker

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'll be back!
I have eaten in the Royal Seven Stars before and found the food to be excellent so I thought why not stay there next time I'm travelling the West Country on business. My room was on the second floor and required a couple of trips to load it with my gear, no problem for me but help was offered virtually before I'd booked in.
Having settled in the room it was time to get some food and a drink. The Seven Stars is a 'pub with rooms' with a good reputation so there were plenty of people in the bar. The array of beers is good and I do like a drop of pale ale: there wasn't one marked up as a pale ale so I was offered the chance to try a few of them. As luck would have it the first one was just right and that's what I ordered. I was shown to a table just after a group of young American girls had been seated at theirs - I'm thinking this is going to be a long job. However the very helpful young lady at the bar sought me out and took my order - Fish Pie topped with mashed potatoes and cheese with a side salad. I think they had emptied half of Brixham harbour and put it in the dish in was served in.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.