No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - CHESTNUTS B&B

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
NORTH LEIGH, GRAVESEND ROAD HIGHAM, ROCHESTER, ME3 7DX
We offer a warm welcome and clean, comfortable accommodation on the ground floor with king-size bed, en-suite facilities including power-shower, 40" TV and free WiFi, and your own off-road parking space. This lovely bedroom is situated in an annex in a quiet corner of our 1-acre garden & woodland, about 100 foot from the dining-room in the main house, where a generous Full English breakfast is served. CHESTNUTS is a great base from which to explore local attractions, of which there are many in the Medway Towns of Gravesend, Rochester, & Chatham. There are castles & caves, military forts & country parks, Dickens Festivals, theatres & river walks, the Bluewater shopping centre, even a dry-ski slope, ice rink & digger-land. It is also an ideal place for cyclists & walkers. There are good road & rail links to London and the south coast. Local busses up to 6pm (not Sundays). Evening meals are available at nearby hostelries, some within walking distance.

Picture of CHESTNUTS B&B, ROCHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Something different
This is vastly different from the standard B&B. it's a large family home with two chalets in the grounds converted to bedrooms. The accommodation is generously sized, has everything you expect and more. Extremely friendly and helpful owners, nothing was too much trouble. If you want something out of the ordinary this is the place for you.

Reviewed by
Colin Heath

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hosts
We were really well looked after, the bed was so comfortable and the room was great separate to the main house so it really felt like we had our own space. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Amy M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful find - we stayed here for a nearby wedding and nothing was too much trouble.
Early check in - beautiful room and fabulous breakfast -what more can you ask for! Thanks for a great stay!

Reviewed by
S Bailey

From Reigate, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice
only spent one night at the b.and b but was made very welcome with a cup of coffe , the roon was clean and tidy nice t.v. on the wall bed was great was big , the shower was a all singing and dancing one with hot water that makes a change for luke warm , breakfast was a full English with toast and juice there was all so a choice of ceral nice garden to walk in , a good nightsleep was had

Reviewed by
john r

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely little hideaway
Beautiful little place, very friendly welcome from the owners who after showing us our room invited us down to the dining room for coffee and biscuits. Hospitality was second to none, nothing was to much trouble, they even offered to make us a packed lunch as we were leaving before breakfast time. Room was at the end of the garden, overlooking some woodland, very private and had everything you could need. Bed was so comfortable with a memory foam mattress. Absolute value for money and we will definitely be booking here again.

Reviewed by
Julie A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chestnuts b&b beats anywhere else hands down!
We stayed for 1 night on 17th May 2014 before leaving on a cruise from Tilbury Docks the next day. We were made extremely welcome by John and Rosemary. The room was superb with everything you could need, and the bathroom was beautiful. The room was in the grounds of the house with beautiful surroundings. We recommend this B&B to anyone and will be visiting it again when we need to be in that area.

Reviewed by
E TARBUTT

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No hassle accommodation in a relaxing garden environment
The owners know how to please visitors and the service was excellent. If you are looking for comfort, good food, a relaxing environment and friendly owners, then come and stay here.

Reviewed by
Terry T

From Westbury on Severn, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm, comfortable room and a quiet location. The rooms are purpose built and quite separate from the main house which makes them feel more private. There were many lovely touches e.g. the variety of items on the tea tray in the room and the quality of the décor. The owners were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. It is advisable not to arrive too late in the evening as the local eating places mostly stop serving meals at 2100.

Reviewed by
Frances H

From Sunbury on Thames, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excelent accom
great hosts

Reviewed by
J Godfrey

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marvellous little B&B
We had an absolutely lovely stay at the Chestnuts B&B.
In fact, it was so nice I almost don't want to let you in on the secret!
We stayed in the Honeysuckle room. The accommodation was cosy and comfortable, with a king size bed, and an en-suite shower room. The shower was truly a feat of engineering, with two shower headstand water jets that give you massages too! The room was spotlessly clean, and very welcoming. It had its own flat screen TV, and WIFI, and it's own thermostat, along with a range of tea, coffee and the best selection of biscuits I have had in a hotel. It was obvious that the layout of the room was well planned, with everything to hand to be very comfortable indeed. The bed was very comfortable too, and extra blankets were also available in the large wardrobe.
Our hosts were just great, they made us feel very welcome, providing us with tea and biscuits on arrival, and they gave us lots of recommendations about the area, as well as weather updates and tips on the best places to eat locally. Breakfast in the morning was amazing, including a range of cereals, yoghurts and fruit, porridge (if you wanted it), as well as a really delicious fry up too. It was excellent value for money. There's plenty of parking and because the accommodation is separate to the main house, a feeling of privacy too. Your rooms are in a little annexe in the garden, so you look out over the lawns and the wood with all the chestnut trees, and it's beautiful.
We'll definitely stay there again. And I have no hesitation at all in recommending it to others.

Reviewed by
Georgia K

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next