No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mersey Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
146 148, Mersey Road Widnes, Cheshire, Widnes, WA8 0DT
Overlooking the River Mersey, this hotel shows Sky Sports channels on the wide-screen TV in its on-site bar. Free private parking is possible and both Runcorn and Widnes town centres are easily within a 5-minute drive of the Mersey Hotel. There is also a beer garden.

Free Wi-Fi access, a TV, tea and coffee making facilities and a private bathroom are included in each simply decorated room. Some rooms at the Mersey Hotel have views of the river and both the Silver Jubilee and Ethelfreda Bridges.

Breakfast is served in the traditional dining room and includes a selection of cereals, toast, tea and coffee.. A pool table and games machines are also included in the bar.

The M62 motorway is less than 5 minutes’ drive away and Liverpool John Lennon Airport can be reached after a 10-minute drive. Liverpool city centre is a 25-minute drive from the hotel. Anfield and Goodison are also within a similar distance.

The Hotel has a rich history and whilst most of the present building dates to around 1850, parts of the hotel date back much further, possibly to before 1700. The Mersey Hotel sits on the trans-pennine way and is currently under new ownership. A short walk along thew Victoria Promenade will bring the visitor to both the Catalyst Science Museum and Spike Island (recently featured in the film of the same name).
Picture of The Mersey Hotel, Widnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed 2 nights when visiting the area, room was big for a single and clean. No complaints from me. Didn't try any food as was out most of the time, everyone I spoke to was helpful. Will use the place again.

Reviewed by
jason k

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was cheap, needs updated.
Hotel rooms require some updating and wasnt the cleanest of places, however, I did not pay alot for the 3 nights compared to what I could have. Any of the staff I spoke to were pleasant. Just unfortunate that there are some areas of it which need attention.

Reviewed by
S Graham

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peter and his team were welcoming and helpful. The hotel is in an interesting location. Thank you

Reviewed by
D Chambers

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Land rover / jaguar
What a fantastic stay, gave upgrade no extra charge, good location for work, rooms cleaned every day, great breakfast with good choice, staff very good and owner ( brad) was excellent and very accommodating , I will certainly be back for next contract room 5 mr brad thanks. Views over river and beer garden where fantastic cheers !

Reviewed by
N Tinney

From Wemyss Bay, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very much budget accommodation but fit for purpose
My first impression of the Mersey Hotel was of a run down hotel in a less desirable residential area. I finally found the car park to which there is no signage, to be as previously mentioned, a muddy area sectioned off from the beer garden with a full skip close by!
I had to walk all the way round the hotel with my luggage as this was the only access to be greeted by a bar maid who barked at me for payment with no smile or details as to the basic breakfast on offer in the morning. Another bar maid seemed much friendlier and offered to show me to my room but feeling very uneasy I declined and wanted to adjust to my surroundings. After this initial encounter I was relatively impressed with the room. No, it wasn't perfect but clean enough with a flat screen tv and was a large room with views of the Mersey and the bridge. What let the room down so badly was the mattress. One of the most uncomfortable I have slept on and had to sleep in a certain position so that I wasn't rolling over bumps and springs in my back. This could and should be replaced immediately. I did not experience any noise from the pub downstairs. Being predominantly for workers house keeping come round early in the morning and I didnt start work until mid morning meaning by the time I left for home after 4 nights was exhausted after working late and being woken up early. Breakfast was cereal, juice and toast with tea/coffee. This was adequate, however, although it didn't bother me too much I would recommend that if they buy reduced bread from the supermarket to put in a bread bin or container that doesnt show this. It just doesn't look good!!! Apart from my initial encounter with the barking bar maid, the rest of the staff seemed friendly and happy to help and went to a special effort to get me a receipt for my expenses.
This is a budget no frills bed and breakfast with the contract worker in mind. With some small improvements it could easily accommodate the weekend away market etc. Would I stay here again? Yes as I have stayed in worse but if I find better, I would rather go there. It's not a place I would recommend lone female travellers to stay as I confess to not always feeling entirely safe and comfortable in my surroundings and with the exception of the bed and the first bar maids manners was adequate.

Reviewed by
Vanessa B

From Frizington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hospitality
Peter and his other colleagues were very helpful. Thanks for excellent hospitality.

Reviewed by
P Rajpal

From Newport, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for the money, its a pub that advertises "live music" so be prepared
Lovely staff, great standard of rooms. Shower was lame and it was a bit noisy at night but it was Friday and Saturday and its a pub!
I would stay again.

Reviewed by
N Fuller

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

like home from home
all the staff and people was great ! nice place to stay n great value for money

Reviewed by
mike simpson

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It is what it is
I read the reviews which, it must be said, were horrific, and I seriously doubted the wisdom of staying at The Mersey Hotel.
Yes, on entering the hotel it did feel a bit like "a strranger in town" but I decided what the hell, let's give it a go.
Remember; this is thirty quid a night; it is not The Ritz.
I found the locals to be really friendly and peter, the owner, is a very helpful and pleasant individual.
The hotel is VERY shabby it has to be admitted and I was trpidatious about going to bed, but the bed linen was crispy clean and the room was surprisingly neat and tidy.
En suite with a bath.
So long as you know what you are letting yourself in for, and you are on a budget then why not.

Reviewed by
Mike P

From Springwell Village, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
The staff were friendly and accommodating, great location and view, the rooms were spot in. Plan to stay again if work brings me this way again.

Reviewed by
robert t

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.