Reviews - The Mersey Hotel


146 148, Mersey Road Widnes, Cheshire, Widnes, WA8 0DT

Price From 75.09 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • dean c

  • April 2015

value for money

my single room was very good for the £30.

per night charge.(which included a buffet type breakfast, juice, coffee, cereal, toast, yogurt, fruit, meats and cheeses.)

the owners are very friendly and very helpful. towel changed daily and room cleaned daily.

would definitely stay here again. location not central, but right on the banks of the river Mersey. the number 9 bus will take you right outside the hotel into Widnes town centre. I used the car because only 5 minute drive and plenty of free parking. definitely value for money.

  • jonathan SHEPHERD

  • February 2015

worth every penny.

excellent value for money.

The owner and Manager are the most pleasant people i have ever met. They cant do enough for you and if they cant do it right away, it will be done as soon as possible. The people are polite and friendly and are a joy to socialise with.

If ever i am in the area again would definatly stay again.

  • Brian Feherty

  • December 2014

A pleasant stay

A nice friendly place.

Plenty of parking, interesting situation. Warm, friendly bar downstairs. Will return.

  • jason k

  • September 2014

Stayed 2 nights when visiting the area, room was big for a single and clean.

No complaints from me. Didn't try any food as was out most of the time, everyone I spoke to was helpful. Will use the place again.

  • S Graham

  • August 2014

Was cheap, needs updated.

Hotel rooms require some updating and wasnt the cleanest of places, however, I did not pay alot for the 3 nights compared to what I could have.

Any of the staff I spoke to were pleasant. Just unfortunate that there are some areas of it which need attention.

  • D Chambers

  • July 2014

Peter and his team were welcoming and helpful.

The hotel is in an interesting location. Thank you

  • N Tinney

  • June 2014

Land rover / jaguar

What a fantastic stay, gave upgrade no extra charge, good location for work, rooms cleaned every day, great breakfast with good choice, staff very good and owner ( brad) was excellent and very accommodating , I will certainly be back for next contract room 5 mr brad thanks.

Views over river and beer garden where fantastic cheers !

  • Vanessa B

  • April 2014

Very much budget accommodation but fit for purpose

My first impression of the Mersey Hotel was of a run down hotel in a less desirable residential area.

I finally found the car park to which there is no signage, to be as previously mentioned, a muddy area sectioned off from the beer garden with a full skip close by.

I had to walk all the way round the hotel with my luggage as this was the only access to be greeted by a bar maid who barked at me for payment with no smile or details as to the basic breakfast on offer in the morning. Another bar maid seemed much friendlier and offered to show me to my room but feeling very uneasy I declined and wanted to adjust to my surroundings. After this initial encounter I was relatively impressed with the room. No, it wasn't perfect but clean enough with a flat screen tv and was a large room with views of the Mersey and the bridge. What let the room down so badly was the mattress. One of the most uncomfortable I have slept on and had to sleep in a certain position so that I wasn't rolling over bumps and springs in my back. This could and should be replaced immediately. I did not experience any noise from the pub downstairs. Being predominantly for workers house keeping come round early in the morning and I didnt start work until mid morning meaning by the time I left for home after 4 nights was exhausted after working late and being woken up early. Breakfast was cereal, juice and toast with tea/coffee. This was adequate, however, although it didn't bother me too much I would recommend that if they buy reduced bread from the supermarket to put in a bread bin or container that doesnt show this. It just doesn't look good!!. Apart from my initial encounter with the barking bar maid, the rest of the staff seemed friendly and happy to help and went to a special effort to get me a receipt for my expenses.

This is a budget no frills bed and breakfast with the contract worker in mind. With some small improvements it could easily accommodate the weekend away market etc. Would I stay here again. Yes as I have stayed in worse but if I find better, I would rather go there. It's not a place I would recommend lone female travellers to stay as I confess to not always feeling entirely safe and comfortable in my surroundings and with the exception of the bed and the first bar maids manners was adequate.

  • P Rajpal

  • November 2013


Peter and his other colleagues were very helpful.

Thanks for excellent hospitality.