No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Court House

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
53 High Street, , , Ross on Wye, HR9 5HH
Welcome to The Old Court House, a 17th Century family bed and breakfast in Ross-on-Wye. The Old Court House has been a family home since the 17th Century. Previous owners have included doctors, clergy and a famous surveyor. Today, we aim to provide character accommodation with four poster beds and open fires. The guest rooms at The Old Court House are beautifully furnished with very comfortable beds, (king-size four posters, doubles and twins), wash hand basin and vanity unit. All rooms are en-suite and are also equipped with 'Freeview' television, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge. We have no objection to guests dining in their room and we have supplied the crockery and cutlery for you. Our rooms are large and comfy with armchairs and a desk. Every room has a fridge and we provide crockery and cutlery if you wish to eat in. We can also provide you with a packed lunch that could range from a sandwich to a picnic. If you need a place to hold a meeting, we can supply that too along with refreshments if required. WIFI access is available! The beautiful fireplaces at The Old Court House are fully operational and you can enjoy a roaring log fire in your room as an optional extra. Tim and Sue also offer a toasting package, which comprises, bread, tea cakes, muffins and a toasting fork. Delicious jam, locally produced pate and a bottle of wine are also included in the package, so you can enjoy a really cosy evening in by the fire. Our food: Fresh free range eggs and the best sausages and bacon from our local butcher. You might even catch us baking our own bread! There's a fresh fruit bowl, healthy yoghurts, cereals and as much toast, tea and fresh coffee as you like. Vegetarian? We are too! If you have any other dietary requirement or are just bored with the same old full English, just ask and we'll do our best to sort it out. Please visit our facebook page (The Old court house) or find us on Google maps at p.c. hr95hh
Picture of The Old Court House, Ross on Wye at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfied
Sue and Tim were very welcoming. My room was large with so much character, including a comfortable four poster bed and enormous fireplace. The breakfast was excellent. Thank you Sue for all your help during my visit.

Reviewed by
Ann M

From Berkhamsted, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Old Court House
Very friendly and accommodating proprietors. An excellent English breakfast and great to have coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. Although the entrance hall smelt a little musty, the rooms themselves were very clean and light. Steep stairs would be unsuitable for more elderly guests.
Very convenient for the shops and local places of interest. We were made extremely welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our short family break in Ross-on -Wye

Reviewed by
W Watson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky. Old property with welcoming proprietors
Enjoyed a short stat in this lovely old property located centrally with a very welcoming couple. The room in the attic was spacious and comfortable - steep stairs means it's not for the infi and I recommend travelling light!!! Tea and coffee facilities, a fridge and crockery and cutlery available. Very enjoyable stay - great breakfast!!!

Reviewed by
Karen D

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor experience
The room was small and poorly furnished the mattress very uncomfortable and there was no hot water. It was probably one of the most uncomfortable nights we have ever spent. The owner did make a reduction but the price of £80 for the night should never have been charged in the first place.

Reviewed by
P Gray

From Axmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, quirky building
Central location, opposite a lovely bar. Really historic building, well converted. We stayed in the Narnia room - lovely big four poster bed and beautiful fireplace and furniture. Bit dated in décor, bathroom suite and soft furnishings but it's all clean and fully functioning. Breakfast was good quality and quick. Listen to the owner's advise on the front door lock!

Reviewed by
J Gearing

From Ampthill, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kooky Henley
Lovely room,lovely people,lovely food,

Reviewed by
Colin C

From Henley in Arden, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Stay
Had a lovely stay at the Old Court. Parked around the back (free) and ascended the stairs to a lovely room at the top of the house. Nice breafast (two cafetieres) and off again after a pleasant sleep
Would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
J Atkinson

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very old house, with steep stairs to all rooms, and the usual quaint features like low doorways and uneven floors. Nice place, well situated in the centre of town, but not easy to find, and noisy on a Friday night.

Reviewed by
Ken R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful experience
I very much hope to return on leisure. Owner, room and general service was absolutely fantastic.

Reviewed by
Finn W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love old house
Just a bit tired and scruffy. Clean and tidy though and value for money.

Reviewed by
Will M

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next