No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Riverside B & B

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
High Mill Cottage, , , Bainbridge, DL8 3EH
Welcome to Riverside Bed and Breakfast, high quality Yorkshire Dales Bed & Breakfast (B & B) in Bainbridge, Wensleydale! Up until the 1890s, High Mill Cottage, now the home of Riverside Bed and Breakfast, was the village corn mill, after which it became a sawmill. In 1912 the Bainbridge Electric Lighting Company took over the site but The National Grid reached Upper Wensleydale a few years later and the mill returned to being a sawmill, driven by the old water turbine. It continued in this use until 1998. It now has a different role that welcomes the discerning visitor, inviting them to delight in its heritage. The B&B entrance is to the rear of The Mill where there is private parking for two cars with further parking available off the road. The private walled garden backs on to the waterfall and leads to a delightful paved patio that makes an amazing BBQ area nearer to the bridge over the River Bain, the shortest river in England, fed from Semerwater - the largest natural lake in Yorkshire, a lovely walk to justify having indulged in a sumptuous Yorkshire breakfast of locally sourced ingredients. We offer three bedrooms all en-suite, with beamed ceilings and wooden floors: two double bedrooms with four poster beds and gorgeous views over the river and the tops and one cosy twin-bedded room with stunning views over the river Bain and the village green ...all furnished in keeping with the surroundings. All rooms have hospitality trays, hairdryers and flat screen TV's with DVD player and there is a separate TV lounge to relax and unwind in. PLEASE NOTE: The accommodation is on the second floor of The Mill and we regret that it is therefore not suitable for those who have difficulty with stairs. We do appreciate when guests ring and book over the phone. THE PERFECT LOCATION, STUNNING VIEWS, COMFORTABLE, CLEAN ROOMS, NICE DECOR AND A DELICIOUS BREAKFAST, WHAT MORE COULD YOU ASK FOR? We look forward to welcoming you to Riverside Bed and Breakfast!
Picture of Riverside B & B, Bainbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great riverside location
Very warm welcome, great views over the river. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Mathew B

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Riverside B&B in Bainbridge
We found this B&B in Bainbridge to be very welcoming. The owner was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was warm and cosy, even in early February, with a spotless en-suite shower room. There were lovely views across this pretty Dales village and the surrounding hills, and we went to sleep to the sound of the river running past the building.

Reviewed by
Sheila T

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect cosy country b and b
I am definitely coming back to Riverside B+B! If you are looking for a cosy country escape with excellent service, beautiful room and lovely food this is perfect! There were so many lovely little touches that really made it feel like a home from home. I recommend the sausages from the butchers next door (which you get at breakfast) yummy! There are lots of beautiful waterfalls nearby within 10 minutes drive and a short walk, I also recommend tasting some cheese at the wensleydale cheese factory (their cheesecake is amazing!).

Reviewed by
Joanna G

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find
A lovely quirky B&B which is run by a lovely landlady Roxanne.
A really warm welcome, a great breakfast with plenty of choice.
Nice size bedroom, basic 4 poster and a good size bedroom.
Room 2 has a nice view of the hills and river.

Reviewed by
Steve S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best kept secret of The Dales
Very special weekend at a very special place. We stayed for Le Tour de France Yorkshire 2014.The village looked beautiful the atmosphere was great and Le Riverside was just amazing ! The most comfortable bed and a stunning view from the window . Our host Roxana warm and welcoming ,made us feel completely relaxed and at home .She went that extra mile to make it a special weekend ,fantastic packed lunch and an excellent BBQ. on Saturday evening ! Our breakfast was delicious and plentiful ! We can't wait to return ! We would recommend this place to anyone !

Reviewed by
Ian F

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best in Bainbridge
We chose this B&B as it was a good location in the heart of Wensleydale not to far from Hawes, but also within a short drive from both Aysgarth and Hardraw Force.
We couldn't find fault anywhere at the B&B, the service, the food, the room it was all simply exemplary.
If only I could say the same for some other hotels and B&B's I've stayed in, in the past.

Reviewed by
John David Palfreeman

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable
Great little b&b, value for money, quaint and comfortable.

Reviewed by
N Stewart

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful place to stay, fab views
Nice place to say, welcoming and friendly. Lovely views from the room and from the garden.

Reviewed by
Julie W

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Riverside b+b is a perfect location as you are in the middle of most villages to visit, the scene from your room is one you will truly miss with the veiw and sound of the river ,so calming and tranquil,you really couldn't ask for more,the host roxana was the best,sharing all the spots to visit with us , which was most helpful,not to mention the amazing breakfast that she served every morning,and just a beautiful place to be in.

Reviewed by
nicola baleng

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay in the village of Bainbridge at the Riverside Hotel.
We stayed at the Riverside to go to a wedding. The hotel is lovely, the service is second to none and the breakfast was yummy. We would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
T Rushworth

From Chadderton, Oldham. Lancs, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next