Reviews - Liverpool Lodge


187 Kensington / 1 Coleridge Street, ,, Liverpool, L7 2RF

Price From 79.18 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (27)

56% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • c diop

  • October 2015

What must have been a storage cupboard as Room 11... very uncomfortable, no sleep!!!


I got given a single room, when I asked why, I was told it's a 'small double' because it was cheap at £38.00??. Cheek. 2. Room was a back of their high St shop. No windows apart from Glass Louver above door which was letting in noise and light, felt like in the corridors. 3. No wi-fi access in the room unlike what is advertised, receptionis pretended otherwise. 4. No hot drink making facilities in room-poor. 5. To make things worse, a big hidden toilet drain pipe running right by my pillow - waking me up every time upper floor toilets were used. Hence a baddly converted storage cupboard. I had to text them at 3:30 am only to receive an answer next morning after I left, to apologise. 6. When they say cooked eggs for breakfast, they mean boiled eggs. ... I could go on

7.I don't know what the other rooms are like but if you want to risk it, at least avoid room 11. 8. It's no longer cheap when you can't get a conformable sleep,I could have stayed in my car for free!

  • F Thompson

  • October 2015

Nice accommodation

I didn't read any of the reviews before booking the hotel, which is the norm for me, and I'm glad I didn't.

The hotel it's self is approximately a 25 minute walk from the Coach station, which I expected. It's not in the nicest of locations granted, however my room was clean and the lady who I had dealings with whilst I was there was lovely. The toilet and shower were a few yards from my room (#10) and I also found a small selection of biscuits and a packet of crisps for me in my room. Breakfast was basic but it was what I expected - boiled eggs, bread to toast, cereals and fruit. There were a couple of very minor complaints that I had during my stay, which I addressed with the lady owner. These wouldn't stop me from booking again as it was just what I needed and expected from a budget hotel.

  • Steve B

  • August 2015

Great cheap and cheerful Liverpool accommodation just outside the city centre

Three of us stayed in a room for four, with a double bed and double bunks.

On arrival at the listed address, wondering where to park (only street parking available, but plentiful when we were there on a Saturday), we were checked in and told that we were actually staying in a different location, about quarter of a mile away. We were given keys and directions and headed to our property and found everything we needed, including cartons of drinks and snacks, as a nice touch. There are plenty of shops and fast food outlets (McDonalds, pizzas, etc.) nearby too. The room was more than adequate, sharing an adequate bathroom with a room next door. Breakfast next morning was also adequate - make your own cereal, toast, etc with jams, hard boiled eggs and fruit provided, as well as tea and coffee. The host there was really helpful in recommending sights to see and tailoring things of interest to the guests. We were the only ones staying that night and he really wanted us to make the most of our stay in Liverpool, which was great.

  • Greg Macfarlane

  • August 2015

visit Liverpool

  • Dan W

  • June 2015

Very convenient for a quick city centre visit

Travelling for a seminar at John Moores University, which is only a mile or so away, was an ideal location for a one night stay.

The room was small but very clean and comfortable, the breakfast was self-service and perfectly adequate, the staff were extremely helpful and understanding of a belated check-in time. The only minor criticism was that the TV had very little reception.

  • Amanda Cowdrey

  • April 2015

My room was not cleam and tv didnt not work and the stairs was bad

  • K Jauncey

  • April 2015

This hotel is on a very busy road with no parking.

There is a brothel opposite as well as prostitutes literally on the door step late at night. Noise levels were awful, hot and cold taps were very temperamental.

Beds extremely uncomfortable

  • Paul r

  • February 2015

Ideal for cheap overnight business stay with no frills

I was in single room 10 which was small and narrow but was clean and warm.

There was a wardrobe, sink, mirror and side-table with a complimentary sweets and crisps. The guy on reception was pleasant and the communal bathroom was cramped but clean also. Its just off a main road but there's plenty of space to park outside for free. Its not the quitest plaxce given its location (lots of shops and restautants about) and the fact that its a converted Victorian building in which some of the rooms are partitions so could hear people walking about upstairs early evening and might have heard noise from adjacent rooms if they were full. All that said for £19 on a major route into liverpool with the City centre under 2 miles away you cant really complain if you're a lone, business traveller prioritising cost over needless frills

  • Mark B

  • February 2015

Cheap out of town digs

Bit out of town, but close to McDonalds run by a lovely couple.

My room was small and had bunk beds in it.

Breakfast was self service - but real kelloggs cornflakes and toast. Think someone had been smoking. Great value.

  • richard w

  • February 2015

worst hotel ive ever witnessed in all my life!

i have honestly and sincerely never has the misfortune to have had to experience such a travesty to the hotel trade in all my life, and i have stayed at many, many hotels.

from the moment i arrived at the hotel i felt unsafe, and was actually parked outside for a good 10 minutes in disbelief that it could actually be the place i booked online. when i finally summoned up the courage to attempt to go inside, i was obstructed by the fact the front door was some sort of security door and i had to ring a buzzer and be requisitioned before entering. once i eventually gained entry to the 'hotel' i was greeted by some extremely unprofessional man who ignored us for about 15 minutes while he pattered on to some other bloke about some rather strange issues. once finally attended to he demanded cash of us and told me that he did not accept debit or credit cards. (hardly surprising) then the traveller style man disappeared with the money that was handed over, never to be seen again, leaving us with this foreign lady who only spoke fractured english. we were shown to our room and i felt instantly dirty. it stunk of smoke and resembled a prison cell. with less than 1' between the twin beds and surrounding walls. we could hardly stand in the same room together at the same time. we then went instantly back downstairs to complain and get our money back because the room was minute and there was no on suite or anything. not even enough space to put our luggage. she then struggled to communicate for a while but basically just muttered that there was no way we could have a refund and that we were not entitled to one. so after such a disgusting but brief experience, we promptly left and found a proper hotel for the night. unfortunate that the day had to start with being robbed in broad daylight by these scam artists though.